hoosac wind project http://wamc.org en Berkshire Residents Urge Local Control Of Wind Projects http://wamc.org/post/berkshire-residents-urge-local-control-wind-projects <p>Nearly 100 Berkshire residents turned out in Pittsfield Monday night to voice their disapproval of industrial wind farms in their backyards.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 17:43:52 +0000 Jim Levulis 82733 at http://wamc.org Berkshire Residents Urge Local Control Of Wind Projects Concerns Continue Over Hoosac Wind http://wamc.org/post/concerns-continue-over-hoosac-wind <p>Massachusetts residents living near a wind turbine farm in the Northern Berkshires are once again expressing concerns about noise pollution.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 81475 at http://wamc.org Concerns Continue Over Hoosac Wind Report Identifies Growth Opportunities for Wind Energy http://wamc.org/post/report-identifies-growth-opportunities-wind-energy <p>Regional environmental groups have released a report highlighting a potential for growth in wind energy.</p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 20:36:37 +0000 Jim Levulis 78227 at http://wamc.org Report Identifies Growth Opportunities for Wind Energy National Study Finds No Evidence of Wind Turbines Affecting Property Value http://wamc.org/post/national-study-finds-no-evidence-wind-turbines-affecting-property-value <p><a href="http://emp.lbl.gov/sites/all/files/lbnl-6362e.pdf" target="_blank">A recent national study</a> finds that wind turbines have no effect on property values. But some western Massachusetts residents disagree.</p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 18:52:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 72964 at http://wamc.org National Study Finds No Evidence of Wind Turbines Affecting Property Value Voters In Berkshire Town Defeat Amendments To Wind Turbine Bylaw http://wamc.org/post/voters-berkshire-town-defeat-amendments-wind-turbine-bylaw <p></p><p>Voters in a small Berkshire County community earlier this week voted against a proposal that many some are arguing would open the town up for more wind energy development. The move comes at a time when more small Western Massachusetts towns are planning for their futures with wind energy in mind.</p><p></p><p>At a special town meeting Monday evening in the small Berkshire County town of Peru, voters rejected a proposed bylaw amendment that would have raised the noise threshold for wind turbines operating in the town.</p> Thu, 11 Jul 2013 23:44:57 +0000 Lucas Willard 69023 at http://wamc.org Voters In Berkshire Town Defeat Amendments To Wind Turbine Bylaw Noise Complaints Filed Against Hoosac Wind Project http://wamc.org/post/noise-complaints-filed-against-hoosac-wind-project <p></p><p>Massachusetts residents living near a recently completed large-scale industrial wind farm in the Northern Berkshires have filed noise complaints to state officials.</p><p></p><p>This week a group of concerned residents called the Friends of Florida and Monroe met to communicate their experiences of living near the so-called Hoosac Wind Project, a 19-turbine wind farm owned and operated by Iberdrola Renewables in the Berkshire County town of Florida and neighboring Franklin County Town of Monroe.</p> Fri, 15 Feb 2013 19:31:53 +0000 Lucas Willard 57944 at http://wamc.org Noise Complaints Filed Against Hoosac Wind Project Massachusetts Gov. Sees Opening of Berkshire Wind Farm http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-gov-sees-opening-berkshire-wind-farm-0 <p></p><p>Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick joined state and local officials in the Northern Berkshires to mark the opening of the largest on-shore wind project in the Commonwealth. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>The Hoosac Wind Project, a 19-turbine industrial wind farm located in the Berkshire towns of Florida and Monroe was celebrated by state and local officials, General Electric, Iberdrola Renewables, and Governor Deval Patrick.</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 53212 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Gov. Sees Opening of Berkshire Wind Farm