Assault Weapons http://wamc.org en New York Assemblyman Marc Butler - Amending the NY SAFE Act http://wamc.org/post/new-york-assemblyman-marc-butler-amending-ny-safe-act <p>The opposition to Governor Andrew Cuomo’s New York SAFE Act continues to ramp up this week. One Central New York Assemblyman has proposed new legislation amending the law to change how ‘assault weapons’ banned by it are defined. WAMC’s Patrick Donges spoke recently with 118th District Assemblyman Marc Butler about his proposal.</p><p></p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 17:35:00 +0000 58302 at http://wamc.org New York Assemblyman Marc Butler - Amending the NY SAFE Act Democrats Unveil Bill To Ban Assault-Style Weapons http://wamc.org/post/democrats-unveil-bill-ban-assault-style-weapons As they said they would following <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/167276841/shootings-in-newtown-conn" target="_blank">the Dec. 14 mass shooting</a> at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Conn., Democrats today unveiled legislation that would ban assault-style weapons.<p>The lead lawmaker, Sen. Dianne Feinstein of California, <a href="http://www.feinstein.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/assault-weapons" target="_blank">has summed up the legislation's key points this way</a>:<p><blockquote><p>"Bans the sale, transfer, importation, or manufacturing of: Thu, 24 Jan 2013 17:16:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 56425 at http://wamc.org Democrats Unveil Bill To Ban Assault-Style Weapons Vermont Senator Withdraws Bill to Ban Assault Weapons http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senator-withdraws-bill-ban-assault-weapons <p></p><p></p><p>The majority leader of the Vermont state Senate says he's withdrawing a bill that would have reinstated in Vermont a now-expired federal assault weapons ban.<br><br>Democratic Senator Philip Baruth, of Chittenden County, says there's not enough support among his colleagues and there's mounting opposition from outside the Statehouse. Tue, 22 Jan 2013 00:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56190 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senator Withdraws Bill to Ban Assault Weapons Cops Barred from Gun Range http://wamc.org/post/cops-barred-gun-range <p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56007 at http://wamc.org Cops Barred from Gun Range Vox Pop : Open Forum - Gun Control : 1/15/13 http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-open-forum-gun-control-11513 <p>Today, New York is expected to become the first state to enact major gun control policy following last month’s tragic <a href="http://www.wamc.org/post/high-school-students-hold-vigil-sandy-hook-shooting-victims">elementary school shooting</a> in Connecticut.</p><p>The New York Secure Ammunition and Firearms Enforcement, or SAFE Act, includes a ban on all pre-1994 high capacity ammunition magazines, a ban on any magazine that holds over 7 rounds, and real-time background checks on ammunition purchases to alert law enforcement of high volume purchasing.</p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 18:32:35 +0000 55758 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Open Forum - Gun Control : 1/15/13 White House Plan On Guns To Include 19 Executive Actions, Lawmakers Say http://wamc.org/post/white-house-plan-guns-include-19-executive-actions-lawmakers-say <strong>Update at 1:25 p.m. ET. Announcement on Wednesday:</strong><p>The White House says President Obama and Vice President Biden will unveil the steps they intend to take and legislation they recommend to reduce gun violence at 11:45 a.m. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 12:22:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 55744 at http://wamc.org White House Plan On Guns To Include 19 Executive Actions, Lawmakers Say Vermont Gun Show to Sell Assault Guns Despite Request http://wamc.org/post/vermont-gun-show-sell-assault-guns-despite-request <p></p><p></p><p>The organizers of a Vermont gun show say they will allow the display and sale of assault weapons despite a request by the mayor of Barre that the weapons not be displayed in the aftermath of last month's school shooting in Newtown, Conn. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 55328 at http://wamc.org Vermont Gun Show to Sell Assault Guns Despite Request Vermont Mayor Wants Ban on Assault Weapons at Gun Show http://wamc.org/post/vermont-mayor-wants-ban-assault-weapons-gun-show <p></p><p></p><p>Following the mass shooting at a school in Connecticut, the mayor of Barre, Vermont wants a ban on military-style assault weapons being sold at an annual gun show.<br><br>The Barre Fish and Game Gun Show will be held at the Barre Auditorium in February. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 22:25:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 55111 at http://wamc.org Vermont Mayor Wants Ban on Assault Weapons at Gun Show Vermont Governor: Let Congress Debate Assault Weapons http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-let-congress-debate-assault-weapons <p>Governor Peter Shumlin says the rest of the country should look to Vermont on how to manage firearms, but he'll leave it to Congress to debate access to military-style assault weapons.<br><br>Shumlin says Vermont has a strong hunting culture and strong support for the right to own and use firearms. But he tolds The Burlington Free Press, "People don't use machines of war to shoot whitetail deer."<br> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 22:10:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 54716 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor: Let Congress Debate Assault Weapons Burlington Councillors to Consider Assault Weapons Ban http://wamc.org/post/burlington-councillors-consider-assault-weapons-ban <p></p><p>In the wake of the recent school shooting in Connecticut a city councilor in Vermont's largest city has drafted a proposed municipal charter change to ban ownership of assault weapons with high-capacity ammunition clips in the city. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 54645 at http://wamc.org Burlington Councillors to Consider Assault Weapons Ban