U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand http://wamc.org en Albany Airport To Get Upgrade http://wamc.org/post/albany-airport-get-upgrade <p>Albany International Airport is receiving federal funding for an upgrade.</p><p>U.S. Senators Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand and Congressman Paul Tonko tuesday announced that Albany International Airport will receive nearly $4 Million dollars in funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation for vital airport upgrades.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:33:44 +0000 Dave Lucas 95463 at http://wamc.org Albany Airport To Get Upgrade TRANSFER Bill Aims To Boost Hi-Tech Upstate http://wamc.org/post/transfer-bill-aims-boost-hi-tech-upstate <p>U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand has hopped on the bandwagon to broaden New York’s mark on advanced technology. She appeared at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute this morning stumping for new legislation to cement high-tech innovation and industry in the Capital Region.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:16:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 95326 at http://wamc.org TRANSFER Bill Aims To Boost Hi-Tech Upstate Early Learning Programs In Orange County Receive Funding http://wamc.org/post/early-learning-programs-orange-county-receive-funding <p></p><p>More than $1 million in federal funding is early learning and head start programs in Orange County.</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:23:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93579 at http://wamc.org Early Learning Programs In Orange County Receive Funding Sullivan County Center Receives Grant For Rural Health Care http://wamc.org/post/sullivan-county-center-receives-grant-rural-health-care <p>A Hudson Valley-based provider of educational, health and residential services for children and adults with disabilities is on the receiving end of a federal grant to expand one of its services.</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 11:08:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 91591 at http://wamc.org Sullivan County Center Receives Grant For Rural Health Care Sen. Gillibrand Makes Renewed Push For Student Loan Refinancing http://wamc.org/post/sen-gillibrand-makes-renewed-push-student-loan-refinancing <p>With student loan debt sailing past the trillion-dollar mark, U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York is once again pitching a proposed law to let federal loan borrowers reduce their student debts by refinancing.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 19:39:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 90522 at http://wamc.org Sen. Gillibrand Makes Renewed Push For Student Loan Refinancing Gillibrand Wants To Keep Farm Offices Open http://wamc.org/post/gillibrand-wants-keep-farm-offices-open <p>New York Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand is asking the U.S. Department of Agriculture to keep open 250 offices nationwide that help farmers. Ten of those offices are in New York state. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 12:45:03 +0000 Patrick Garrett 85993 at http://wamc.org Prosecutor: Conservative Scholar Lied To Candidate http://wamc.org/post/prosecutor-conservative-scholar-lied-candidate <p></p><p>A prosecutor says a Republican U.S. Senate candidate from New York told investigators that a conservative scholar and author lied to her about the source of campaign donations.</p><p>Assistant U.S. Attorney Carrie Cohen made the disclosure Friday as Dinesh D'Souza pleaded not guilty to charges that he violated campaign finance laws. D'Souza is the creator of the documentary "2016: Obama's America."</p><p>He was released after his Manhattan court appearance on $500,000 bond. His travel is restricted to the United States.</p> Sat, 25 Jan 2014 17:40:52 +0000 Dave Lucas 82565 at http://wamc.org Prosecutor: Conservative Scholar Lied To Candidate Farley-Thorne Rematch Brewing http://wamc.org/post/farley-thorne-rematch-brewing <p></p><p>Republican New York State Senator Hugh Farley was challenged in 2012 by Democrat Madelyn Thorne. The veteran politician coasted to reelection. Now, Thorne is eyeing a rematch this November.</p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 23:31:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 81770 at http://wamc.org Farley-Thorne Rematch Brewing Gillibrand & Sheehan Unveil FAMILY Act http://wamc.org/post/gillibrand-sheehan-unveil-family-act <p></p><p>U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand and Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan Friday announced federal legislation that would create paid family and medical leave.</p><p>Mayor Sheehan welcomed US Senator Kirsten Gillibrand to city hall for the historic announcement.</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 81621 at http://wamc.org Gillibrand & Sheehan Unveil FAMILY Act Gillibrand, Gibson Push Farm Bill Provision http://wamc.org/post/gillibrand-gibson-push-farm-bill-provision <p>A U.S. Senator and Congressman, both from New York, will be in Sullivan County&nbsp;Friday afternoon to push for the passage of a Farm Bill that extends priority access to USDA funding. More from WAMC’s Allison Dunne.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 16:52:59 +0000 Allison Dunne 71065 at http://wamc.org Gillibrand, Gibson Push Farm Bill Provision