Rockland County http://wamc.org en Rockland Receives Green Light To Finance Its Deficit http://wamc.org/post/rockland-receives-green-light-finance-its-deficit <p>In New York, elected officials in Rockland County say they are thankful that Governor Andrew Cuomo has signed a county financing measure.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 13:39:11 +0000 Allison Dunne 77773 at http://wamc.org Rockland Receives Green Light To Finance Its Deficit Ruling Takes Primary Candidate Off The Ballot, Again http://wamc.org/post/ruling-takes-primary-candidate-ballot-again <p>A third candidate in a Democratic primary for Rockland County executive has been removed from the ballot a second time.</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 13:05:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 71492 at http://wamc.org Ruling Takes Primary Candidate Off The Ballot, Again United Water To Respond To PSC Order About Need http://wamc.org/post/united-water-respond-psc-order-about-need <p>A number of legislators along with citizens’ and environmental groups are questioning the need for a proposed water supply project in Rockland County. The company behind the proposed project affirms the need is still there, and growing. The state Public Service Commission will decide.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 17:58:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 69816 at http://wamc.org United Water To Respond To PSC Order About Need Rockland Man Enters A Plea About Facebook Death Threats http://wamc.org/post/rockland-man-enters-plea-about-facebook-death-threats <p>WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. (AP) - A New York man accused of making death threats on Facebook against some of the nation's highest-ranking elected officials has pleaded guilty.</p> Wed, 29 May 2013 11:25:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 65781 at http://wamc.org Lawmakers Urge NY Governor To Sign Bi-State Bill To Abate Flooding http://wamc.org/post/lawmakers-urge-ny-governor-sign-bi-state-bill-abate-flooding <p>State legislators from New York and New Jersey are teaming up to urge Governor Andrew Cuomo to sign a bill that would help the two states with flooding issues.</p> Wed, 15 May 2013 13:02:38 +0000 Allison Dunne 64712 at http://wamc.org Lawmakers Urge NY Governor To Sign Bi-State Bill To Abate Flooding IDC Takes Proposed Campaign Finance Bill On The Road http://wamc.org/post/idc-takes-proposed-campaign-finance-bill-road <p>A group of New York state Senators held a public hearing Wednesday on a proposed campaign finance reform bill. They say with the most recent lawmaker names that have emerged in connection with a federal corruption investigation, the need for such reform is all the more urgent.</p> Thu, 09 May 2013 16:57:31 +0000 Allison Dunne 64270 at http://wamc.org IDC Takes Proposed Campaign Finance Bill On The Road State Comptroller Has Concerns With Rockland's Budget http://wamc.org/post/state-comptroller-has-concerns-rocklands-budget <p>The New York State Comptroller says he is concerned with the budget in one Hudson Valley county.</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 10:25:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 62863 at http://wamc.org State Comptroller Has Concerns With Rockland's Budget County Legislator Sponsors Resolutions Related to Public Corruption http://wamc.org/post/county-legislator-sponsors-resolutions-related-public-corruption <p>As New York Governor Andrew Cuomo was introducing a measure to crack down on political corruption Tuesday, a local legislator in the Hudson Valley started work on a proposal for his county, one he hopes becomes law on the state level as well.</p><p>Rockland County Legislator Ed Day, a Republican, is sponsoring a resolution urging state legislators to move forward with a Senate and Assembly bill that would amend the state constitution to authorize the forfeiture of retirement benefits earned during the term of office of a New York elected official convicted of a public corruption felony.</p> Wed, 10 Apr 2013 22:51:54 +0000 Allison Dunne 61952 at http://wamc.org Spring Valley's Mayor Speaks Publicly After Corruption Charges http://wamc.org/post/spring-valleys-mayor-speaks-publicly-after-corruption-charges <p>After being charged with bribery in a real-estate development scheme as part of a larger political corruption case in New York, it is still unclear whether the mayor of Rockland County’s Spring Valley will remain in office.</p><p>Village of Spring Valley Mayor Noramie Jasmin and Deputy Mayor Joseph Desmaret face bribery and mail fraud charges in connection with a federal corruption case stretching from New York City to Spring Valley to Albany. Here’s Jasmin during a news conference streamed at lohud.com at 10 this morning at Village Hall.</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 17:19:15 +0000 Allison Dunne 61349 at http://wamc.org Spring Valley's Mayor Speaks Publicly After Corruption Charges 2013 County Health Rankings Are Released http://wamc.org/post/2013-county-health-rankings-are-released <p>An annual report on health rankings for counties across the country has just been released. Four Hudson Valley counties are in the top 10 in New York.</p><p>It’s the fourth annual report on health rankings, and gives a snapshot of the overall health of counties. Abbey Cofsky is senior program officer for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, which developed the report with the University of Wisconsin’s Population Health Institute.</p><p>And it is some of these factors that propelled Rockland County toward the top of the list in New York.</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 16:52:28 +0000 Allison Dunne 60367 at http://wamc.org