peter shumlin http://wamc.org en Republican Milne Says Governor Bid A 'Long Shot' http://wamc.org/post/republican-milne-says-governor-bid-long-shot <p></p><p></p><p>The Republican businessman who hopes to unseat Democratic incumbent Governor Peter Shumlin in November says he knows it's a long shot. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 00:40:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 92496 at http://wamc.org Republican Milne Says Governor Bid A 'Long Shot' Vermont Governor Signs Numerous Bills Into Law http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-signs-numerous-bills-law <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont’s governor has signed a number of bills into law over the past week and a half, including measures on energy efficiency, the minimum wage and tasers. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 92495 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Signs Numerous Bills Into Law Governor Orders Agency Changes After Death Of 2 Toddlers http://wamc.org/post/governor-orders-agency-changes-after-death-2-toddlers <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin is ordering the Department of Children and Families to do more to protect vulnerable children. Thu, 22 May 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 91005 at http://wamc.org Governor Orders Agency Changes After Death Of 2 Toddlers Governor Shumlin Headlines Panel On Prescription Drug Abuse http://wamc.org/post/governor-shumlin-headlines-panel-prescription-drug-abuse <p></p><p></p><p>The nation’s governors held their annual winter meeting Friday through Monday in Washington. A panel on C-SPAN featured a discussion on states’ efforts to combat prescription drug abuse, an issue that took the national stage when Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin devoted January’s state of the state address to the problem. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 19:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84592 at http://wamc.org Governor Shumlin Headlines Panel On Prescription Drug Abuse Spouse Appointed To Fill Vermont Senate Seat http://wamc.org/post/spouse-appointed-fill-vermont-senate-seat <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Shumlin has appointed the husband of a late state senator to fill her seat. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82691 at http://wamc.org Spouse Appointed To Fill Vermont Senate Seat Vermont Governor Focuses On One Issue During State Of State Address http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-focuses-one-issue-during-state-state-address <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin focused on a single issue during his State of the State speech Wednesday afternoon. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81476 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Focuses On One Issue During State Of State Address Vt. Gov.: Little Impact From Federal Health Change http://wamc.org/post/vt-gov-little-impact-federal-health-change <p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says he thinks it's unlikely the decision by President Barack Obama to allow people to extend existing health insurance policies for a year will have much impact on Vermont.</p><p>The state had already decided to allow individuals and small businesses to extend their current health insurance plans through March 31.</p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 13:23:58 +0000 Jaired Crofut 77863 at http://wamc.org Vt. Gov.: Little Impact From Federal Health Change Officials Assess Shutdown's Vt. Impact http://wamc.org/post/officials-assess-shutdowns-vt-impact <p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says it&#39;s time for Congress to stop hampering the state&rsquo;s fragile economic recovery and find a responsible solution to what he calls a manufactured crisis.</p><p>Shumlin was joined by Vermont National Guard officials and others Monday to outline how the federal government shutdown is affecting state. They said an estimated 5,000 federal workers who live in Vermont are seeing reduced hours or furloughs, and a monthly National Guard training weekend affecting 3,000 troops was canceled.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 12:11:33 +0000 Jaired Crofut 75133 at http://wamc.org Officials Assess Shutdown's Vt. Impact Shumlin, Vt. Chamber To Kick Off Health Forums http://wamc.org/post/shumlin-vt-chamber-kick-health-forums <p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin is to join the Vermont Chamber of Commerce in kicking off a series of forums for small businesses to learn about the new health insurance exchange being created under the federal Affordable Care Act.</p><p>A program today from 7:30 to 11:30 a.m. at Montpelier's Capitol Plaza hotel and conference center will be geared to helping small businesses learn what they need to know as they prepare to shop in the Vermont Health Connect exchange for health insurance.</p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 10:06:53 +0000 Jaired Crofut 73850 at http://wamc.org Shumlin, Vt. Chamber To Kick Off Health Forums Governor To Kick Off Vt. Health Connect Forums http://wamc.org/post/governor-kick-vt-health-connect-forums <p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin is set this week to help kick off a series of forums for small businesses to learn about the new health insurance exchange being created under the federal Affordable Care Act.</p><p>A program Wednesday from 7:30 to 11:30 a.m. at Montpelier's Capitol Plaza hotel and conference center will be geared to helping small businesses learn what they need to know as they prepare to shop in the Vermont Health Connect exchange for health insurance.</p> Mon, 16 Sep 2013 10:10:11 +0000 Jaired Crofut 73666 at http://wamc.org Governor To Kick Off Vt. Health Connect Forums