U.S. Department of Agriculture http://wamc.org en New York No. 2 In US For Maple Syrup Production http://wamc.org/post/new-york-no-2-us-maple-syrup-production <p></p><p></p><p>New York State has edged out Maine to keep its spot as the nation's second biggest producer of maple syrup. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 13:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 93662 at http://wamc.org New York No. 2 In US For Maple Syrup Production U.S. Agriculture Census Shows More Farms In New England http://wamc.org/post/us-agriculture-census-shows-more-farms-new-england <p></p><p></p><p>The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued its preliminary 2012 census of U.S. agriculture. Taken every five years, the census released Thursday indicates that there are more farms in New England. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84350 at http://wamc.org U.S. Agriculture Census Shows More Farms In New England Report Spells Out Importance of Passing Farm Bill http://wamc.org/post/report-spells-out-importance-passing-farm-bill <p></p><p></p><p>The White House Rural Council has released a report that outlines the need for Congressional passage of the Farm Bill. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 78400 at http://wamc.org Report Spells Out Importance of Passing Farm Bill Orange County Receives Farm-To-School Grant http://wamc.org/post/orange-county-receives-farm-school-grant <p>A New York congressman and a county executive say federal money will help schools purchase local produce.</p> Fri, 22 Nov 2013 05:45:23 +0000 Allison Dunne 78338 at http://wamc.org Orange County Receives Farm-To-School Grant Leahy Aide Brady Gets USDA Job for VT and NH http://wamc.org/post/leahy-aide-brady-gets-usda-job-vt-and-nh <p></p><p></p><p>An aide to Vermont Senator Patrick Leahy is getting a new job. Sat, 07 Sep 2013 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 73079 at http://wamc.org Leahy Aide Brady Gets USDA Job for VT and NH U.S. Maple Syrup Production Hits Record High http://wamc.org/post/us-maple-syrup-production-hits-record-high <p></p><p></p><p>U.S. maple syrup production soared to a record 3.2 million gallons this year, boosted by good weather and a high number of syrup taps in use. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 02:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 66865 at http://wamc.org U.S. Maple Syrup Production Hits Record High Vermont Town Getting $7.6m for Wastewater Treatment http://wamc.org/post/vermont-town-getting-76m-wastewater-treatment <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont town of Randolph is getting $7.6 million for a new wastewater treatment plant. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 02:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62945 at http://wamc.org Vermont Town Getting $7.6m for Wastewater Treatment USDA Restores Monthly Milk Reports in Limited Form http://wamc.org/post/usda-restores-monthly-milk-reports-limited-form <p></p><p></p><p>The U.S. Department of Agriculture's statistical arm has reversed a plan to eliminate some monthly reports that dairy farmers and milk processors say are important to their business. Fri, 05 Apr 2013 21:07:30 +0000 Pat Bradley 61583 at http://wamc.org USDA Restores Monthly Milk Reports in Limited Form Senator to seek funding for local hops-growing http://wamc.org/post/senator-seek-funding-local-hops-growing <p>LAGRANGEVILLE – Standing outside one of the hops drying houses at Eastern View Farms &amp; Dutchess Hops in Lagrangeville on Monday, US Senator Charles Schumer pledged to work with the US Small Business Administration and Department of Agriculture to get funding for local farmers to grow hops and buy equipment.</p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Hank Gross 60697 at http://wamc.org Senator to seek funding for local hops-growing Feds: Mixed report for 2012 NY berry harvests http://wamc.org/post/feds-mixed-report-2012-ny-berry-harvests <p>ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — Federal agriculture officials say New York's strawberry crop took a hit last year, but blueberry production was up.</p><p></p><p>The U.S. Department of Agriculture says strawberry production dropped to 3.2 million pounds, down 11 percent from 2011. Many farms reported shortened seasons because of a snap of cold weather that generally hit early crops around the state.</p><p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 04:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 56782 at http://wamc.org Feds: Mixed report for 2012 NY berry harvests