citizens united http://wamc.org en Congressional Corner With Richard Neal http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-richard-neal-9 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Supreme Court’s McCutcheon decision echoed 2010’s Citizens United case.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, Massachusetts Representative Richard Neal tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that campaign finance reform is now highly unlikely at the presidential level.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 88479 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Richard Neal Congressman Tonko Slams Supreme Court Decision http://wamc.org/post/congressman-tonko-slams-supreme-court-decision <p>Congressman Paul Tonko has condemned the U.S. Supreme Court decision in the McCutcheon v. FEC case that ruled caps on the total amount of money an individual can contribute to political campaigns and Political Action Committees (PACs) are unconstitutional.</p><p>Wednesday morning, in a 5-to-4 decision, the US Supreme Court struck down overall contribution limits to federal campaigns and committees. Tonko branded the decision "flawed" - saying America should be a government of the many, not the money.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 20:44:18 +0000 Dave Lucas 87307 at http://wamc.org Congressman Tonko Slams Supreme Court Decision Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-40 <p>WAMC political observer Dr. Alan Chartock talks about California Governor Jerry Brown vetoing a bill that would have allowed immigrants to serve on juries and the regulation of money in politics.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 12:05:31 +0000 Alan Chartock 75132 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary Group of Vermont Senators Want Citizens United Reversed http://wamc.org/post/group-vermont-senators-want-citizens-united-reversed <p></p><p></p><p>A group of Vermont lawmakers is calling for a national constitutional convention to reverse the effects of the U.S. Supreme Court's Citizens United decision on campaign money. Fri, 10 May 2013 15:18:47 +0000 Pat Bradley 64298 at http://wamc.org Group of Vermont Senators Want Citizens United Reversed Paul Elisha: The Accidental Curmudgeon http://wamc.org/post/paul-elisha-accidental-curmudgeon <p></p><p>There’s a danger for commentators who gather listeners with age.&nbsp; It’s a trap to be avoided at all costs; too easy to fall into and escapable only with the greatest of difficulty…&nbsp; as this commentator can now attest, from bitter experience.&nbsp; The trap?&nbsp; A wily metamorphosis that turns commentators into ‘cussed’ curmudgeons.</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 20:43:01 +0000 Paul Elisha 56955 at http://wamc.org McGovern Files Constitutional Amendments On Campaign Finance http://wamc.org/post/mcgovern-files-constitutional-amendments-campaign-finance <p>Massachusetts Congressman James McGovern&nbsp; introduced two constitutional amendments this week aimed at campaign finance reform. The amendments are in response to the controversial US Supreme Court “Citizens United” decision that found corporations have the same free speech rights as people.&nbsp; WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill spoke with Congressman McGovern.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 17:55:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 56515 at http://wamc.org McGovern Files Constitutional Amendments On Campaign Finance Groups Urge Candidates Be Questioned About Money in Politics During Debate http://wamc.org/post/groups-urge-candidates-be-questioned-about-money-politics-during-debate <p>During tonight’s presidential debate, citizen groups are calling for the issue of campaign financing to be raised to candidates Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports…</p> Wed, 03 Oct 2012 20:43:09 +0000 Lucas Willard 49217 at http://wamc.org Groups Urge Candidates Be Questioned About Money in Politics During Debate Michelle Obama Raises Campaign Funds At Western Mass. Events http://wamc.org/post/michelle-obama-raises-campaign-funds-western-mass-events <p> First Lady Michelle&nbsp; Obama was in western Massachusetts Friday to raise money for her husband&rsquo;s re-election campaign.&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports</p><p></p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 22:15:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 44695 at http://wamc.org Michelle Obama Raises Campaign Funds At Western Mass. Events MA Towns Push against Citizens United http://wamc.org/post/ma-towns-push-against-citizens-united <p>Nearly 60 Massachusetts cities and towns are urging Congress to pass a constitutional amendment that would overturn the U.S. Supreme Court&#39;s ruling in the Citizens United case. WAMC&rsquo;s Lucas Willard has more&hellip;</p><p>A total of 56 cities and towns from across the state have passed resolutions on the issue, with more expected to vote on similar resolutions in the coming weeks.</p> Wed, 23 May 2012 11:52:37 +0000 Lucas Willard 39574 at http://wamc.org MA Towns Push against Citizens United VT House Passes Corporate Personhood Resolution http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-passes-corporate-personhood-resolution <p>The Vermont House has passed a resolution calling on the U.S. Congress to start the process of amending the federal Constitution to reverse a 2010 Supreme Court decision expanding the rights of corporations to influence political campaigns.&nbsp; WAMC&#39;s Tristan O&#39;Neill reports...</p><p>The 92-40 vote on Thursday came after more than two hours of debate in which supporters said corporate money has come to distort the political process in the United States. Opponents called the effort an assault on First Amendment freedoms.</p> Fri, 20 Apr 2012 12:05:08 +0000 Tristan O'Neill 37240 at http://wamc.org VT House Passes Corporate Personhood Resolution