U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development http://wamc.org en $1.25M Grant To Help Blighted Properties In Rutland http://wamc.org/post/125m-grant-help-blighted-properties-rutland <p></p><p></p><p>The city of Rutland, Vermont, is getting a $1.25 million grant to help blighted properties and create home ownership opportunities. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94291 at http://wamc.org $1.25M Grant To Help Blighted Properties In Rutland HV Congresswoman Calls For Funds To Stay In Sandy-Affected Areas http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-calls-funds-stay-sandy-affected-areas <p>A congresswoman from the Hudson Valley wants some federal disaster funding to stay in Hurricane Sandy-affected areas. She is among a number of federal lawmakers from New York City and the suburbs making such a call.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 12:16:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 88791 at http://wamc.org HUD Deputy Secretary Wants Westchester Fair Housing Settlement Completed http://wamc.org/post/hud-deputy-secretary-wants-westchester-fair-housing-settlement-completed <p>It is the fourth anniversary of a fair and affordable housing settlement agreement between the federal government and Westchester County. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development&nbsp;Deputy Secretary Maurice Jones spoke with WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne about an agreement he wants to push across the finish line.</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 19:31:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 71737 at http://wamc.org Court Dismisses Westchester Suit Against Federal Government http://wamc.org/post/court-dismisses-westchester-suit-against-federal-government <p>WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. (AP) — Westchester County has suffered a loss in federal court in its long battle over a fair housing settlement.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 11:16:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 71554 at http://wamc.org Court Dismisses Westchester Suit Against Federal Government Judge Says No To Westchester's Injunction Request http://wamc.org/post/judge-says-no-westchesters-injunction-request <p>A federal court judge Friday denied a request from Westchester County attorneys for a temporary restraining order in relation to an affordable housing settlement.</p> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 14:40:33 +0000 Allison Dunne 63331 at http://wamc.org U.S. Attorney Makes Demands Of Westchester In Fair Housing Settlement http://wamc.org/post/us-attorney-makes-demands-westchester-fair-housing-settlement <p>The U.S. Attorney has fired off a letter threatening action if the Westchester County Executive does not comply with his demands. The letter has to do with an affordable housing agreement, and the county executive has said he is in compliance.</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 23:37:51 +0000 Allison Dunne 63052 at http://wamc.org U.S. Attorney Makes Demands Of Westchester In Fair Housing Settlement County Legislators Ask Federal Agency For One Month Extension http://wamc.org/post/county-legislators-ask-federal-agency-one-month-extension <p>In New York, Westchester legislators are asking a federal agency for more time before the agency takes away more than $7 million in funding for the county.</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 11:49:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 62864 at http://wamc.org County Executive Requests Hearing With and Authorization to Sue Federal Agency http://wamc.org/post/county-executive-requests-hearing-and-authorization-sue-federal-agency <p></p><p>In New York, the Westchester County Executive is asking a federal agency for a hearing after being told that funding would be taken away from the county. The warning came in a letter, and is based on claims the county has failed to comply with a fair housing agreement.</p> Tue, 16 Apr 2013 18:18:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 62379 at http://wamc.org County Executive Requests Hearing With and Authorization to Sue Federal Agency Federal Housing Agency Says Westchester May Not Administer Sandy Funds http://wamc.org/post/federal-housing-agency-says-westchester-may-not-administer-sandy-funds <p>A federal appeals court has ruled that the Westchester County executive has not complied with a fair housing agreement from 2009. Now, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development says the county may not receive Superstorm Sandy disaster-relief money directly.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 19:38:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 61731 at http://wamc.org NY state plans for $1.7 billion in Sandy funds http://wamc.org/post/ny-state-plans-17-billion-sandy-funds <p>New York&nbsp;<span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;"> Governor Andrew Cuomo has proposed a plan for the use of $1.7 billion in federal storm-damage funds.</span></p><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">Most of the <font color="red">money</font> is going to <font color="red">homeowners</font> and businesses hardest hit by Superstorm Sandy. But some will be used for damage from the storms Irene and Lee.</span></p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 12:45:23 +0000 Jaired Crofut 59738 at http://wamc.org NY state plans for $1.7 billion in Sandy funds