2013 New York State of the State http://wamc.org en Alan Chartock - The Vito Lopez Sex Scandal http://wamc.org/post/alan-chartock-vito-lopez-sex-scandal <p>Faced with the possibility of being expelled from the state legislature as soon as next week, State Assemblyman Vito Lopez, a Democrat from Brooklyn, today said he would resign on June 20th at the end of the legislative session and run for a seat on the New York City Council.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 19:30:00 +0000 Brian Shields 64957 at http://wamc.org Alan Chartock - The Vito Lopez Sex Scandal New York State Assembly Holds Final Budget Votes http://wamc.org/post/new-york-state-assembly-holds-final-budget-votes <p>The state legislature is almost finished voting on a $141.3b state budget. Final passage is occurring one week past lawmakers’ s self imposed deadline, but three days before&nbsp; the spending plan was due to be finished. Thu, 28 Mar 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 60962 at http://wamc.org New York State Assembly Holds Final Budget Votes Cuomo 2016? http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-2016-0 <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo's aggressive State of the State Speech has fueled speculation that he's already in planning to make a bid for the U.S. Presidency in 2016. Capital Region Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports.</p><p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 00:55:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 55485 at http://wamc.org Cuomo 2016? Women's Equality Act Proposal Draws Much Attention http://wamc.org/post/womens-equality-act-proposal-draws-much-attention <p>One of several proposals in New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s State-of-the-State Speech Wednesday includes a Women’s Equality Act, a ten-point agenda that includes protecting a woman’s freedom of choice by enacting the Reproductive Health Act. And Cuomo made it clear Thursday that he will give the same high-octane effort he gave the legalization of same-sex marriage in 2011 which remains the capstone of his progressive agenda. The Democrat says he's also deciding to disagree with Catholic Archbishop Timothy Dolan, who urged Cuomo not to expand abortion rights.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 00:07:58 +0000 Allison Dunne 55510 at http://wamc.org Mandate Relief is a High Priority for County Execs http://wamc.org/post/mandate-relief-high-priority-county-execs <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s State-of-the-State speech Wednesday did not directly speak to unfunded mandates. Some county executives say that although mandate relief is important and very much needed, they did not expect the governor to talk about it. However, at least one did.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 20:03:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 55478 at http://wamc.org North Country Officials Optimistic Following State of State http://wamc.org/post/north-country-officials-optimistic-following-state-state <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Andrew Cuomo presented a broad agenda in his State of the State address on Wednesday. North Country officials were pleased with the Governor’s focus on the upstate economy and tourism. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 55456 at http://wamc.org North Country Officials Optimistic Following State of State NY Activists' pre-SOS Rally: 'Ban Fracking Now!' http://wamc.org/post/ny-activists-pre-sos-rally-ban-fracking-now <p></p><p></p><p>More than a thousand protesters chanting "Ban Fracking Now!" crowded into Albany's Empire State Plaza concourse where lawmakers had to pass on their way to Governor Andrew Cuomo's State of the State speech. Capital Region Bureau Chief Dave Lucas was there and files this report.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 17:04:37 +0000 Dave Lucas 55454 at http://wamc.org NY Activists' pre-SOS Rally: 'Ban Fracking Now!' Cuomo Proposes NY Paddling Competition http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-proposes-ny-paddling-competition <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Andrew Cuomo says the state will sponsor a national rafting and paddling competition called the Adirondack Challenge this year.<br><br>In his State of the State speech Wednesday, Cuomo said the new event will bring international attention to the beauty and recreational opportunities of the Adirondacks and attract more tourism. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 01:50:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 55418 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Proposes NY Paddling Competition They Say the Plans are Ambitious and Important http://wamc.org/post/they-say-plans-are-ambitious-and-important <p>State Senator David Carlucci, an Independent Democrat, represents the 38<sup>th</sup> district, which includes a large part of Rockland County, and a small piece of Westchester. Part of his district was hit by Hurricane Sandy, and he says he was all for what the Governor had to say when it comes to improving emergency response and preparedness.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 23:39:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 55414 at http://wamc.org Cuomo's State of State Focuses on Gun Control, Women's Equality http://wamc.org/post/cuomos-state-state-focuses-gun-control-womens-equality <p></p><p>Governor Andrew Cuomo, in his third State of the State message Wednesday, asked lawmakers to help him “stop the madness” and pass tough new anti gun legislation. Cuomo also focused on changes to better prepare for future &nbsp;superstorms and to approve a new women’s equality act.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 22:59:06 +0000 Karen DeWitt 55409 at http://wamc.org Cuomo's State of State Focuses on Gun Control, Women's Equality