Congresswoman Nita Lowey http://wamc.org en HV Congresswoman Writes to IRS Chief About New NY Bridge Grants http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-writes-irs-chief-about-new-ny-bridge-grants <p></p><p>A New York congresswoman from the Hudson Valley has penned a letter to the IRS commissioner about noise reduction grants pertaining to the new Tappan Zee Bridge.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 95481 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Writes to IRS Chief About New NY Bridge Grants HV Congresswoman Denounces Violence Against Israel http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-denounces-violence-against-israel <p></p><p>New York Congresswoman Nita Lowey, the Israeli consul general in New York, and local Jewish organization leaders are denouncing the escalation of violence against Israel. This comes as media reports say Israel today shot down a Hamas drone.</p><p>Democratic Congresswoman Nita Lowey, the ranking member on the House Appropriations Committee, denounced rocket attacks against Israel as the clash between Israel and Palestinian militant group Hamas continues.</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 22:56:16 +0000 Allison Dunne 94850 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Denounces Violence Against Israel NY Congresswoman To Introduce Bill To Reduce Drunk Driving http://wamc.org/post/ny-congresswoman-introduce-bill-reduce-drunk-driving <p></p><p>A Hudson Valley congresswoman says she will introduce a bill next week that would use technology to keep drunk drivers off the road.</p><p>Nita Lowey, the ranking Democrat on the House Appropriations Committee, will introduce a bill next week when the House of Representatives reconvenes that would push states to require the use of ignition interlock devices for a minimum of six months for all convicted drunk driving offenders. States would face a reduction in federal transportation funding if they do not change their laws by October 1.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:41:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 94105 at http://wamc.org NY Congresswoman To Introduce Bill To Reduce Drunk Driving NIH Grant Awarded To NY Medical College For Lung Cancer Research http://wamc.org/post/nih-grant-awarded-ny-medical-college-lung-cancer-research <p></p><p>A medical college in Westchester County has received a grant to study lung cancer in relation to certain compounds.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92933 at http://wamc.org NIH Grant Awarded To NY Medical College For Lung Cancer Research HV Congresswoman Backs Amendment On Money In Politics http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-backs-amendment-money-politics <p></p><p></p><p>A Hudson Valley congresswoman has added her name to co-sponsors of a constitutional amendment to limit money in politics.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 91818 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Backs Amendment On Money In Politics HV Congresswoman Joins Westchester Officials in Combatting Heroin Use http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-joins-westchester-officials-combatting-heroin-use <p></p><p>A New York Congresswoman has announced she is joining the list of co-sponsors of a bill to combat heroin overdoses. Representative Nita Lowey was in Westchester County among local officials discussing ways to stem New York’s heroin epidemic.</p> Tue, 27 May 2014 23:21:04 +0000 Allison Dunne 91401 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Joins Westchester Officials in Combatting Heroin Use President Obama Points to NY Bridge Project As A Model http://wamc.org/post/president-obama-points-ny-bridge-project-model <p></p><p></p><p>President Barack Obama stood on the banks of the Hudson River Wednesday, with the Tappan Zee Bridge as a backdrop. He was in Tarrytown to push a $302 billion transportation plan, and shine a light on a replacement bridge project already under way.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:20:23 +0000 Allison Dunne 90516 at http://wamc.org President Obama Points to NY Bridge Project As A Model HV Congresswoman Weighs In On Obama Visit To Tappan Zee http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-weighs-obama-visit-tappan-zee <p></p><p>President Obama is scheduled to speak in the lower Hudson Valley Wednesday afternoon, in Westchester County. With the Tappan Zee Bridge as a backdrop, he is expected to highlight the need for investment in infrastructure.</p><p>The president will deliver his speech in Tarrytown. Congresswoman Nita Lowey, the senior Democrat on the House Appropriations Committee, expects Obama will reference the$1.6 billion low-interest loan U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx approved toward the end of last year for construction of the replacement bridge.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 12:39:09 +0000 Allison Dunne 90399 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Weighs In On Obama Visit To Tappan Zee NRC Sets Priority List For Detailing Seismic Risk http://wamc.org/post/nrc-sets-priority-list-detailing-seismic-risk <p></p><p>The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has issued a priority list for nuclear power plants when it comes to detailing earthquake risk. The NRC is requiring more analysis about seismic risk from a number of plants, including Indian Point.</p> Tue, 13 May 2014 17:12:34 +0000 Allison Dunne 90326 at http://wamc.org NRC Sets Priority List For Detailing Seismic Risk NY Congresswoman Calls For Pay Equality http://wamc.org/post/ny-congresswoman-calls-pay-equality <p></p><p>One day after Mother’s Day, a New York congresswoman from the Hudson Valley is calling for equal pay for women.</p><p>“When women succeed, America succeeds. When women succeed, America succeeds.”&nbsp;</p><p>Congresswoman Nita Lowey, the senior Democrat on the House Appropriations Committee, stood in her Rockland County district office flanked by local elected officials and business leaders to highlight the consequences of pay inequity.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 12 May 2014 22:49:05 +0000 Allison Dunne 90266 at http://wamc.org NY Congresswoman Calls For Pay Equality