Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney http://wamc.org en Tele-Town Hall Highlights HV Transportation And Infrastructure http://wamc.org/post/tele-town-hall-highlights-hv-transportation-and-infrastructure <p></p><p>New York Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney recently held a telephone town hall on local transportation and infrastructure issues in the Hudson Valley.</p><p>Sean Patrick Maloney, a Democrat who sits on the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, supported bipartisan legislation to prevent the bankruptcy of the Highway Trust Fund. The emergency measure passed last week by a vote of 367-55.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 23:39:12 +0000 Allison Dunne 95648 at http://wamc.org Tele-Town Hall Highlights HV Transportation And Infrastructure NY Congressional Candidate Takes Issue With Drone Use At Wedding http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressional-candidate-takes-issue-drone-use-wedding <p></p><p>The Republican contender in New York’s 18th congressional district alleges her opponent flouted Federal Aviation Administration regulations on drone use for commercial purposes.</p><p>Former Congresswoman Nan Hayworth is reiterating her call for Democratic Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney to step down from the FAA oversight committee.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:10:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 95334 at http://wamc.org NY Congressional Candidate Takes Issue With Drone Use At Wedding NY Congressmen Against Capacity Zone Are Hopeful http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressmen-against-capacity-zone-are-hopeful <p></p><p>Two New York Congressmen, whose amendment to curtail a federal agency’s ability to implement a new capacity zone passed the House of Representatives last week, say they are hopeful after comments by the Senate majority leader.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 13:11:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 95039 at http://wamc.org NY Congressmen Against Capacity Zone Are Hopeful House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone http://wamc.org/post/house-passes-legislation-curtailing-ferc-enforcement-capacity-zone <p></p><p>The House of Representatives has passed an amendment put forth by two New York congressmen who want to rein in the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and undo a new capacity zone.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 23:21:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 94696 at http://wamc.org House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone NY Congressional Race Contenders Report Fundraising Amounts http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressional-race-contenders-report-fundraising-amounts <p></p><p></p><p>Contenders in a congressional race in the Hudson Valley are divulging their second-quarter campaign fundraising results, ahead of a July 15 deadline for federal filing.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:55:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 94590 at http://wamc.org NY Congressional Race Contenders Report Fundraising Amounts Parents Decry Student Loan Debt During Telephone Town Hall http://wamc.org/post/parents-decry-student-loan-debt-during-telephone-town-hall <p></p><p>A New York congressman from the Hudson Valley recently held a telephone town hall on what he calls the ongoing student debt crisis.</p><p>With federal student loan debt surpassing more than $1.2 trillion, Democratic Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney held the telephone town hall for constituents of his 18<sup>th</sup> congressional district.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 00:54:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 94302 at http://wamc.org Parents Decry Student Loan Debt During Telephone Town Hall Early Learning Programs In Orange County Receive Funding http://wamc.org/post/early-learning-programs-orange-county-receive-funding <p></p><p>More than $1 million in federal funding is early learning and head start programs in Orange County.</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:23:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93579 at http://wamc.org Early Learning Programs In Orange County Receive Funding Hayworth Wins Independence Party Primary http://wamc.org/post/hayworth-wins-independence-party-primary <p></p><p>A former congresswoman in the Hudson Valley has won the Independence Party line.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 10:13:28 +0000 Allison Dunne 93392 at http://wamc.org Hayworth Wins Independence Party Primary It's Independence Primary Day In A NY Congressional District http://wamc.org/post/its-independence-primary-day-ny-congressional-district <p></p><p>There is a primary election today for the Independence Party line in a Hudson Valley congressional district, part of a rematch between contenders in the 2012 election.</p><p>Democratic Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney unseated freshman Republican Nan Hayworth in 2012, in a close race in what was then a newly drawn 18<sup>th</sup> congressional district. Paul Basinski, a political science professor at Orange County Community College, notes that roughly 9,000 votes made the difference, and a third-party line this time around could help.</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 23:10:46 +0000 Allison Dunne 93375 at http://wamc.org It's Independence Primary Day In A NY Congressional District HV Post Office To Be Named For Fallen CIA Agent http://wamc.org/post/hv-post-office-be-named-fallen-cia-agent <p></p><p>The first post office in the United States to be named in memory of a CIA agent is in the Hudson Valley, in Orange County.</p><p>The U.S. House of Representatives voted unanimously to approve Democratic Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney’s legislation to rename the post office on Route 17M in Monroe as the “National Clandestine Service of the Central Intelligence Agency NCS Officer Gregg David Wenzel Memorial Post Office.”</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 12:57:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 92853 at http://wamc.org HV Post Office To Be Named For Fallen CIA Agent