Acid Rain http://wamc.org en Supreme Court Upholds Cross State Pollution Rule http://wamc.org/post/supreme-court-upholds-cross-state-pollution-rule <p></p><p></p><p>The Supreme Court on Tuesday reinstated the Environmental Protection Agency’s Cross State Air Pollution Rule that will force downwind polluters to stem emissions that travel into the Northeast. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89406 at http://wamc.org Supreme Court Upholds Cross State Pollution Rule Researchers Find Acid Rain Legacy Impacts Eastern Waters http://wamc.org/post/researchers-find-acid-rain-legacy-impacts-eastern-waters <p>A new study shows streams and rivers up and down the East Coast are threatened by a legacy of acid rain and the impact of human activities. WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne spoke with one of the study’s authors.</p><p>Dr. Gene Likens, co-discoverer of acid rain in North America some 50 years ago, says the study is the first of its kind. Researchers looked at long-term alkalinity trends in 97 streams and rivers from Florida to New Hampshire, and found alkalinity has increased.</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 01:55:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 72343 at http://wamc.org Researchers Find Acid Rain Legacy Impacts Eastern Waters High Court to Review Cross-Border Pollution Rule http://wamc.org/post/high-court-review-cross-border-pollution-rule <p></p><p></p><p>The U.S. Supreme Court will consider reinstating a federal regulation intended to reduce power plant pollution that contributes to unhealthy air in neighboring states. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67754 at http://wamc.org High Court to Review Cross-Border Pollution Rule Revised Emissions Agreement Cuts Acid Rain Pollutants http://wamc.org/post/revised-emissions-agreement-cuts-acid-rain-pollutants <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Eight east coast states, the EPA and several environmental groups have reached a revised agreement with one of the country's largest electricity producers to further reduce acid rain emissions from coal-fired power plants in the Midwest.</span></p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 58602 at http://wamc.org Revised Emissions Agreement Cuts Acid Rain Pollutants Settlement Binds Power Co. To Stop Burning Coal http://wamc.org/post/settlement-binds-power-co-stop-burning-coal <p>One of the largest U.S. electricity producers will stop burning coal at two of its power plants under a legal settlement reached with the EPA, eight states and several environmental groups. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 58545 at http://wamc.org Settlement Binds Power Co. To Stop Burning Coal A.G. Announces Grant Funding to Mitigate Adirondack Acid Rain Damage http://wamc.org/post/ag-announces-grant-funding-mitigate-adirondack-acid-rain-damage <p></p><p></p><p>New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman has announced a new grant program designed to mitigate the effects of acid rain in Adirondack water bodies.<br><br>The 400-thousand dollar Adirondack Acid Rain Recovery grant program has been created as part of a multi-state legal settlement with Cinergy, formerly Duke Energy, over Clean Air Act violations.&nbsp; Jeremy Magliaro,&nbsp; an environmental policy analyst with the <a href="http://www.ag.ny.gov">New York Attorney General’s office</a>, says the funds are intended to hasten lake and stream recovery from acid rain deposition. Wed, 23 Jan 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56327 at http://wamc.org A.G. Announces Grant Funding to Mitigate Adirondack Acid Rain Damage