massachusetts governor's race 2014 http://wamc.org en How Do The Democratic Berkshires Factor Into 2014 Statewide Races? http://wamc.org/post/how-do-democratic-berkshires-factor-2014-statewide-races <p>Election season in Massachusetts features a host of statewide races, but will the reliably blue Berkshires have a role to play?</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 87822 at http://wamc.org How Do The Democratic Berkshires Factor Into 2014 Statewide Races? Mass. Gubernatorial Hopefuls Weigh In On NARH http://wamc.org/post/mass-gubernatorial-hopefuls-weigh-narh <p>Massachusetts gubernatorial candidates are weighing in on <a href="http://wamc.org/post/north-adams-regional-hospital-closing" target="_blank">last week’s sudden closure of North Adams Regional Hospital</a> and the ongoing work to restore emergency services in the region.</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 16:14:22 +0000 Jim Levulis 87457 at http://wamc.org Mass. Gubernatorial Hopefuls Weigh In On NARH MA Gubernatorial Candidates Discuss LGBT Issues http://wamc.org/post/ma-gubernatorial-candidates-discuss-lgbt-issues <p>Eight Massachusetts gubernatorial candidates discussed LBGT issues during a forum in Boston Tuesday night.</p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 22:13:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 86774 at http://wamc.org MA Gubernatorial Candidates Discuss LGBT Issues Mass. Gubernatorial Hopeful Kayyem Stops In Pittsfield On Gateway Tour http://wamc.org/post/mass-gubernatorial-hopeful-kayyem-stops-pittsfield-gateway-tour <p><a href="http://www.juliettekayyem.com/" target="_blank">Juliette Kayyem</a>, a Democratic candidate for Massachusetts governor, was in Pittsfield Friday, making the latest stop on her Gateway Cities’ tour.</p><p>The stop marked Kayyem’s ninth visit to the 26 communities designated as Gateway Cities, meaning they have a population greater than 35,000 with median household incomes and higher education achievement rates below the state average. Kayyem says as governor, she can take steps to encourage economic development in these communities.</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 85895 at http://wamc.org Mass. Gubernatorial Hopeful Kayyem Stops In Pittsfield On Gateway Tour MA GOP Candidates Joining Forces http://wamc.org/post/ma-gop-candidates-joining-forces <p>In Massachusetts, the Democratic fields for governor and lieutenant governor are pretty packed, but that’s not the case on the Republican side.</p><p>In line with a trend that started in the early 1990s and worked successfully until the election of Democratic <a href="http://www.mass.gov/governor/" target="_blank">Governor Deval Patrick</a> in 2006, two Republicans vying for the top two state offices are teaming up ahead of November’s election to replace Patrick, who is not seeking a third term.</p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 83853 at http://wamc.org MA GOP Candidates Joining Forces Howard Dean Endorses Steve Grossman For Massachusetts Governor http://wamc.org/post/howard-dean-endorses-steve-grossman-massachusetts-governor <p>Massachusetts Treasurer Steve Grossman is racking up endorsements in his bid for governor as the contest for the Democratic Party nomination enters an important phase.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 17:29:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 83121 at http://wamc.org Howard Dean Endorses Steve Grossman For Massachusetts Governor Mass. GOP To Charge Speakers At Convention http://wamc.org/post/mass-gop-charge-speakers-convention <p>BOSTON (AP) — It's becoming more expensive to run for office as a Republican in Massachusetts.</p><p><a href="http://www.massgop.com/" target="_blank">The state Republican Party</a> has announced that it’s charging candidates for governor $25,000 to speak at its upcoming state convention.</p><p>That cost, double what it was in 2010, is among several increases the party imposed on candidates this year to recoup the expenses of running the convention, which traditionally loses money.</p><p>The new fees include a $10,000 surcharge for candidates vying for contested seats.</p> Sat, 01 Feb 2014 04:55:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 83019 at http://wamc.org Mass. GOP To Charge Speakers At Convention MA Democratic Gubernatorial Hopefuls Speak In Berkshires http://wamc.org/post/ma-democratic-gubernatorial-hopefuls-speak-berkshires <p>Democratic candidates vying to be the next governor of Massachusetts took part in a meet and greet in Pittsfield Sunday.</p><p>More than 250 people showed up to hear the views and ask questions of the five Democrats aiming to be the commonwealth’s next governor. Democratic <a href="http://www.mass.gov/governor/" target="_blank">Governor Deval Patrick</a> is not seeking a third term. <a href="http://www.edmarkey.com/" target="_blank">U.S. Senator Edward Markey</a> kicked off the event by rallying the supporters.</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 17:21:06 +0000 Jim Levulis 82650 at http://wamc.org MA Democratic Gubernatorial Hopefuls Speak In Berkshires GOP Candidate For MA Gov. Visits Pittsfield http://wamc.org/post/gop-candidate-ma-gov-visits-pittsfield <p>A Republican candidate for governor of Massachusetts spoke to supporters in Pittsfield Tuesday night.</p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 17:40:39 +0000 Jim Levulis 82336 at http://wamc.org GOP Candidate For MA Gov. Visits Pittsfield Democratic Candidates for MA Gov. and Lt. Gov. in 2014 Stop in Berkshires http://wamc.org/post/democratic-candidates-ma-gov-and-lt-gov-2014-stop-berkshires <p>Democratic candidates for governor and lieutenant governors visited western Massachusetts Wednesday.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 19:14:47 +0000 Jim Levulis 77797 at http://wamc.org Democratic Candidates for MA Gov. and Lt. Gov. in 2014 Stop in Berkshires