wind energy http://wamc.org en Two Western Mass. Towns Pass Bylaws Restricting Wind Turbines http://wamc.org/post/two-western-mass-towns-pass-bylaws-restricting-wind-turbines <p>Voters in the town of Peru, Massachusetts narrowly approved a bylaw banning industrial wind projects at a recent town meeting.</p><p>The bylaw prohibits the construction of wind turbines where more than half of the power generated would be sold off-site.&nbsp; The bylaw was initiated by the group, <a href="http://www.garnethillwind.com/" target="_blank">Peru Concerned Citizens</a>, which formed after developer Lightship Energy proposed building two 500-foot turbines in town. By a vote of 105 to 52, the measure exactly met the required two-thirds. Susan Masino is a member of PCC.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 92377 at http://wamc.org Two Western Mass. Towns Pass Bylaws Restricting Wind Turbines Berkshire Residents Urge Local Control Of Wind Projects http://wamc.org/post/berkshire-residents-urge-local-control-wind-projects <p>Nearly 100 Berkshire residents turned out in Pittsfield Monday night to voice their disapproval of industrial wind farms in their backyards.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 17:43:52 +0000 Jim Levulis 82733 at http://wamc.org Berkshire Residents Urge Local Control Of Wind Projects Concerns Continue Over Hoosac Wind http://wamc.org/post/concerns-continue-over-hoosac-wind <p>Massachusetts residents living near a wind turbine farm in the Northern Berkshires are once again expressing concerns about noise pollution.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 81475 at http://wamc.org Concerns Continue Over Hoosac Wind Report Identifies Growth Opportunities for Wind Energy http://wamc.org/post/report-identifies-growth-opportunities-wind-energy <p>Regional environmental groups have released a report highlighting a potential for growth in wind energy.</p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 20:36:37 +0000 Jim Levulis 78227 at http://wamc.org Report Identifies Growth Opportunities for Wind Energy Addressing Berkshires' Energy Costs http://wamc.org/post/addressing-berkshires-energy-costs <p>Businesses and individuals in Western Massachusetts are learning about a variety of options to address energy costs.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 16:44:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 76142 at http://wamc.org Addressing Berkshires' Energy Costs National Study Finds No Evidence of Wind Turbines Affecting Property Value http://wamc.org/post/national-study-finds-no-evidence-wind-turbines-affecting-property-value <p><a href="http://emp.lbl.gov/sites/all/files/lbnl-6362e.pdf" target="_blank">A recent national study</a> finds that wind turbines have no effect on property values. But some western Massachusetts residents disagree.</p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 18:52:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 72964 at http://wamc.org National Study Finds No Evidence of Wind Turbines Affecting Property Value Energy Bill Draws Critics http://wamc.org/post/energy-bill-draws-critics <p></p><p></p><p>Legislation that began as a proposed three-year moratorium on wind development in Vermont is drawing the ire of environmental and renewable energy advocates. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 59995 at http://wamc.org Energy Bill Draws Critics Sanders Opposes State Moratorium on Big Wind http://wamc.org/post/sanders-opposes-state-moratorium-big-wind <p></p><p></p><p>Supporters of a call for a three-year moratorium on wind power projects in Vermont say the solution to global warming is to reduce the use of fossil fuels, not build industrial-scale wind projects on the state's ridgelines.<br><br>The group called Ridgeprotectors issued a statement Monday after U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders urged Vermont lawmakers not to impose the moratorium. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 01:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56683 at http://wamc.org Sanders Opposes State Moratorium on Big Wind Wind Tax Credit Approved as Part of Fiscal Cliff Vote http://wamc.org/post/wind-tax-credit-approved-part-fiscal-cliff-vote <p></p><p>The recently passed fiscal cliff legislation included a one year extension of a wind tax credit, a welcome move for developers in Vermont.&nbsp; The credit is being renewed at the same time that a pair of state senators are calling for a moratorium on wind development. Thu, 03 Jan 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 55028 at http://wamc.org Wind Tax Credit Approved as Part of Fiscal Cliff Vote US to sell wind energy leases off 3 states http://wamc.org/post/us-sell-wind-energy-leases-3-states <p></p><p></p><p>The federal government says it plans to sell leases for wind farms off the coasts of Rhode Island, Massachusetts and Virginia, marking the first time it has sold competitive leases for wind energy on the outer continental shelf.</p><p>The Department of Interior and its Bureau of Ocean Energy Management on Friday said the leases for two areas totaling more than 430 square miles would be sold next year.</p> Sat, 01 Dec 2012 01:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 53086 at http://wamc.org US to sell wind energy leases off 3 states