U.S. Supreme Court http://wamc.org en Suit Challenges NH Abortion Clinic Buffer Zone http://wamc.org/post/suit-challenges-nh-abortion-clinic-buffer-zone <p></p><p></p><p>A conservative Christian law group has filed a federal lawsuit seeking to strike down New Hampshire's 35-foot buffer zone around abortion clinics. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 02:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94401 at http://wamc.org Suit Challenges NH Abortion Clinic Buffer Zone Vox Pop : Open Forum on 7-1-14 : Court Cases http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-open-forum-7-1-14-court-cases <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">High courts are in the news this week, as justices hand down major decisions before their summer recess. Three decisions in particular have made headlines nationally and in the region. From contraception to unions to </span>hydro-fracking<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, each of these rulings has sparked a powerful response from all sides.</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:13:50 +0000 93875 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Open Forum on 7-1-14 : Court Cases Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling http://wamc.org/post/protests-erupt-over-supreme-court-campaign-finance-ruling <p></p><p></p><p>On Wednesday, the U.S. Supreme Court struck a limit on the total amount individuals can donate to political campaigns. In a hastily organized protest, about a half-dozen people held placards at one of Plattsburgh’s busiest intersections. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87362 at http://wamc.org Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling Justices Doubtful On MA Abortion Buffer Zone Law http://wamc.org/post/justices-doubtful-ma-abortion-buffer-zone-law <p>WASHINGTON (AP) — The Supreme Court seems likely to strike down a Massachusetts law setting a 35-foot protest-free zone outside abortion clinics.</p><p>Liberal and conservative justices alike expressed misgivings about the law during arguments at the high court Wednesday. They questioned the size of the zone and whether the state could find less restrictive ways of ensuring patient access and safety.</p><p>No one has been prosecuted under the 2007 law, which state officials and clinic employees have said has resulted in less congestion outside the clinics.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 23:25:58 +0000 Jim Levulis 81931 at http://wamc.org Justices Doubtful On MA Abortion Buffer Zone Law U.S. Supreme Court To Hear Arguments Over Abortion Clinic Buffer Zones http://wamc.org/post/us-supreme-court-hear-arguments-over-abortion-clinic-buffer-zones <p>The U.S. Supreme Court is scheduled to hear oral arguments one week from today in a case challenging a Massachusetts law that establishes a protest-free zone around abortion clinics.&nbsp; Thirty groups have filed briefs in the case including Planned Parenthood.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 20:41:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 81453 at http://wamc.org U.S. Supreme Court To Hear Arguments Over Abortion Clinic Buffer Zones Stephen Gottlieb: Worst Supreme Court Decisions In Two Decades http://wamc.org/post/stephen-gottlieb-worst-supreme-court-decisions-two-decades <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">What’s the worst thing the U.S. Supreme Court has done in two decades?</span></p><p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 20:50:00 +0000 Stephen Gottlieb 80958 at http://wamc.org Joseph Paul Franklin Put To Death http://wamc.org/post/joseph-paul-franklin-put-death <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">White supremacist serial killer <font color="red">Joseph</font>&nbsp;<font color="red">Paul</font>&nbsp;<font color="red">Franklin</font> has been put to death in Missouri. It was the state's first execution in nearly three years.</span></p><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">The 63-year-old <font color="red">Franklin</font> targeted blacks and Jews in a cross-country killing rampage from 1977 to 1980. But he was sentenced to death for just one of the killings — a sniper shooting outside a suburban St. Louis synagogue in 1977.</span></p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 13:23:41 +0000 Jaired Crofut 78188 at http://wamc.org Joseph Paul Franklin Put To Death Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-49 <p>WAMC political observer Dr. Alan Chartock talks about the World Series, whether or not there should be television cameras in the U.S. Supreme Court and the latest in the New York City mayoral contest.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 11:38:58 +0000 Alan Chartock 76451 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary NY Official Pushes Feds To Recognize Gay Marriages http://wamc.org/post/ny-official-pushes-feds-recognize-gay-marriages <p>New York state Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli is wielding the power of the state's $160 billion pension fund to urge President Barack Obama to order federal agencies in every state to recognize gay marriages performed in New York.</p><p>It could be a big push in DiNapoli's effort to get major companies that do business with the fund to adopt anti-discrimination measures in providing benefits for gay couples.</p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 12:15:19 +0000 Jaired Crofut 69573 at http://wamc.org NY Official Pushes Feds To Recognize Gay Marriages Vermont U.S. Senator Leahy to Seek Answers to Voting Rights http://wamc.org/post/vermont-us-senator-leahy-seek-answers-voting-rights <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy says he will call hearings of the Senate Judiciary Committee to see if legislation can be written to protect minority voting rights that many feel were threatened after the U.S. Supreme Court overturned the Voting Rights Act. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68372 at http://wamc.org Vermont U.S. Senator Leahy to Seek Answers to Voting Rights