hydrofracking http://wamc.org en Top New York Court Upholds "Home Rule" Fracking Decision http://wamc.org/post/top-new-york-court-upholds-home-rule-fracking-decision <p>New York's top court has ruled that local officials can approve zoning laws to ban hydraulic fracturing within their borders. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 14:40:15 +0000 Ian Pickus 93761 at http://wamc.org Top New York Court Upholds "Home Rule" Fracking Decision NY Awaits High Court Ruling On Local Fracking Bans http://wamc.org/post/ny-awaits-high-court-ruling-local-fracking-bans <p>As New York awaits a decision from the state’s highest court on whether communities have the right to use local zoning laws to ban the use of land for oil and gas activities, several local governments in many states are regulating hydraulic fracturing.&nbsp; Experts from affected states recently briefed reporters on the growing trend of community control over fracking.</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:21:56 +0000 Dave Lucas 93224 at http://wamc.org NY Awaits High Court Ruling On Local Fracking Bans Protesters Greet Obama, Cuomo In Cooperstown http://wamc.org/post/protesters-greet-obama-cuomo-cooperstown <p>Hours before President Obama spoke at the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown on Thursday, area residents lined up along Main Street to send their own message.</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 19:38:05 +0000 Lucas Willard 91166 at http://wamc.org Protesters Greet Obama, Cuomo In Cooperstown EPA Seeks Comment On Fracking Chemicals Disclosure http://wamc.org/post/epa-seeks-comment-fracking-chemicals-disclosure <p></p><p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is seeking public comment on ways to disclose information about the chemicals used in the oil and gas drilling process known as fracking.</p><p>The EPA says in a Friday release that it is also seeking input on incentives and programs that could help develop safer fracking chemicals.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 20:25:08 +0000 Dave Lucas 90103 at http://wamc.org EPA Seeks Comment On Fracking Chemicals Disclosure Owls Attend Earth Day In New York http://wamc.org/post/owls-attend-earth-day-new-york <p>Earth Day was celebrated at the New York State Capitol with&nbsp;a tribute to the late Pete Seeger, and a display of live owls. Mon, 05 May 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 89726 at http://wamc.org Owls Attend Earth Day In New York Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing http://wamc.org/post/documents-show-new-yorks-fracking-health-study-ongoing <p>Documents obtained by a group opposed to hydrofracking in New York show that the Cuomo Administration is conducting a thorough and comprehensive health study on the controversial natural gas drilling process. The Finger Lakes-based organization is wondering, why then, the review has been conducted almost entirely in secret. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88635 at http://wamc.org Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing Hayworth: Time To End Hydrofracking Ban http://wamc.org/post/hayworth-time-end-hydrofracking-ban <p>Former New York Congresswoman Nan Hayworth, a Republican who represented the Hudson Valley last term, is running to take back the 18th district seat from Democrat Sean Patrick Maloney. Speaking on WAMC’s Congressional Corner, Hayworth says she believes it is time for New York to end its de facto moratorium on hydraulic fracturing.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Feb 2014 20:23:02 +0000 Alan Chartock 84101 at http://wamc.org Hayworth: Time To End Hydrofracking Ban More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On http://wamc.org/post/more-fracking-pro-and-con-battle-rages <p>The future of hydraulic fracturing has been in limbo since the New York state Department of Environmental Conservation began a review of the practice in 2008. Now, six public hearings are being held across New York to receive public comment on the draft State Energy Plan... one of them in Albany today.&nbsp; Environmental groups are also at the Capitol today calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to put renewable energy ahead of fossil fuels in his effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:08:11 +0000 Dave Lucas 84088 at http://wamc.org More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review http://wamc.org/post/few-details-forthcoming-fracking-health-review <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s health commissioner was questioned by lawmakers at a budget hearing about his ongoing review of the health effects of hydrofracking.&nbsp; But Dr. Nirav Shah provided few details on Monday. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 83148 at http://wamc.org Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review Shah: No Decision On Hydrofracking Yet http://wamc.org/post/shah-no-decision-hydrofracking-yet <p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/FPa5gm4_9EM" width="560"></iframe></p><p></p><p>New York's health commissioner is still declining to speculate when his agency will finish a review of the health effects of hydraulic fracturing for natural gas, meaning the state appears no closer to allowing the controversial drilling process.</p><p>Dr. Nirav Shah told legislators in Albany on Monday that a conclusion is "not in the near future, where I can predict it."</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:18:16 +0000 Jessica Marshall 83136 at http://wamc.org