Lake Champlain http://wamc.org en Funding Secured From Farm Bill To Aid Water Quality Efforts http://wamc.org/post/funding-secured-farm-bill-aid-water-quality-efforts <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy has announced that money is available from the recently enacted Farm Bill to help improve agricultural water quality in one of the problematic watersheds that drain into the Mississquoi Bay of Lake Champlain. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 91397 at http://wamc.org Funding Secured From Farm Bill To Aid Water Quality Efforts Petition Calls For Mandatory Pollution Prevention Practices http://wamc.org/post/petition-calls-mandatory-pollution-prevention-practices <p></p><p></p><p>The Conservation Law Foundation is petitioning the Vermont Agency of Agriculture to require mandatory pollution control practices for farm runoff into one of Lake Champlain’s most problematic bays. Fri, 23 May 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 91184 at http://wamc.org Petition Calls For Mandatory Pollution Prevention Practices Cold Slows Floods, But Some Areas Still Underwater http://wamc.org/post/cold-slows-floods-some-areas-still-underwater <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says damage from overnight flooding Tuesday into Wednesday was wide-ranging but receding.&nbsp; He warned that Lake Champlain is nearing flood stage and will continue to rise in the coming days. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88337 at http://wamc.org Cold Slows Floods, But Some Areas Still Underwater Towns Support Lake Cleanup, Worry About Costs http://wamc.org/post/towns-support-lake-cleanup-worry-about-costs <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont League of Cities and Towns says the Lake Champlain cleanup plan is headed in the right direction, but members have concerns about how the plan will be paid for and how the state can permit municipal roads. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88170 at http://wamc.org Towns Support Lake Cleanup, Worry About Costs Officials Unveil Lake Basin Plan For Southern VT http://wamc.org/post/officials-unveil-lake-basin-plan-southern-vt <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Agency of Natural Resources is asking the public to weigh in on a new plan for protecting waters in the Southern Champlain Basin. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87114 at http://wamc.org Officials Unveil Lake Basin Plan For Southern VT Vermont Officials Send Lake Cleanup Plan To EPA http://wamc.org/post/vermont-officials-send-lake-cleanup-plan-epa <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont officials will be sending off a plan to reduce storm-water runoff into Lake Champlain to avoid costly federal intervention. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87113 at http://wamc.org Vermont Officials Send Lake Cleanup Plan To EPA VT Lawmakers Ponder Lake Champlain Cleanup Details http://wamc.org/post/vt-lawmakers-ponder-lake-champlain-cleanup-details <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont lawmakers are considering tax increases for rooms, meals, liquor, wine and rental vehicles as part of a funding package that would be used to help clean up Lake Champlain. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84808 at http://wamc.org VT Lawmakers Ponder Lake Champlain Cleanup Details Environmental Groups Call On Governor To Support Lake Cleanup Plans http://wamc.org/post/environmental-groups-call-governor-support-lake-cleanup-plans <p></p><p></p><p>Regional representatives from the Environmental Protection Agency and officials from Vermont state agencies outlined proposed plans to control phosphorus runoff into Lake Champlain to key House leaders Wednesday. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83857 at http://wamc.org Environmental Groups Call On Governor To Support Lake Cleanup Plans Update on Transmission Line Project Presented http://wamc.org/post/update-transmission-line-project-presented <p></p><p></p><p>Officials from Transmission Developers, the company planning to place a buried, underwater electric transmission cable between Quebec and New York City, provided an update on the project to interested parties in Plattsburgh this week. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 74755 at http://wamc.org Update on Transmission Line Project Presented Study Group Issues Report on Flood Mitigation http://wamc.org/post/study-group-issues-report-flood-mitigation <p></p><p></p><p>A U.S.-Canadian study group has delivered its flood mitigation recommendations for the Lake Champlain and Richelieu River basin following record flooding in 2011. Sat, 03 Aug 2013 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 70625 at http://wamc.org Study Group Issues Report on Flood Mitigation