CT shooting http://wamc.org en Mass. Gov. Seeks New Gun Control Laws in Wake of Conn. Shooting http://wamc.org/post/mass-gov-seeks-new-gun-control-laws-wake-conn-shooting <p></p><p></p><p>Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick is renewing pressure on state lawmakers to pass a bill placing further restrictions on access to guns in the wake of the school massacre in Newtown, Conn.</p><p>Patrick's bill would restrict licensed gun owners to purchasing one firearm a month.</p><p>The bill would also clamp down on so-called "straw purchasers" who buy guns legally and then resell them to convicted felons and others barred from owning guns.</p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 01:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 54097 at http://wamc.org Mass. Gov. Seeks New Gun Control Laws in Wake of Conn. Shooting Berkshire County Schools React to Conn. Shooting http://wamc.org/post/berkshire-county-schools-react-conn-shooting <p></p><p>School superintendents in Western Massachusetts worked in their districts to welcome students back in their first day of school since the deadly attacks at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown Connecticut, and some are calling for a review of school security. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard has more…</p><p>Superintendent of Pittsfield Public Schools Dr. Gordon Noseworthy said that for students returning to their classes this morning, their first full school day after the events in Newtown, CT; it was another day at school.</p> Mon, 17 Dec 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 54096 at http://wamc.org Conn. Shooting Sparks Gun Control Debate in Mass. http://wamc.org/post/conn-shooting-sparks-gun-control-debate-mass <p></p><p>The mass-shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown Connecticut is sparking more conversation about public safety, treatment of mental illness, and gun control, and the argument remains how state and federal will governments approach the issue.</p><p>John Rosenthal is Founder and Chairman of Newton, Massachusetts-based Stop Handgun Violence. He says that the common thread between the crimes in Newtown and others in recent history remains unregulated access to weapons.</p> Mon, 17 Dec 2012 22:46:51 +0000 Lucas Willard 54095 at http://wamc.org CT Gov Malloy: We will get through this http://wamc.org/post/ct-gov-malloy-we-will-get-through <p></p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 23:24:10 +0000 53983 at http://wamc.org 5PM CT Elementary School Briefing http://wamc.org/post/5pm-ct-elementary-school-briefing <p></p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 22:21:26 +0000 53975 at http://wamc.org CT Gov. Malloy & State Police Lt. J Paul Vance Update Public http://wamc.org/post/ct-gov-malloy-state-police-lt-j-paul-vance-update-public <p></p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 21:16:49 +0000 53966 at http://wamc.org President Obama's Remarks on CT Shootings http://wamc.org/post/president-obamas-remarks-ct-shootings <p></p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 21:14:42 +0000 53965 at http://wamc.org