Rob Astorino http://wamc.org en Republican Gubernatorial Candidate Tours Northern Tier http://wamc.org/post/republican-gubernatorial-candidate-tours-northern-tier <p></p><p></p><p>Republican gubernatorial candidate Rob Astorino has been touring New York’s North Country. During a brief stop in Plattsburgh Tuesday, he met with Chamber of Commerce and economic development officials. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:35:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88312 at http://wamc.org Republican Gubernatorial Candidate Tours Northern Tier New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency http://wamc.org/post/new-teachers-union-president-wants-increase-unions-political-potency <p>There is a big change at New York State’s largest teachers union. Members of New York State United Teachers elected new leadership after months of unrest over the state’s flawed roll out of the new Common Core standards. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:50:31 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87640 at http://wamc.org New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency NY Gun-Rights Supporters Rally At The Capitol http://wamc.org/post/ny-gun-rights-supporters-rally-capitol <p>Thousands of gun rights supporters have rallied at the New York state Capitol against gun control measures championed by Governor Andrew Cuomo. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 12:03:04 +0000 Patrick Garrett 87249 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-leaders-admit-some-unfinished-budget-issues <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders are touting the virtues of the newly enacted state budget, but the spending plan has its share of critics. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:12:55 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87200 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues Rob Astorino's Children Will Opt Out Of Common Core http://wamc.org/post/rob-astorinos-children-will-opt-out-common-core <p></p><p></p><p>Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino says his three school-aged children won't be participating in new testing standards as part of the Common Core exams starting this week. The Republican candidate for governor of New York released a video statement on his website Monday explaining he made the decision along with his wife Sheila, a special education teacher.</p><p>Common Core is being implemented in schools across the country, but it has been heavily criticized by many parents and educators.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:29:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 87097 at http://wamc.org Rob Astorino's Children Will Opt Out Of Common Core Astorino Blasts NY Political Left To Evangelicals http://wamc.org/post/astorino-blasts-ny-political-left-evangelicals <p>New York Republican gubernatorial candidate Rob Astorino has told an evangelical audience that the political left wants to take away their freedoms. The Westchester County executive spoke Tuesday in Albany to a meeting of the New Yorker's Family Research Foundation.</p><p>Astorino has focused his campaign on economic issues, but told the evangelicals they must push back against the political left. He later cited the health care act's mandates on religious organizations as an example.</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:00:47 +0000 Dave Lucas 86142 at http://wamc.org Astorino Blasts NY Political Left To Evangelicals Astorino Enters The Race For NY Governor http://wamc.org/post/astorino-enters-race-ny-governor <div><p>ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — A top county official from New York City's northern suburbs is officially launching his uphill fight to unseat New York Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo.</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 16:34:07 +0000 Associated Press 85166 at http://wamc.org Astorino Enters The Race For NY Governor Astorino Expected To Announce Candidacy For Governor http://wamc.org/post/astorino-expected-announce-candidacy-governor <p>It’s expected that Republicans will have an announced candidate for governor as early as next week. Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino has formed an exploratory committee and has expressed interest in what most believe will be an uphill climb, against Governor Andrew Cuomo, who is seeking re-election. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 84899 at http://wamc.org Astorino Expected To Announce Candidacy For Governor Bill Clinton To Host A Fundraiser For A County Executive Candidate http://wamc.org/post/bill-clinton-host-fundraiser-county-executive-candidate <p>Former President Bill Clinton will host a fundraiser Monday evening for a county executive candidate in a New York county.</p> Mon, 21 Oct 2013 14:21:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 75971 at http://wamc.org Bill Clinton To Host A Fundraiser For A County Executive Candidate Former NYPD commissioner tells Westchester school, police officials improved collaboration is needed http://wamc.org/post/former-nypd-commissioner-tells-westchester-school-police-officials-improved-collaboration <p>WHITE PLAINS – Former New York City Police Commissioner William Bratton told some 300 people at a School Safety Symposium at Purchase College Wednesday parents, teachers, police, fire and other first responders need to work together to help stave off incidents of violence like the Newtown, CT tragedy.</p><p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 12:57:52 +0000 Hank Gross 58762 at http://wamc.org Former NYPD commissioner tells Westchester school, police officials improved collaboration is needed