IBM http://wamc.org en IBM Lays Off Workers At Essex Junction Plant http://wamc.org/post/ibm-lays-workers-essex-junction-plant <p></p><p></p><p>Pink slips were distributed at IBM facilities across the globe today, and workers at the Essex Junction plant in Vermont were among those losing their jobs. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84810 at http://wamc.org IBM Lays Off Workers At Essex Junction Plant NY Plans Free Associate's Degree For 6,000 http://wamc.org/post/ny-plans-free-associates-degree-6000 <p>New York officials say 16 new partnerships between state colleges, public schools and private companies will result in 6,000 students earning associate's degrees at no cost to their families and put them at the front of the line for those companies' skilled jobs in manufacturing, information technology and health care.</p><p>The so-called P-TECH model follows IBM's Pathways in Technology Early College High School program in New York City.</p><p>According to the governor's office, pending negotiation of each applicant's budget, they will enroll their first class in September 2014.</p> Mon, 02 Sep 2013 11:35:06 +0000 Jaired Crofut 72700 at http://wamc.org NY Plans Free Associate's Degree For 6,000 IBM Okays Vermont's Disclosure Of Layoff Numbers http://wamc.org/post/ibm-okays-vermonts-disclosure-layoff-numbers <p>IBM has informed the Vermont Department of Labor that it will not object to the department’s disclosure of the total number of employees impacted by recent layoffs.</p><p>After Governor Peter Shumlin and Vermont Labor Commissioner Annie Noonan urged IBM to grant permission by noon Thursday, Noonan says IBM has complied.</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 22:43:41 +0000 Allison Dunne 69544 at http://wamc.org IBM Okays Vermont's Disclosure Of Layoff Numbers Debate Over Release of IBM Layoff Numbers http://wamc.org/post/debate-over-release-ibm-layoff-numbers <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont officials are urging IBM to release the number of layoffs at its plant in Essex Junction, but the company claims state law allows the information to remain confidential. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 69446 at http://wamc.org Debate Over Release of IBM Layoff Numbers Making Lake George the Smartest Water Body in the World http://wamc.org/post/making-lake-george-smartest-water-body-world <p></p><p></p><p>A new scientific research project is bringing together IBM, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the Fund for Lake George to assure the ecological and economic future of Lake George and create the “smartest” lake in the world. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68084 at http://wamc.org Making Lake George the Smartest Water Body in the World Project Formed to Make Lake George the Smartest Lake in the World http://wamc.org/post/project-formed-make-lake-george-smartest-lake-world <p></p><p></p><p>IBM, RPI and the Fund for Lake George are partnering for a unique research project to ensure the ecological and economic future of Lake George. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68041 at http://wamc.org Project Formed to Make Lake George the Smartest Lake in the World Making NY's Lake George The World's 'Smartest' http://wamc.org/post/making-nys-lake-george-worlds-smartest <p>Researchers are turning New York's Lake&nbsp;George into the "smartest lake in the world," with a sophisticated monitoring system that will help them predict threats like road salt and invasive species.</p><p>The project to track and analyze the waters of the Adirondack Mountain lake from its sun-dappled shores to its dark depths is being launched this week.</p><p>Sensors will analyze the likes of stream runoff, rainfall, wind, currents, salinity, chlorophyll and nitrogen, and an IBM supercomputer will crunch the data to provide three-dimensional pictures of the lake.</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 14:30:00 +0000 Jaired Crofut 67979 at http://wamc.org Making NY's Lake George The World's 'Smartest' IBM Said to Be Shedding Jobs in Vermont and Elsewhere http://wamc.org/post/ibm-said-be-shedding-jobs-vermont-and-elsewhere <p></p><p></p><p>IBM says it won't comment on reports of layoffs at its facilities in Vermont and elsewhere. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 66866 at http://wamc.org IBM Said to Be Shedding Jobs in Vermont and Elsewhere IBM Will Move Some Work To Its Poughkeepsie Site http://wamc.org/post/ibm-will-move-some-work-its-poughkeepsie-site <p>IBM is moving some of its product manufacturing from Rochester, Minnesota, to Poughkeepsie, New York, as well as to Mexico. Company officials are being tight-lipped about what this means in terms of jobs, but some onlookers in the Hudson Valley see a boost to the local economy.</p><p>Here’s IBM spokesman Scott Cook.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 18:58:24 +0000 Allison Dunne 59448 at http://wamc.org IBM Will Move Some Work To Its Poughkeepsie Site NYS and IBM Want to Prep Students for High-Skills Jobs http://wamc.org/post/nys-and-ibm-want-prep-students-high-skills-jobs <p>Governor Andrew Cuomo and IBM officials recently announced a public-private partnership they say will prepare New York students for high-skills jobs. The idea is based on a school in Brooklyn, highlighted by President Obama in his State of the Union speech.</p><p>The idea, say both the Governor and IBM officials, is to provide students with skills for careers in STEM, or Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, while, at the same time, advancing regional economic development in New York.</p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 18:57:10 +0000 Allison Dunne 59046 at http://wamc.org NYS and IBM Want to Prep Students for High-Skills Jobs