New York City Department of Environmental Protection http://wamc.org en Ashokan Fountain Is Temporarily Shut Down http://wamc.org/post/ashokan-fountain-temporarily-shut-down <p></p><p>Hydropower upgrades have forced the temporary closure of a fountain at a popular site in Ulster County.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 23:40:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93471 at http://wamc.org Ashokan Fountain Is Temporarily Shut Down Hudson Valley Trails Open on National Trails Day http://wamc.org/post/hudson-valley-trails-open-national-trails-day <p></p><p>Two new hiking trails open Saturday – one in Ulster County, another in Delaware County -- in recognition of National Trails Day.</p> Sat, 07 Jun 2014 13:27:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92072 at http://wamc.org Hudson Valley Trails Open on National Trails Day Riverkeeper Critical Of DEC-DEP Consent Order http://wamc.org/post/riverkeeper-critical-dec-dep-consent-order <p>KINGSTON &ndash; The consent order between the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation and the New York City Department of Environmental Protection that regulates release of turbid water has come under fire by the Hudson Riverkeeper organization.</p><p>The consent order, released earlier this month, seeks to regulate turbid discharges of water from the Ashokan Reservoir into the Lower Esopus Creek. But, Riverkeeper Paul Gallay said the document does not go far enough and allows the DEP to continue high volume releases in the short- and long-term.</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 11:35:12 +0000 Hank Gross 75517 at http://wamc.org Riverkeeper Critical Of DEC-DEP Consent Order NYC Officials Announce Completion Of UV Facility To Treat Drinking Water http://wamc.org/post/nyc-officials-announce-completion-uv-facility-treat-drinking-water <p>A system designed to disinfect the water supply from the upstate watershed headed for New York City has been completed.</p> Wed, 09 Oct 2013 11:53:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 75195 at http://wamc.org NYC Officials Announce Completion Of UV Facility To Treat Drinking Water DEC, DEP Consent Order On Lower Esopus Goes Into Effect http://wamc.org/post/dec-dep-consent-order-lower-esopus-goes-effect <p>A long-awaited agreement between the New York State Department of Environmental and New York City Department of Environmental Protection has been signed.</p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 20:37:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 74951 at http://wamc.org DEC, DEP Consent Order On Lower Esopus Goes Into Effect Officials In Ulster County Await Finalized Consent Order http://wamc.org/post/officials-ulster-county-await-finalized-consent-order <p>The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has announced an agreement with the New York City Department of Environmental Protection to reduce the impact of discharges into an Ulster County water body. The consent order awaits the signature of a New York City official before going into effect.</p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 17:21:08 +0000 Allison Dunne 74600 at http://wamc.org Officials In Ulster County Await Finalized Consent Order NYS DEC Announces Agreement with NYC DEP On The Lower Esopus http://wamc.org/post/nys-dec-announces-agreement-nyc-dep-lower-esopus <p>The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has announced an agreement with the New York City Department of Environmental Protection to reduce the impact of discharges into an Ulster County creek.&nbsp; The much anticipated consent order comes amid high tension over watershed issues.</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:40:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 74362 at http://wamc.org NYS DEC Announces Agreement with NYC DEP On The Lower Esopus NY Congressman Comments On Draft Revisions To NYC Water Waiver http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressman-comments-draft-revisions-nyc-water-waiver <p>A New York Congressman whose district includes the West-of-the-Hudson New York City watershed is weighing in on draft revisions to the city’s waiver from filtering drinking water.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 20:57:22 +0000 Allison Dunne 74007 at http://wamc.org NY Congressman Comments On Draft Revisions To NYC Water Waiver Ulster County Committee To Hold Public Hearing On NYS, NYC Water Issue http://wamc.org/post/ulster-county-committee-hold-public-hearing-nys-nyc-water-issue <p>The New York State Department of Health has not scheduled any public hearings since releasing in August a draft document that would continue to allow upstate water headed for New York City faucets to avoid filtration. A group of Ulster County legislators says it will hold its own public hearing, to compile comments on the controversial subject.</p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 18:07:56 +0000 Allison Dunne 72774 at http://wamc.org Ulster County Committee To Hold Public Hearing On NYS, NYC Water Issue Ulster Lawmakers To Approve Flood Buyout Money http://wamc.org/post/ulster-lawmakers-approve-flood-buyout-money <p>KINGSTON – The Ulster County Legislature this week will approve an additional $1.5 million in state funds for the purchase and demolition of homes damaged by flooding.</p><p>Ways and Means Committee Chairman Richard Gerentine said state is providing additional dollars for the buyout program.</p><p>“It was additional money that we did not have before. There was talk about it, but this is the actual bond itself and the money to move forward with it,” Gerentine said.</p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 12:41:26 +0000 Hank Gross 69719 at http://wamc.org Ulster Lawmakers To Approve Flood Buyout Money