New York State Budget http://wamc.org en Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-leaders-admit-some-unfinished-budget-issues <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders are touting the virtues of the newly enacted state budget, but the spending plan has its share of critics. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:12:55 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87200 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues Lawmakers In Hurry To Beat Budget Clock http://wamc.org/post/lawmakers-hurry-beat-budget-clock <p>Lawmakers hurried to complete work on the state budget before the midnight deadline, but the spending plan is not without some controversy. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 21:37:53 +0000 Karen DeWitt 87122 at http://wamc.org Lawmakers In Hurry To Beat Budget Clock Blair Horner: Albany's Campaign Finance Bait-And-Switch http://wamc.org/post/blair-horner-albanys-campaign-finance-bait-and-switch <p align="left">Once the state's political leaders got past the congratulatory "atta-boys" and backslapping on their most recent effort to reform Albany, the public was left to dig through the details of the legislative agreement.</p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:50:00 +0000 Blair Horner 87088 at http://wamc.org New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday http://wamc.org/post/new-york-state-budget-finalized-voting-monday <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders have finalized the details on a $138 billion dollar state budget and say they are on track to meet the April 1 deadline. The budget includes a multi step plan that could &nbsp;lower property taxes, $340 million dollars for schools to start pre-K programs, and a limited test program for public campaign financing.</p> Sun, 30 Mar 2014 12:18:26 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87018 at http://wamc.org New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday No Details, But Budget Deal Expected Soon http://wamc.org/post/no-details-budget-deal-expected-soon <p>Legislative leaders in Albany say they expect to have a deal on the state budget by the end of the day, but are revealing no details. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:52:41 +0000 Karen DeWitt 86831 at http://wamc.org No Details, But Budget Deal Expected Soon Delay Of Common Core Effects Likely In New York Budget http://wamc.org/post/delay-common-core-effects-likely-new-york-budget <p>New York State lawmakers say it’s likely the state budget will include a moratorium on the effects of school exams administered in connection with the controversial Common Core learning standards. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 19:09:54 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86741 at http://wamc.org New York Lawmakers Closer To Budget Agreement http://wamc.org/post/new-york-lawmakers-closer-budget-agreement <p>New York legislative leaders say they are working together and are close to a budget agreement, after a blowup that left the Senate and Assembly leaders negotiating separately with Governor Andrew Cuomo. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 86678 at http://wamc.org New York Lawmakers Closer To Budget Agreement Education Issues Prominent In NY Budget Talks http://wamc.org/post/education-issues-prominent-ny-budget-talks <p></p><p></p><p>The budget being negotiated in Albany will establish not only how much state aid school districts will receive, but it also could affect the age many kids start going to school, when they begin standardized tests and even influence whether they go to public or private school.</p><p>Education issues are prominent this budget season in Albany. This includes the pre-kindergarten debate prompted by New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio and a tax credit advocated this week by Cardinal Timothy Dolan that could boost Catholic school attendance.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:43:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86323 at http://wamc.org Education Issues Prominent In NY Budget Talks NY Assembly, Senate Budget Plans Due http://wamc.org/post/ny-assembly-senate-budget-plans-due <p>Budget negotiations are expected to get serious at the New York State Capitol this week, with the spending plan due at the end of the month.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Senate and Assembly are due to put out their one house budget resolutions on Wednesday, the first step toward reaching a final deal with Governor Andrew Cuomo later this month.</span></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 20:25:17 +0000 Karen Dewitt 85370 at http://wamc.org NY Assembly, Senate Budget Plans Due Advocates Say Lack Of Money At Core of Schools Struggles http://wamc.org/post/advocates-say-lack-money-core-schools-struggles <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The deadline for the state budget is approaching, and education issues are taking center stage. One day before massive rallies for universal pre-K and charter schools, other advocates say they’ve gathered evidence for potentially another lawsuit for more state aid for schools.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Alliance for Quality Education has been touring schools around the state to document what they say is erosion in districts in economically depressed areas.</span></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 85040 at http://wamc.org Advocates Say Lack Of Money At Core of Schools Struggles