Vermont budget http://wamc.org en National Economy Cited In Smaller Revenue Forecast http://wamc.org/post/national-economy-cited-smaller-revenue-forecast <p></p><p></p><p>Two economists advising Governor Peter Shumlin and Vermont lawmakers say a national economic downturn in the first quarter of this year is likely to blame for softer-than-expected state revenues. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 02:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95641 at http://wamc.org National Economy Cited In Smaller Revenue Forecast Vermont Senate Considers $1.4 Billion Budget http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-considers-14-billion-budget <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Senate is debating a $1.44 billion general fund budget, with increases for Medicaid providers, health care for retired teachers and affordable housing. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89226 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Considers $1.4 Billion Budget VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-rejects-higher-taxes-rich <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has rejected raising income tax rates on top earners so the state can make up for cuts in federal support for food stamps. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86873 at http://wamc.org VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich Public Hearing On Shumlin Budget Lightly Attended http://wamc.org/post/public-hearing-shumlin-budget-lightly-attended <p></p><p></p><p>A statewide public hearing last night on Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin’s proposed 2015 budget drew few people, but those who testified made it clear that social services must be protected. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83632 at http://wamc.org Public Hearing On Shumlin Budget Lightly Attended Vermont Governor Presents Budget Proposal http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-presents-budget-proposal <p></p><p></p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81975 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Presents Budget Proposal VT Governor's Proposed '15 Budget Up 3.5 Percent http://wamc.org/post/vt-governors-proposed-15-budget-35-percent <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says he wants to increase state spending by almost 3.56 percent in the next fiscal year. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 03:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81932 at http://wamc.org VT Governor's Proposed '15 Budget Up 3.5 Percent Vermont Looking at State Employee Travel Budgets http://wamc.org/post/vermont-looking-state-employee-travel-budgets <p></p><p></p><p>State officials in Vermont are taking a closer look at employees' travel budgets. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71278 at http://wamc.org Vermont Looking at State Employee Travel Budgets Shumlin Wants to Tax Break-Open Tickets http://wamc.org/post/shumlin-wants-tax-break-open-tickets <p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin outlined a budget plan of nearly $1.4 billion in his annual budget address to lawmakers Thursday afternoon.<br><br>Vermont’s Governor focused his fiscal plan on five areas that he said need targeted&nbsp; investment: Education, Welfare reform, Health Care, Transportation funding and clean energy investments. Fri, 25 Jan 2013 07:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56461 at http://wamc.org Shumlin Wants to Tax Break-Open Tickets Vermont Governor Outlines Budget Proposal http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-outlines-budget-proposal <p></p><p></p><p>One week later than originally planned, Vermont’s Governor outlined the state’s 2014 spending plan Thursday in his annual budget address<br><br>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin focused his fiscal plan on five areas that he said need bold transformation and targeted&nbsp; investment. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56464 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Outlines Budget Proposal Vermont Revenue Forecast Downgraded Slightly http://wamc.org/post/vermont-revenue-forecast-downgraded-slightly <p></p><p></p><p>The still sluggish economic recovery will mean Vermont will collect about $20 million less in revenue for three key state budget funds than had earlier been anticipated.<br><br>That was the word from consulting economists Jeff Carr and Tom Kavet, who met with a special state panel that reviews the state's finances twice a year. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 03:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56360 at http://wamc.org Vermont Revenue Forecast Downgraded Slightly