New York State Senator Greg Ball http://wamc.org en NYS Republican Senator Kicks Off Candidate Forums In 41st District http://wamc.org/post/nys-republican-senator-kicks-candidate-forums-41st-district <p>A Republican New York state senator is working to ensure that his neighboring district returns to GOP hands in November.</p><p>Republican Greg Ball is the state Senate Republican Committee co-chairman, and is hosting a series of forums aimed at unseating the Democratic senator in the 41<sup>st</sup> District – freshman Terry Gipson. He held the first forum Wednesday night in Putnam County.</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 18:38:08 +0000 Allison Dunne 79229 at http://wamc.org NYS Republican Senator Kicks Off Candidate Forums In 41st District NYS Assemblyman Calls For Independent Investigation In Putnam Case http://wamc.org/post/nys-assemblyman-calls-independent-investigation-putnam-case <p>A New York State assemblyman is calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to launch an independent investigation into allegations that the Putnam County district attorney has remained involved in a case from which he recused himself.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 02:05:17 +0000 Allison Dunne 77751 at http://wamc.org NYS Assemblyman Calls For Independent Investigation In Putnam Case NYS Senator Urges Governor To Sign Bill To Include 9/11 Firefighters' Kids http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-urges-governor-sign-bill-include-911-firefighters-kids <p>A New York state senator from the Hudson Valley is calling on the governor to sign legislation concerning the children of 9/11 firefighters.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Republican state Senator Greg Ball is urging Governor Andrew Cuomo to sign a bill into law that he says would help children of firefighters who died as a result of illnesses from response to and recovery efforts from the September 11th terrorist attacks.</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 01:36:19 +0000 Allison Dunne 73411 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Urges Governor To Sign Bill To Include 9/11 Firefighters' Kids NYS Senator Holds Unfunded Mandates Roundtable http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-holds-unfunded-mandates-roundtable <p>A New York state senator from the Hudson Valley is holding a roundtable&nbsp; Saturday on unfunded mandates.</p> Sat, 07 Sep 2013 15:22:41 +0000 Allison Dunne 73104 at http://wamc.org NY Has A New Fireworks Permitting Law http://wamc.org/post/ny-has-new-fireworks-permitting-law <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has signed legislation to enhance firework safety on state property.</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 04:00:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 69776 at http://wamc.org NY Has A New Fireworks Permitting Law 4/25/13 - Panel http://wamc.org/post/42513-panel <p>Today's panelists are WAMC's Ray Graf and Times-Union Capital reporter, Jimmy Vielkind. Joe Donahue moderates.</p><p>Topics include:<br>Election finance reform<br>Senator Greg Ball on torture<br>Mixed Martial Arts</p><p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 63083 at http://wamc.org State Senator Defends Tweet, Calls For Death Penalty for Cop Killers http://wamc.org/post/state-senator-defends-tweet-calls-death-penalty-cop-killers <p>Following the Boston Marathon bombings, a New York state Senator is renewing his call for the death penalty. He also says he’s not opposed to torture, under certain circumstances, and is standing by a tweet that made national headlines.</p><p>Following the capture of Boston Marathon bomber suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, Republican state Senator from the Hudson Valley Greg Ball tweeted Friday night, quote “So, scumbag #2 in custody. Who wouldn’t use torture on this punk to save more lives?”</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 23:37:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 62958 at http://wamc.org State Senator Defends Tweet, Calls For Death Penalty for Cop Killers Forum in Putnam County Addresses School Safety http://wamc.org/post/forum-putnam-county-addresses-school-safety <p>A New York State Senator from the Hudson Valley is holding a roundtable later this morning on school safety. He is hosting the forum with a county sheriff.</p> Sat, 20 Apr 2013 14:04:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 62712 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Praises Veterans' Cemetery Bill http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-praises-veterans-cemetery-bill <p>A New York State Senator from the Hudson Valley says the 2013-2014 budget headed for Governor Andrew Cuomo’s signature, creates a first-of-its-kind program in the state.</p> Sun, 31 Mar 2013 17:28:12 +0000 Allison Dunne 61115 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Praises Veterans' Cemetery Bill NYS Senator Supports Public-Private Partnership for Tappan Zee Financing http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-supports-public-private-partnership-tappan-zee-financing <p>A New York State Senator is urging his colleagues in the legislature to pass a bill that he says could help finance part of the construction of the replacement Tappan Zee Bridge.</p><p>Republican Senator Greg Ball, knowing that more funding is needed to build a replacement Tappan Zee Bridge, says he wants legislators to pass a public-private partnership, or P3, bill.</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 23:18:48 +0000 Allison Dunne 59720 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Supports Public-Private Partnership for Tappan Zee Financing