cuomo http://wamc.org en As Lawmakers Leave Albany, Some Items Unfinished http://wamc.org/post/lawmakers-leave-albany-some-items-unfinished <p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders agreed on three major items at the close of the legislative session. But they also left a lot of unfinished business on the table Friday. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 18:48:59 +0000 Karen DeWitt 93091 at http://wamc.org As Lawmakers Leave Albany, Some Items Unfinished Cuomo Pushes Property Tax Freeze, Support Lags In Legislature http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-pushes-property-tax-freeze-support-lags-legislature <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has enlisted the aid of some local government leaders to promote his tax freeze proposal, which has been losing ground in the New York State legislature. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 86051 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Pushes Property Tax Freeze, Support Lags In Legislature Business Groups Knock Cuomo's Tax-Freeze Plan http://wamc.org/post/business-groups-knock-cuomos-tax-freeze-plan <p>Both houses of the New York state legislature are making changes to Andrew Governor Cuomo’s tax freeze plan in their budget proposals. And now, small business groups are speaking out, saying the proposal favors some homeowners, at their expense. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 85812 at http://wamc.org Business Groups Knock Cuomo's Tax-Freeze Plan Cuomo Starts New Push For Tax Freeze Proposal http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-starts-new-push-tax-freeze-proposal <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo is starting a new push for his property tax freeze plan, while counties in the state say they have a better idea, which they say could result in lower property taxes in New York for even longer. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 84811 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Starts New Push For Tax Freeze Proposal Plenty Of Questions About Cuomo's Tax Plans http://wamc.org/post/plenty-questions-about-cuomos-tax-plans <p>The New York state legislature has finished its hearings on Governor Andrew Cuomo’s budget proposal, and will be ready to start crafting a spending plan once they return from the President’s Day break. One of the final hearings focused on the governor’s tax cutting plans, and lawmakers had plenty of questions. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 83913 at http://wamc.org Plenty Of Questions About Cuomo's Tax Plans Critics Question Cuomo Budget Surplus http://wamc.org/post/critics-question-cuomo-budget-surplus <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has been taking credit for a $2 billion budget surplus in his new spending plan. But critics say that claim is not entirely accurate, because the windfall does not actually materialize for another two years, and only if certain conditions are met. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 82996 at http://wamc.org Critics Question Cuomo Budget Surplus Universal Pre-K Proposal Universally Praised http://wamc.org/post/universal-pre-k-proposal-universally-praised <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Andrew Cuomo’s executive budget released Tuesday includes one of the largest investments in New York’s education system. His call for statewide universal pre-K is being praised by educators in the North Country. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82334 at http://wamc.org Universal Pre-K Proposal Universally Praised North Country Reaction To Executive Budget Proposal http://wamc.org/post/north-country-reaction-executive-budget-proposal <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo delivered his budget address Tuesday afternoon, and it’s receiving mixed reviews from North Country and Adirondack interests. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82298 at http://wamc.org North Country Reaction To Executive Budget Proposal Cuomo Unveils Budget In Albany http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-unveils-budget-albany <p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo released his state budget Tuesday. The $142 billion spending plan includes more money for schools , including a phase in of funding for universal pre-kindergarten programs. It would also freeze property taxes for two years, if local governments cooperate. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 22:32:39 +0000 Karen DeWitt 82297 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Unveils Budget In Albany Cuomo To Release Budget Tuesday http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-release-budget-tuesday <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo releases his state budget proposal next Tuesday, and many will be watching to see what it contains and how the numbers will add up. Sat, 18 Jan 2014 17:18:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 82086 at http://wamc.org Cuomo To Release Budget Tuesday