New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli http://wamc.org en NYS Comptroller Issues Albany City Financial Report http://wamc.org/post/nys-comptroller-issues-albany-city-financial-report <p></p><div>&nbsp;&nbsp;State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli released a report concerning the financial condition of the City of Albany.&nbsp;</div><div><p>The report shows - that Albany has a high level of poverty - and unable to collect taxes on 59 percent of the properties which are tax-exempt, plus 17 percent of other city properties that are vacant. &nbsp;Mayor Kathy Sheehan warns Albany faces a $16 million budget shortfall this year</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 91885 at http://wamc.org NYS Comptroller Issues Albany City Financial Report Two NY Resolutions Are On Entergy's Meeting Agenda http://wamc.org/post/two-ny-resolutions-are-entergys-meeting-agenda <p></p><p>Two resolutions concerning the Indian Point nuclear power plant are on the agenda of Entergy’s annual shareholder meeting Friday. One is from the New York State comptroller, the other from an Ulster County resident.</p> Thu, 01 May 2014 17:47:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 89479 at http://wamc.org Two NY Resolutions Are On Entergy's Meeting Agenda Report: NY In Best Financial Condition In Years http://wamc.org/post/report-ny-best-financial-condition-years <p>New York's comptroller says the state is in a favorable financial position, but relies heavily on borrowing and temporary resources.</p><p>Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli released a report Monday showing the fiscal year-end general fund balance of $2.2 billion was $432 million more than projected in February and the state put money in a "rainy day fund" for the first time since 2008.</p><p>DiNapoli says the new budget relies on $4.9 billion in temporary state resources and $2.7 billion in federal aid related to Superstorm Sandy and the Affordable Care Act.</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:31:57 +0000 Dave Lucas 88683 at http://wamc.org Report: NY In Best Financial Condition In Years NYS Public Campaign Financing Effort Limited To Comptroller http://wamc.org/post/nys-public-campaign-financing-effort-limited-comptroller <p>Governor Andrew Cuomo and New York lawmakers are being criticized by good-government advocates for a budget agreement that tests public campaign financing only with the state comptroller’s race, and only for one year.</p><p></p><p>"The comptroller-only plan that was passed late last night is really very flawed."&nbsp; Common Cause New York Executive Director Susan Lerner says it's back to business as usual with the governor's blessing.</p><p>The $140 billion spending plan signed Tuesday morning includes testing public campaign finance in the state comptroller race this year.</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 16:44:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 87173 at http://wamc.org NYS Public Campaign Financing Effort Limited To Comptroller Proposal In NY State Budget Tests Public Financing http://wamc.org/post/proposal-ny-state-budget-tests-public-financing <p>Good-government advocates are criticizing New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders for a budget agreement to test public campaign financing with the state comptroller race this year. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 12:38:32 +0000 Patrick Garrett 87055 at http://wamc.org New Yorkers Call On Comptroller DiNapoli To Divest State From Fossil Fuels http://wamc.org/post/new-yorkers-call-comptroller-dinapoli-divest-state-fossil-fuels <p>Thursday afternoon, more than 100 New Yorkers, led by a coalition of environmental activist groups, delivered 11,000 signatures on a petition to the Comptroller’s office in Manhattan, urging Thomas DiNapoli to overhaul pension fund investments.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86941 at http://wamc.org New Yorkers Call On Comptroller DiNapoli To Divest State From Fossil Fuels Troy Housing Authority Employees Guilty http://wamc.org/post/troy-housing-authority-employees-guilty <p></p><p></p><p>New York State officials have announced guilty pleas by former Troy Housing authority employees.</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:54:14 +0000 Dave Lucas 86046 at http://wamc.org Troy Housing Authority Employees Guilty Comptroller: NY Sales Tax Collections Up 5% http://wamc.org/post/comptroller-ny-sales-tax-collections-5 <p>New York state's comptroller reports local sales tax collections statewide rose $739 million or 5.2 percent last year, exceeding the 3.3 percent increase in 2012.</p><p>In the annual report released Thursday, state tax data from all 62 counties show New York City was responsible for much of the gain, with sales taxes up $406 million or 6.8 percent.</p><p>Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli says that's partly due to rebuilding after Hurricane Sandy, though collections from retail sales have rebounded significantly in the city since the recession, up almost 38 percent since 2009.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:32:06 +0000 Dave Lucas 84805 at http://wamc.org Comptroller: NY Sales Tax Collections Up 5% NYS Audit Uncovers Alleged Misuse Of Funds In A Dutchess Town http://wamc.org/post/nys-audit-uncovers-alleged-misuse-funds-dutchess-town <p>An audit from the New York State comptroller’s office finds alleged misuse of funds in a Dutchess County town.</p> Sun, 23 Feb 2014 16:48:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 84458 at http://wamc.org NYS Audit Uncovers Alleged Misuse Of Funds In A Dutchess Town Village Misses Comptroller's Deadline http://wamc.org/post/village-misses-comptrollers-deadline <p></p><p><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">An upstate village may have put itself in line for an audit from the State Comptroller.</span></p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 14:15:17 +0000 Dave Lucas 84236 at http://wamc.org Village Misses Comptroller's Deadline