Physician Assisted Suicide http://wamc.org en Conn. Poll Shows Support For Assisted Suicide http://wamc.org/post/conn-poll-shows-support-assisted-suicide <p>A poll indicates there's strong support in Connecticut for legislation that would allow doctors to prescribe medication to help terminally ill patients end their lives.</p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 20:23:35 +0000 Jim Levulis 85278 at http://wamc.org Conn. Poll Shows Support For Assisted Suicide Assisted Suicide Backers Appeal To Mass. Lawmakers http://wamc.org/post/assisted-suicide-backers-appeal-mass-lawmakers <p>Supporters of legislation that would allow terminally ill, mentally competent adults the right to self-administer life-ending drugs are making their case at the Statehouse.</p><p>Advocates say they plan to deliver almost 7,000 petitions signed by Massachusetts citizens in favor of the legislation to lawmakers Wednesday.</p><p>The legislation would require the terminally ill to fill out a form stating they understand that the drugs they are requesting from their doctors are intended to result in death.</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 13:45:40 +0000 Jaired Crofut 84660 at http://wamc.org Assisted Suicide Backers Appeal To Mass. Lawmakers Group Urging Repeal of Vermont’s End of Life Law http://wamc.org/post/group-urging-repeal-vermont-s-end-life-law <p></p><p></p><p>A group opposed to Vermont’s new End-of-Life-Choices law has begun running ads on local television stations urging its repeal. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71832 at http://wamc.org Group Urging Repeal of Vermont’s End of Life Law Vermont's Smallest Hospital Opts Out of Aid-in-Dying http://wamc.org/post/vermonts-smallest-hospital-opts-out-aid-dying <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont's smallest hospital has become the latest to opt out of the state's new aid-in-dying law, but hospital officials expect to revisit the issue soon. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67755 at http://wamc.org Vermont's Smallest Hospital Opts Out of Aid-in-Dying Vermont Governor Signs First Legislatively Approved Death With Dignity Law http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-signs-first-legislatively-approved-death-dignity-law <p></p><p></p><p>Supporters, and a few opponents, crowded into the Governor’s Ceremonial office on the second floor of the Vermont statehouse Monday afternoon to witness the signing of the landmark End-of-Life Choices bill into law. Tue, 21 May 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 65190 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Signs First Legislatively Approved Death With Dignity Law End of Life Choices Bill Signed by Vermont Governor http://wamc.org/post/end-life-choices-bill-signed-vermont-governor <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont’s Governor signed a bill Monday that will allow Vermont physicians to prescribe lethal doses of medication to terminally ill patients that request it. Mon, 20 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 65145 at http://wamc.org End of Life Choices Bill Signed by Vermont Governor Vermont Senate Gives Aid-in-Dying Backers a Scare http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-gives-aid-dying-backers-scare <p></p><p></p><p>The day after the Vermont Senate passed legislation allowing doctors to provide lethal medication to terminally ill patients who request it, legislators gave backers of the bill a scare. Fri, 10 May 2013 15:13:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64297 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Gives Aid-in-Dying Backers a Scare Vermont House Rejects Referendum on Aid in Dying http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-rejects-referendum-aid-dying <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has rejected an attempt to put before voters a referendum on whether to allow doctors to prescribe lethal medication to terminally ill patients who request it. Wed, 01 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 63639 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Rejects Referendum on Aid in Dying Physician-Assisted Death Bill Moves to Vermont House for Consideration http://wamc.org/post/physician-assisted-death-bill-moves-vermont-house-consideration <p></p><p></p><p>A Death with Dignity, or Physician-Assisted Suicide, bill has moved to the Vermont House for consideration. Among the tasks legislators must determine is which version of the measure to move forward. Fri, 12 Apr 2013 12:38:02 +0000 Pat Bradley 62045 at http://wamc.org Physician-Assisted Death Bill Moves to Vermont House for Consideration Vermont Assisted Death Bill Hits Bumps in Road http://wamc.org/post/vermont-assisted-death-bill-hits-bumps-road <p></p><p></p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 57762 at http://wamc.org Vermont Assisted Death Bill Hits Bumps in Road