renewable energy http://wamc.org en Catskills Group Launches Renewable Energy Campaign Online http://wamc.org/post/catskills-group-launches-renewable-energy-campaign-online <p></p><p>A grassroots advocacy group in the Catskills has begun a campaign focusing on renewable energy.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:28:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 94305 at http://wamc.org Catskills Group Launches Renewable Energy Campaign Online Forum On Energy And Environment Held In Plattsburgh http://wamc.org/post/forum-energy-and-environment-held-plattsburgh <p></p><p></p><p>People for Positive Action, an advocacy and environmental action group in Plattsburgh, hosted a “People’s Summit on Energy and the Environment” at SUNY Plattsburgh Tuesday evening. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89374 at http://wamc.org Forum On Energy And Environment Held In Plattsburgh Report: Clean Energy Initiatives Cutting Emissions Nationwide http://wamc.org/post/report-clean-energy-initiatives-cutting-emissions-nationwide <p>A recent report shows the United States has taken a chunk out of its carbon dioxide emissions over the past seven years as a result of actions and policies.</p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:44:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 86143 at http://wamc.org Report: Clean Energy Initiatives Cutting Emissions Nationwide More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On http://wamc.org/post/more-fracking-pro-and-con-battle-rages <p>The future of hydraulic fracturing has been in limbo since the New York state Department of Environmental Conservation began a review of the practice in 2008. Now, six public hearings are being held across New York to receive public comment on the draft State Energy Plan... one of them in Albany today.&nbsp; Environmental groups are also at the Capitol today calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to put renewable energy ahead of fossil fuels in his effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:08:11 +0000 Dave Lucas 84088 at http://wamc.org More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On Dominion Renewable Energy Facilities Open http://wamc.org/post/dominion-renewable-energy-facilities-open <p>RICHMOND, Va. (AP) — <a href="https://www.dom.com/index.jsp" target="_blank">Dominion Resources Inc.</a> is marking the beginning of commercial operations at two renewable energy facilities in Connecticut.</p><p>The Richmond, Va.-based energy company said operations have begun at its fuel <a href="https://www.dom.com/about/stations/fossil/dominion-bridgeport-fuel-cell.jsp" target="_blank">cell facility in Bridgeport, Conn.</a>, and <a href="https://www.dom.com/about/stations/renewable/solar/connecticut-solar-power-project.jsp" target="_blank">solar center in Somers, Conn</a>.</p> Sat, 28 Dec 2013 01:00:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 80760 at http://wamc.org Dominion Renewable Energy Facilities Open Renewable Energy Vermont and Member Businesses Call on State to Meet Interim Renewable Energy Goals http://wamc.org/post/renewable-energy-vermont-and-member-businesses-call-state-meet-interim-renewable-energy-goals <p></p><p></p><p>Renewable Energy Vermont has outlined a series of interim goals as the state moves to meet a 90 percent renewable goal by 2050. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76604 at http://wamc.org Renewable Energy Vermont and Member Businesses Call on State to Meet Interim Renewable Energy Goals Renewable Energy Vermont Hosts Annual Conference http://wamc.org/post/renewable-energy-vermont-hosts-annual-conference <p></p><p></p><p>Hundreds of people working in Vermont's renewable energy industry are meeting in South Burlington to help chart a path to the state’s long-term energy goal. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76513 at http://wamc.org Renewable Energy Vermont Hosts Annual Conference VT Wants to Get More Clean Energy into Power Grid http://wamc.org/post/vt-wants-get-more-clean-energy-power-grid <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says he's going to encourage his five New England counterparts to work with the company that manages the regional power grid to take better advantage of the fast expanding sources of clean electricity across the region. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 01:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76282 at http://wamc.org VT Wants to Get More Clean Energy into Power Grid Addressing Berkshires' Energy Costs http://wamc.org/post/addressing-berkshires-energy-costs <p>Businesses and individuals in Western Massachusetts are learning about a variety of options to address energy costs.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 16:44:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 76142 at http://wamc.org Addressing Berkshires' Energy Costs Northeast Environmental Groups Determine Highest Polluting Power Plants http://wamc.org/post/northeast-environmental-groups-determine-highest-polluting-power-plants <p>As the one-year anniversary of Superstorm Sandy approaches, environmental groups are looking at ways to prevent a similar weather event.</p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 17:48:16 +0000 Jim Levulis 73276 at http://wamc.org Northeast Environmental Groups Determine Highest Polluting Power Plants