Vermont Legislature http://wamc.org en Vermont House Passes GMO Labeling Bill http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-passes-gmo-labeling-bill <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has taken a final, and resounding, vote to pass a bill that's likely to make Vermont the first state with a labeling requirement for genetically modified foods. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88888 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Passes GMO Labeling Bill Vermont Bill Sets Up Legal Defense Fund On GMOs http://wamc.org/post/vermont-bill-sets-legal-defense-fund-gmos <p></p><p></p><p>A Vermont House committee appears comfortable with Senate changes to a bill to require labeling of genetically engineered foods. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88781 at http://wamc.org Vermont Bill Sets Up Legal Defense Fund On GMOs Health Care Memo Stirs Critique http://wamc.org/post/health-care-memo-stirs-critique <p></p><p></p><p>As Vermont moves toward a single-payer health care system, legislators must consider numerous infrastructure and fiscal changes. This week, a memo from one of the legislature’s consultants outlining suggestions to retool the health system revamp emerged. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88493 at http://wamc.org Health Care Memo Stirs Critique Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-committee-hears-challenge-opiate-treatment <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont lawmakers are learning of the challenges of meeting the needs of people in the state who are addicted to heroin and other drugs. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88437 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment Minimum Wage Increase Moves To Vermont Senate http://wamc.org/post/minimum-wage-increase-moves-vermont-senate <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House on Wednesday gave final approval to an increase in the state’s minimum wage to $10.10 per hour from the current $8.73, to take effect in January. But Governor Peter Shumlin prefers moving to $10.10 in stages by 2017. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87893 at http://wamc.org Minimum Wage Increase Moves To Vermont Senate Vermont House Approves January Minimum Wage Increase http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-approves-january-minimum-wage-increase <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House passed a bill Wednesday afternoon&nbsp; that would make the state the first in the country to cross the $10 mark in its minimum wage. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87836 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Approves January Minimum Wage Increase Shumlin Appoints Walz New Vermont House Member http://wamc.org/post/shumlin-appoints-walz-new-vermont-house-member <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Peter Shumlin has appointed Tommy Walz of Barre to fill the Vermont House seat left vacant by the recent resignation of Representative Tess Taylor. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87625 at http://wamc.org Shumlin Appoints Walz New Vermont House Member Vermont House Passes School Tax Increases http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-passes-school-tax-increases <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont House members are expressing relief that they've been able to reduce increases in statewide school property taxes from what had been projected earlier. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87498 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Passes School Tax Increases Vermont Legislators Consider Timeline For Possible Minimum Wage Increase http://wamc.org/post/vermont-legislators-consider-timeline-possible-minimum-wage-increase <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont lawmakers are considering a bill that would raise the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour. But there’s debate over the timeframe for such an increase. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87497 at http://wamc.org Vermont Legislators Consider Timeline For Possible Minimum Wage Increase VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-rejects-higher-taxes-rich <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has rejected raising income tax rates on top earners so the state can make up for cuts in federal support for food stamps. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86873 at http://wamc.org VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich