New York State Comptroller http://wamc.org en New York Comptroller Race: Tom DiNapoli http://wamc.org/post/new-york-comptroller-race-tom-dinapoli <p>The Comptroller’s race has the option of a pilot program for public campaign financing, under a budget deal reached earlier this year.&nbsp; Wed, 21 May 2014 19:53:13 +0000 Karen Dewitt 90984 at http://wamc.org New York Comptroller Race: Tom DiNapoli Audit Finds Improper Commute Payments For TZ Bridge Project Employees http://wamc.org/post/audit-finds-improper-commute-payments-tz-bridge-project-employees <p>An audit from the New York State comptroller’s office finds that a state agency improperly paid commuting expenses to employees working on the new Tappan Zee Bridge.</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 03:50:15 +0000 Allison Dunne 84131 at http://wamc.org Audit Finds Improper Commute Payments For TZ Bridge Project Employees Comptroller: Inmates In NY Jails Received Benefits http://wamc.org/post/comptroller-inmates-ny-jails-received-benefits <p>An audit by New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli has found that hundreds of inmates in upstate county jails received more than $500,000 dollars in improper benefits.</p><p>DiNapoli&#39;s auditors found 351 inmates in Chemung, Onondaga, Orange, Schenectady and Warren counties received state unemployment insurance benefits of nearly $325,000.</p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 09:56:41 +0000 Jaired Crofut 75041 at http://wamc.org Comptroller: Inmates In NY Jails Received Benefits NYS Audit Questions Special Education Provider's Billing http://wamc.org/post/nys-audit-questions-special-education-providers-billing <p>WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. (AP) — The New York state comptroller says a special education provider overbilled school districts by more than $600,000.</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 10:33:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 70971 at http://wamc.org NY Comptroller Identifies Municipalities Facing Fiscal Distress http://wamc.org/post/ny-comptroller-identifies-municipalities-facing-fiscal-distress <p>New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli is out with his first set of municipal fiscal stress scores based on his office’s new Fiscal Stress Monitoring System. The numbers were revealed during a teleconference today.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 19:38:56 +0000 Dave Lucas 67318 at http://wamc.org NY Comptroller Identifies Municipalities Facing Fiscal Distress First Fiscal Stress Scores Due Out Today in New York http://wamc.org/post/first-fiscal-stress-scores-due-out-today-new-york <p>The New York State comptroller today will release municipal fiscal stress scores. The scores are the first since he introduced a monitoring system in January.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 13:40:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 67283 at http://wamc.org First Fiscal Stress Scores Due Out Today in New York NYS Senator Supports Public-Private Partnership for Tappan Zee Financing http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-supports-public-private-partnership-tappan-zee-financing <p>A New York State Senator is urging his colleagues in the legislature to pass a bill that he says could help finance part of the construction of the replacement Tappan Zee Bridge.</p><p>Republican Senator Greg Ball, knowing that more funding is needed to build a replacement Tappan Zee Bridge, says he wants legislators to pass a public-private partnership, or P3, bill.</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 23:18:48 +0000 Allison Dunne 59720 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Supports Public-Private Partnership for Tappan Zee Financing Former Kingston Fire Chief is Charged After NYS Audit http://wamc.org/post/former-kingston-fire-chief-charged-after-nys-audit <p>A former fire chief in Ulster County's City of Kingston was charged following an audit by the New York State Comptroller. The audit alleges that the City of Kingston made $23,000 in improper payments to employees for unearned leave time.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 10:10:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 56977 at http://wamc.org Former Kingston Fire Chief is Charged After NYS Audit DiNapoli Okays the Final Contract for the Bridge http://wamc.org/post/dinapoli-okays-final-contract-bridge <p>The New York State Comptroller has given his approval for the more than $3 billion contract to build a replacement Tappan Zee Bridge in the lower Hudson Valley.</p> Sat, 19 Jan 2013 03:47:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 56092 at http://wamc.org DiNapoli Okays the Final Contract for the Bridge