david soares http://wamc.org en Upstate DA Likes 'Free College For Convicts' http://wamc.org/post/upstate-da-likes-free-college-convicts <p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 19:59:13 +0000 Dave Lucas 84517 at http://wamc.org Upstate DA Likes 'Free College For Convicts' Upstate D.A. To Speak At International Conference http://wamc.org/post/upstate-da-speak-international-conference <p></p><p>The Albany County District Attorney has a speaking engagement this week... in Africa.</p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 18:24:02 +0000 Dave Lucas 81751 at http://wamc.org Upstate D.A. To Speak At International Conference Anti-Gun Violence Dialog Ratchets Up In Albany http://wamc.org/post/anti-gun-violence-dialog-ratchets-albany <p></p><p>December has been marred by episodes of gun violence in New York's capital city. Albany continues its struggle to "take back the streets" following a series of shootings including three gun-related murders since December 5th.</p><p>Despite leaders’ best efforts to get guns out of circulation, they continue to proliferate.</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:40:17 +0000 Dave Lucas 80660 at http://wamc.org Anti-Gun Violence Dialog Ratchets Up In Albany Press Conference Divides Community Leaders http://wamc.org/post/press-conference-divides-community-leaders <p></p><p>What was intended to be a press conference about a report on African Americans and community policing turned&nbsp;racially divisive as it morphed into a forum of heavy criticism of the Albany County District Attorney.</p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 20:59:49 +0000 Dave Lucas 73073 at http://wamc.org Press Conference Divides Community Leaders #Occupy Albany Hits The Courts Friday http://wamc.org/post/occupy-albany-hits-courts-friday <p><a href="http://wamc.org/post/occupy-albany">Occupy Albany</a> comes out of hibernation tomorrow - the group is urging citizens to “come out to show support at two separate hearings for activists who were arrested locally for engaging in civil disobedience in furtherance of social justice."</p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 19:46:29 +0000 Dave Lucas 68018 at http://wamc.org #Occupy Albany Hits The Courts Friday Blueprint Report Addresses NY Drug Policy http://wamc.org/post/blueprint-report-addresses-ny-drug-policy <p>A new report offers recommendations that its authors believe could make New York a national model by shifting drug policy from a criminalization-based to a public health-based approach.</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 16:10:32 +0000 Dave Lucas 62999 at http://wamc.org Blueprint Report Addresses NY Drug Policy David Soares critical of funding aspect of corruption reform plan http://wamc.org/post/david-soares-critical-funding-aspect-corruption-reform-plan <p>Following a pair of ethics scandals that have gripped Albany, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo is pushing his plans for ending government corruption. Part of Cuomo’s reform package includes ending the practice of cross-endorsing candidates, but Albany County District Attorney David Soares says passing laws without funding to fight corruption won’t work.</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:51:51 +0000 Jaired Crofut 62454 at http://wamc.org David Soares critical of funding aspect of corruption reform plan The Capitol Connection #1307 http://wamc.org/post/capitol-connection-1307 <p>Host Alan Chartock is joined by Albany County District Attorney David Soares, a Democrat now serving his third term. They discuss gun reforms, public corruption, and drugs.</p> Sat, 16 Feb 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 57860 at http://wamc.org The Capitol Connection #1307 Albany County D.A. Soares weighs in on guns, Mayor Jennings http://wamc.org/post/albany-county-da-soares-weighs-guns-mayor-jennings <p></p><p>Albany County District Attorney David Soares is the guest on WAMC's Capitol Connection program this week. He spoke with WAMC's Alan Chartock about several issues, including guns and the murky Albany mayoral race.</p><p>Soares says he supports firearm reforms that would require universal background checks and mandatory registration when large amounts of ammunition are purchased online. Soares, a Democrat recently reelected to a third term, says he believes the National Rifle Association is attempting to mislead the American people during a critical time in the national debate.</p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 21:26:05 +0000 Alan Chartock 57861 at http://wamc.org Albany County D.A. Soares weighs in on guns, Mayor Jennings