Death With Dignity http://wamc.org en Quebec Adopts Right-To-Die Legislation http://wamc.org/post/quebec-adopts-right-die-legislation <p></p><p></p><p>Quebec has adopted a right to-die bill in what is the first legislation of its kind in Canada. The federal Canadian government, however, has said it could challenge its legality. Sun, 08 Jun 2014 17:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 92091 at http://wamc.org Quebec Adopts Right-To-Die Legislation Sean Philpott: Rage Against The Dying Of The Light http://wamc.org/post/sean-philpott-rage-against-dying-light <p>Until last week, most people had never heard of Lisa Bonchek Adams. A devoted wife and mother to three young children, Ms. Adams has been battling end-stage cancer for the last seven years.&nbsp; This 44-year-old Connecticut woman has chosen to fight her disease tooth and nail, including enrolling in a clinical trial at Memorial Sloan Kettering Hospital in New York City.</p><p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 17:50:00 +0000 Sean Philpott 81973 at http://wamc.org Group Urging Repeal of Vermont’s End of Life Law http://wamc.org/post/group-urging-repeal-vermont-s-end-life-law <p></p><p></p><p>A group opposed to Vermont’s new End-of-Life-Choices law has begun running ads on local television stations urging its repeal. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71832 at http://wamc.org Group Urging Repeal of Vermont’s End of Life Law Vermont's Smallest Hospital Opts Out of Aid-in-Dying http://wamc.org/post/vermonts-smallest-hospital-opts-out-aid-dying <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont's smallest hospital has become the latest to opt out of the state's new aid-in-dying law, but hospital officials expect to revisit the issue soon. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67755 at http://wamc.org Vermont's Smallest Hospital Opts Out of Aid-in-Dying Vermont Governor Signs First Legislatively Approved Death With Dignity Law http://wamc.org/post/vermont-governor-signs-first-legislatively-approved-death-dignity-law <p></p><p></p><p>Supporters, and a few opponents, crowded into the Governor’s Ceremonial office on the second floor of the Vermont statehouse Monday afternoon to witness the signing of the landmark End-of-Life Choices bill into law. Tue, 21 May 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 65190 at http://wamc.org Vermont Governor Signs First Legislatively Approved Death With Dignity Law End of Life Choices Bill Signed by Vermont Governor http://wamc.org/post/end-life-choices-bill-signed-vermont-governor <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont’s Governor signed a bill Monday that will allow Vermont physicians to prescribe lethal doses of medication to terminally ill patients that request it. Mon, 20 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 65145 at http://wamc.org End of Life Choices Bill Signed by Vermont Governor Vermont Senate Gives Aid-in-Dying Backers a Scare http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-gives-aid-dying-backers-scare <p></p><p></p><p>The day after the Vermont Senate passed legislation allowing doctors to provide lethal medication to terminally ill patients who request it, legislators gave backers of the bill a scare. Fri, 10 May 2013 15:13:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64297 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Gives Aid-in-Dying Backers a Scare Vermont Senate Compromise Likely on Aid-in-Dying http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-compromise-likely-aid-dying <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Senate is poised to debate a compromise proposal on aid-in-dying legislation that supporters are giving a strong chance of passage. Thu, 09 May 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64197 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Compromise Likely on Aid-in-Dying Vermont House Rejects Referendum on Aid in Dying http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-rejects-referendum-aid-dying <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has rejected an attempt to put before voters a referendum on whether to allow doctors to prescribe lethal medication to terminally ill patients who request it. Wed, 01 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 63639 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Rejects Referendum on Aid in Dying Physician-Assisted Death Bill Moves to Vermont House for Consideration http://wamc.org/post/physician-assisted-death-bill-moves-vermont-house-consideration <p></p><p></p><p>A Death with Dignity, or Physician-Assisted Suicide, bill has moved to the Vermont House for consideration. Among the tasks legislators must determine is which version of the measure to move forward. Fri, 12 Apr 2013 12:38:02 +0000 Pat Bradley 62045 at http://wamc.org Physician-Assisted Death Bill Moves to Vermont House for Consideration