Public Service Commission http://wamc.org en Report Highlights Alternatives To Proposed Water Supply Project in Rockland http://wamc.org/post/report-highlights-alternatives-proposed-water-supply-project-rockland <p>A report compiled for an opponent of a proposed water supply project in Rockland County, New York says a serious look at alternatives has been missing in the debate. The report’s author says a viable alternative to the more than $120 million project can be brought to the table.</p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 17:46:20 +0000 Allison Dunne 74333 at http://wamc.org Report Highlights Alternatives To Proposed Water Supply Project in Rockland PSC Sets New Dates For United Water Public Hearings http://wamc.org/post/psc-sets-new-dates-united-water-public-hearings <p>After many calls to reschedule public hearings regarding Rockland County’s controversial water plans, New York’s Public Service Commission has come up with new dates.</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 11:21:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 71951 at http://wamc.org PSC Sets New Dates For United Water Public Hearings PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents http://wamc.org/post/psc-staff-responds-rehearing-request-utility-merger-opponents <p>Staff of the New York State Public Service Commission has weighed in on whether the PSC should reconsider its approval of a utility merger in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 01:14:52 +0000 Allison Dunne 71551 at http://wamc.org PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger http://wamc.org/post/execs-respond-schumer-re-proposed-utility-merger <p></p><p>Several elected officials have raised concerns over the past few months about a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley. Among them is U.S. Senator Charles Schumer.&nbsp; And now top executives of the two companies have responded.</p> Thu, 16 May 2013 23:59:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 64881 at http://wamc.org Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger PSC Adds Hearings, Comment Time For Proposed Utility Merger http://wamc.org/post/psc-adds-hearings-comment-time-proposed-utility-merger <p>The New York State Public Service Commission is extending the comment period for a proposed utility merger after some area residents and lawmakers requested the extension.</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 22:45:38 +0000 Allison Dunne 61391 at http://wamc.org PSC Adds Hearings, Comment Time For Proposed Utility Merger A Group of Residents Raises Concerns About Proposed Central Hudson-Fortis Merger http://wamc.org/post/group-residents-raises-concerns-about-proposed-central-hudson-fortis-merger <p>The New York State Public Service Commission is reviewing the proposed merger of Poughkeepsie-based CH Energy Group -the parent company of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation - and Canadian utility company Fortis, Inc. &nbsp;A public comment period will close at the end of the month, and at least one group of residents from Ulster County has written with its concerns.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 19:36:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 59149 at http://wamc.org A Group of Residents Raises Concerns About Proposed Central Hudson-Fortis Merger PSC Approves Construction of Power Plant in Dutchess http://wamc.org/post/psc-approves-construction-power-plant-dutchess <p>The New York State Public Service Commission has approved the construction of a large power plant in Dutchess County. &nbsp;It was the last of the major approvals needed, though there are still some issues on the local level to work out before the shovels can hit the ground.</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 23:48:27 +0000 Allison Dunne 57882 at http://wamc.org Con Ed Asks for Rate Hike http://wamc.org/post/con-ed-asks-rate-hike <p>Con Edison says it wants to collect just under $400 million in rate increases next year. Con Ed officials say some of the extra funds from ratepayers in New York City and Westchester County would go toward long-term protection against disasters like Superstorm Sandy.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 26 Jan 2013 14:45:56 +0000 Allison Dunne 56583 at http://wamc.org Con Ed Asks for Rate Hike