NY SAFE Act http://wamc.org en Gun Control Groups Call For NY Firearm Storage Law http://wamc.org/post/gun-control-groups-call-ny-firearm-storage-law <p></p><p>Buoyed by last year's passage of tougher gun laws, New Yorkers Against Gun Violence is urging New York lawmakers to go further by requiring firearm owners to securely store their weapons.</p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:53:27 +0000 Dave Lucas 89311 at http://wamc.org Gun Control Groups Call For NY Firearm Storage Law WAMC's David Guistina Chats With Mike Spain http://wamc.org/post/wamcs-david-guistina-chats-mike-spain-5 <p></p><p></p><p>WAMC's David Guistina talks with Mike Spain about the New York SAFE Act and increased extreme weather in Upstate New York. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:49:47 +0000 David Guistina & Mike Spain 88205 at http://wamc.org WAMC's David Guistina Chats With Mike Spain Morning Headlines With Judy Patrick Of The Daily Gazette http://wamc.org/post/morning-headlines-judy-patrick-daily-gazette-73 <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>WAMC's David Guistina talks with Judy Patrick about the SAFE Act and an oak wilt fungus affecting Glenville trees. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 10:50:37 +0000 David Guistina & Judy Patrick 87238 at http://wamc.org Morning Headlines With Judy Patrick Of The Daily Gazette NY Gun-Rights Protestors Burn Registration Forms http://wamc.org/post/ny-gun-rights-protestors-burn-registration-forms <p>Protesters at a gun-rights rally in New York have burned assault weapons registration forms to protest the state's 2013 gun law. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 12:38:32 +0000 Patrick Garrett 85992 at http://wamc.org Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database http://wamc.org/post/newspaper-chain-considers-rejects-building-gun-owner-database <p></p><p>The publisher of a major newspaper chain has thrown cold water on a report that it was considering building state-by-state databases of people who have the right to carry concealed firearms.</p> Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:01:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 82569 at http://wamc.org Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database Saratoga County Officials Seeking Distance From Aspects Of SAFE Act http://wamc.org/post/saratoga-county-officials-seeking-distance-aspects-safe-act <p>Local leaders in Saratoga County are taking steps to distance the county from provisions under New York’s SAFE Act, one year after its enactment.</p><p>This week, Saratoga County Board of Supervisors’ Law and Finance committee advanced a measure proposed by County Clerk Craig Hayner and Sheriff Michael Zurlo to remove the Saratoga County seal from state-issued letters to county residents requesting pistol permit renewals.</p><p>Under the SAFE Act, in March, the state will be sending out 3,000 recertification letters to permit holders in Saratoga County.</p><p></p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 21:37:05 +0000 Lucas Willard 82099 at http://wamc.org Saratoga County Officials Seeking Distance From Aspects Of SAFE Act New Group Takes Aim At Pro-Gun Law Pols http://wamc.org/post/new-group-takes-aim-pro-gun-law-pols <p></p><p>A coalition of gun rights advocates and others are forming a new political movement, to get what they say are disaffected and disenfranchised New Yorkers to vote. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 16:15:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 68971 at http://wamc.org New Group Takes Aim At Pro-Gun Law Pols Senate Committee Seeks Input On Aspect Of NY's Gun Law http://wamc.org/post/senate-committee-seeks-input-aspect-nys-gun-law <p>Members of a New York State Senate committee are holding a hearing Friday afternoon with mental health professionals to solicit input on administering the SAFE Act, the state’s new gun-control law.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 15:33:32 +0000 Allison Dunne 66019 at http://wamc.org Man Busted For Gun With Nine-Bullet Clip http://wamc.org/post/man-busted-gun-nine-bullet-clip <p>NEW LEBANON – State Police have arrested a Hopewell Junction man for possessing a legally possessed handgun, but with a clip containing nine bullets. The new state SAFE Act limits the amount of rounds in a clip to seven.</p><p>As a result, Gregory Dean Jr., 31, has been charged with unlawful possession of certain ammunition feeding devices and aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, both of which are misdemeanors. He was also charged with a traffic infraction and issued appearance tickets.</p> Tue, 14 May 2013 12:10:02 +0000 Hank Gross 64610 at http://wamc.org Man Busted For Gun With Nine-Bullet Clip Anti-Gun Group In Saratoga Demands Proof Of Insurance http://wamc.org/post/anti-gun-group-saratoga-demands-proof-insurance <p></p><p>Citizens turned up the heat Wednesday on Saratoga Springs City Center, pressing officials to prove that the group holding gun shows there is properly insured.</p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:55:05 +0000 Dave Lucas 62596 at http://wamc.org Anti-Gun Group In Saratoga Demands Proof Of Insurance