unfunded mandates http://wamc.org en NYS Senator Proposes Unfunded Mandate Relief For Counties http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-proposes-unfunded-mandate-relief-counties <p>A New York state senator from the Hudson Valley is introducing legislation to bring unfunded mandate relief to counties.</p><p>Democratic state Senator Terry Gipson is sponsoring two bills he says will help bring mandate relief during this era of a 2-percent-mandated property tax cap.</p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 00:03:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 79277 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Proposes Unfunded Mandate Relief For Counties NYS Senator Holds Unfunded Mandates Roundtable http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-holds-unfunded-mandates-roundtable <p>A New York state senator from the Hudson Valley is holding a roundtable&nbsp; Saturday on unfunded mandates.</p> Sat, 07 Sep 2013 15:22:41 +0000 Allison Dunne 73104 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator, Assemblyman Join To Tackle Unfunded Mandates http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-assemblyman-join-tackle-unfunded-mandates <p></p><p>A state senator and assemblyman, both from the Hudson Valley, say they have a bipartisan solution to curb unfunded mandates. They also say they are banding together as outsiders and want their constituents to know about it.</p><p>About three months ago, Democratic state Senator Terry Gipson proposed a state constitutional amendment to prohibit certain unfunded mandates. He says the measure is a bold one.</p><p>He says making the case for his bill is stronger, now that he has found a partner in the Assembly – Republican Kieran Lalor.</p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 02:43:46 +0000 Allison Dunne 70559 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator, Assemblyman Join To Tackle Unfunded Mandates NYS Senator Sponsors Bill To Stop Unfunded Mandates http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-sponsors-bill-stop-unfunded-mandates <p>A state senator from the Hudson Valley wants to prohibit the state from imposing unfunded mandates.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 12:41:09 +0000 Allison Dunne 66005 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Sponsors Bill To Stop Unfunded Mandates Hudson Valley County Exec Hits The Road For Local Government Reform http://wamc.org/post/hudson-valley-county-exec-hits-road-local-government-reform <p>The Ulster County executive is behind a statewide tour to learn how municipalities in New York are best coping with fiscal challenges. This comes during an era of unfunded mandates and a two-percent property tax cap. He says the idea is to prevent communities from becoming distressed or on the brink of bankruptcy.</p><p>The initiative is called PAYGo NY. Ulster County Executive Michael Hein says it harkens back to a philosophy of pay as you go. Hein is also president of the New York State County Executives Association.</p> Wed, 29 May 2013 18:34:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 65840 at http://wamc.org Hudson Valley County Exec Hits The Road For Local Government Reform Westchester Officials Unite To Press For Mandate Relief http://wamc.org/post/westchester-officials-unite-press-mandate-relief <p>A newly-formed coalition in New York’s Hudson Valley is seeking relief from unfunded mandates.</p> Fri, 24 May 2013 12:10:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 65453 at http://wamc.org Westchester Officials Unite To Press For Mandate Relief They Make a Plea for More Mandate Relief http://wamc.org/post/they-make-plea-more-mandate-relief <p>More than a dozen, local elected officials stood with New York State Senator Greg Ball Thursday, urging state lawmakers to pass a comprehensive mandate relief package. They say without mandate relief beyond what Governor Andrew Cuomo proposed in his 2013-2014 budget, municipalities, and school districts will go broke. They assembled at Yorktown Town Hall in Westchester. Republican Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino was there.</p><p>And here’s Republican Senator from Putnam County Greg Ball.</p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 18:04:45 +0000 Allison Dunne 57034 at http://wamc.org They Make a Plea for More Mandate Relief Some Mandate Relief is Proposed http://wamc.org/post/some-mandate-relief-proposed <p>In the governor’s State-of-the-State address, there was no mention of mandate relief, yet several county executives said they were not expecting to hear much about it then, that it would be during the governor’s budget address where they would expect some details about coping with unfunded mandates. Governor Cuomo did speak to unfunded mandates in his proposed 2013-2014 budget address Tuesday, introducing the topic this way.</p><p>Stephen Acquario is the executive director of the New York State Association of Counties, or NYSAC.</p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:28:04 +0000 Allison Dunne 56328 at http://wamc.org Some Mandate Relief is Proposed