casino http://wamc.org en CT Casino Operator To File Applications For NY Casino Project http://wamc.org/post/ct-casino-operator-file-applications-ny-casino-project <p>The head of the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority says the operator of casinos in Connecticut and Pennsylvania will file applications for New York casino licenses in time for a looming deadline. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 11:36:41 +0000 Patrick Garrett 93749 at http://wamc.org CT Casino Operator To File Applications For NY Casino Project Former Mass. AG Harshbarger: Ruling Means Casinos Can Be Stopped http://wamc.org/post/former-mass-ag-harshbarger-ruling-means-casinos-can-be-stopped <p>Former Massachusetts Attorney General Scott Harshbarger has been providing free legal advice to those working to repeal the state's casino law. The State Supreme Judicial Court ruled on Tuesday that a ballot question to repeal the law can be placed on the statewide ballot on election day in November. Harshbarger says he was excited and satisfied by the courts decision to allow the vote.</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 16:49:27 +0000 Brian Shields 93430 at http://wamc.org Former Mass. AG Harshbarger: Ruling Means Casinos Can Be Stopped Nevele Plans Community Rally http://wamc.org/post/nevele-plans-community-rally <p></p><p>Elected officials in Ulster County along with area residents will partake in a rally Tuesday morning to celebrate the completion of an application for the county’s only proposed casino.</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 10:23:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93284 at http://wamc.org Nevele Plans Community Rally Local Officials Say Newburgh Is Ripe For A Casino http://wamc.org/post/local-officials-say-newburgh-ripe-casino <p></p><p>Two elected officials in Orange County have penned a letter to members of the New York State Gaming Facility Location Board, inviting them to tour an area they say needs a casino.</p><p>City of Newburgh Mayor Judy Kennedy acknowledged the Catskills’ need for a casino, but says:</p><p>“No one needs this more than the city of Newburgh.”</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:34:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93031 at http://wamc.org Local Officials Say Newburgh Is Ripe For A Casino Rensselaer Casino Proposal Moves Forward http://wamc.org/post/rensselaer-casino-proposal-moves-forward <p></p><p>Another casino unveiling is on tap for the Capital District.</p><p>The public will get a look at what developers envision for a casino that would be sited on 24 acres along the Hudson River in the city of Rensselaer - earlier this month the common council voted 6 to 1 approving the casino project, expected to include a hotel, gaming rooms and a parking garage.</p><p>Rochester developer David Flaum, Capital District OTB and the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma's Global Gaming Solutions have partnered under the moniker NYS Funding LLC.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:05:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 92958 at http://wamc.org Rensselaer Casino Proposal Moves Forward Amsterdam, East Greenbush Casino Projects Move Ahead http://wamc.org/post/amsterdam-east-greenbush-casino-projects-move-ahead <p>As some residents of one local community step up their resistance to a regional casino, people a few Thruway exits west are crossing their fingers that they could host a casino resort.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 92788 at http://wamc.org Amsterdam, East Greenbush Casino Projects Move Ahead Foxwoods Ditches Bid For Catskills Casino http://wamc.org/post/foxwoods-ditches-bid-catskills-casino <p></p><p>A second development group is dropping its proposal to build a casino in the Catskills, citing the possibility of a competing casino closer to New York City.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:25:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92755 at http://wamc.org Foxwoods Ditches Bid For Catskills Casino East Greenbush Board Supports Casino Plan http://wamc.org/post/east-greenbush-board-supports-casino-plan <p>Casinos top the list of issues that have been driving the area agenda. Governor Andrew Cuomo put the wheels in motion during his second State of the State address in 2012. "Let's amend the constitution. Let's do gaming right. Let's make it safe. Let's protect our people. Let's get the jobs back in New York."</p><p>The governor reasoned that building new gambling casinos would prop up New York's failing economy.&nbsp;&nbsp; In November 2013, Cuomo's proposition was approved by voters, and&nbsp; "casino chatter" has dominated the headlines ever since.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:49:05 +0000 Dave Lucas 92561 at http://wamc.org East Greenbush Board Supports Casino Plan Genting Adds Second Casino Bid In Orange County http://wamc.org/post/genting-adds-second-casino-bid-orange-county <p></p><p>A developer with one proposed resort casino for Orange County has unveiled a second.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 15:35:11 +0000 Allison Dunne 92549 at http://wamc.org Genting Adds Second Casino Bid In Orange County Nevele Team Unveils Design For Proposed Resort Casino http://wamc.org/post/nevele-team-unveils-design-proposed-resort-casino <p></p><p>The team behind the only proposed resort casino for Ulster County unveiled the design and other details Thursday, merging the old with the new.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 00:27:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92508 at http://wamc.org Nevele Team Unveils Design For Proposed Resort Casino