housatonic river http://wamc.org en EPA Extends Comment Period For Housatonic Cleanup http://wamc.org/post/epa-extends-comment-period-housatonic-cleanup <p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has formally extended the public comment period for its cleanup plan of the Housatonic River. General Electric released PCBs into the waterway until the substance was banned in the 1970s.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 22:30:53 +0000 Jim Levulis 94582 at http://wamc.org EPA Extends Comment Period For Housatonic Cleanup Berkshires Weigh In On U.S. EPA's Cleanup Plan For Housatonic http://wamc.org/post/berkshires-weigh-us-epas-cleanup-plan-housatonic <p>More than 100 people turned out for a public meeting in Lenox, Massachusetts Wednesday night to hear the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s proposal to clean the Housatonic River from Pittsfield to the Long Island Sound.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 16:15:19 +0000 Jim Levulis 92971 at http://wamc.org Berkshires Weigh In On U.S. EPA's Cleanup Plan For Housatonic Public Meeting Will Detail Housatonic River Cleanup Plan http://wamc.org/post/public-meeting-will-detail-housatonic-river-cleanup-plan <p>An informational public meeting detailing the U.S. EPA’s proposal to clean the Housatonic River will be held in Lenox tonight.</p><p><a href="http://wamc.org/post/us-epa-unveils-housatonic-river-cleanup-proposal" target="_blank">The 13-year, $613 million Rest of the River plan</a> would involve active corrective measures along 10-and-a half miles of the river from Pittsfield to Lenox.</p><p>General Electric would pay for the project as its Pittsfield plant released PCBs, or polychlorinated biphenyls, into the waterway from the 1930s until the substance was banned in 1977.</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:24:30 +0000 Jim Levulis 92854 at http://wamc.org Public Meeting Will Detail Housatonic River Cleanup Plan EPA Releases Housatonic River Cleanup Plan http://wamc.org/post/epa-releases-housatonic-river-cleanup-plan <p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has released a plan to clean the Housatonic River stretching from Pittsfield, Massachusetts to the Long Island Sound.</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 16:24:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 91882 at http://wamc.org EPA Releases Housatonic River Cleanup Plan U.S. EPA Unveils Housatonic River Cleanup Proposal http://wamc.org/post/us-epa-unveils-housatonic-river-cleanup-proposal <p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has released a plan to clean the Housatonic River stretching from Pittsfield, Massachusetts to the Long Island Sound. The plan proposes the removal and capping of contaminated sediment.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 23:29:45 +0000 Jim Levulis 91883 at http://wamc.org U.S. EPA Unveils Housatonic River Cleanup Proposal Pittsfield's Silver Lake Open For Recreation http://wamc.org/post/pittsfields-silver-lake-open-recreation <p>The city of Pittsfield recently recognized the revitalization of Silver Lake.</p> Wed, 28 May 2014 16:20:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 91430 at http://wamc.org Pittsfield's Silver Lake Open For Recreation Brook Flowing Freely For First Time In More Than 80 Years http://wamc.org/post/brook-flowing-freely-first-time-more-80-years <p>Environmentalists celebrated the removal of a dam on a wildlife sanctuary in Pittsfield on Thursday.</p><p>Water is flowing naturally in Sackett Brook for the first time in more than 80 years. In October, <a href="http://blogs.massaudubon.org/yourgreatoutdoors/a-stream-set-free/" target="_blank">a dam and a bridge were removed</a> from the 8.5-mile stream. Tom Lautzenheiser, a scientist with <a href="http://www.massaudubon.org/" target="_blank">Mass Audubon</a>, oversaw the four-year project.</p> Fri, 16 May 2014 16:40:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 90587 at http://wamc.org Brook Flowing Freely For First Time In More Than 80 Years Pittsfield Joins Rest of the River Cleanup Effort http://wamc.org/post/pittsfield-joins-rest-river-cleanup-effort <p>Pittsfield has formally joined five other Massachusetts communities in an effort to seek retribution and cleanup of the Housatonic River contaminated by harmful chemicals.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 19:45:40 +0000 Jim Levulis 76181 at http://wamc.org Pittsfield Joins Rest of the River Cleanup Effort Berkshire Communities Join In PCB Cleanup http://wamc.org/post/berkshire-communities-join-pcb-cleanup <p>Several Berkshire, Massachusetts County communities are banding together, figuring there's strength in numbers when it comes seeking financial compensation from General Electric during the PCB cleanup of the Housatonic River.</p><p>Lenox last week joined Lee, Stockbridge, Great Barrington and Sheffield to join the effort, and Pittsfield is expected to join Tuesday.</p><p>Nathaniel Karns, executive director of the Berkshire Regional Planning Commission, tells The Berkshire Eagle that together the communities can hire a law firm to negotiate with GE.</p> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 12:18:00 +0000 Jaired Crofut 76053 at http://wamc.org Berkshire Communities Join In PCB Cleanup Restoration of Bartholomew's Cobble Taking Root http://wamc.org/post/restoration-bartholomews-cobble-taking-root <p>The final steps in the active restoration of a floodplain in southern Berkshire County are taking root.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 17:04:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 72563 at http://wamc.org Restoration of Bartholomew's Cobble Taking Root