hydrofracking http://wamc.org en Hayworth: Time To End Hydrofracking Ban http://wamc.org/post/hayworth-time-end-hydrofracking-ban <p>Former New York Congresswoman Nan Hayworth, a Republican who represented the Hudson Valley last term, is running to take back the 18th district seat from Democrat Sean Patrick Maloney. Speaking on WAMC’s Congressional Corner, Hayworth says she believes it is time for New York to end its de facto moratorium on hydraulic fracturing.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Feb 2014 20:23:02 +0000 Alan Chartock 84101 at http://wamc.org Hayworth: Time To End Hydrofracking Ban More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On http://wamc.org/post/more-fracking-pro-and-con-battle-rages <p>The future of hydraulic fracturing has been in limbo since the New York state Department of Environmental Conservation began a review of the practice in 2008. Now, six public hearings are being held across New York to receive public comment on the draft State Energy Plan... one of them in Albany today.&nbsp; Environmental groups are also at the Capitol today calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to put renewable energy ahead of fossil fuels in his effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:08:11 +0000 Dave Lucas 84088 at http://wamc.org More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review http://wamc.org/post/few-details-forthcoming-fracking-health-review <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s health commissioner was questioned by lawmakers at a budget hearing about his ongoing review of the health effects of hydrofracking.&nbsp; But Dr. Nirav Shah provided few details on Monday. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 83148 at http://wamc.org Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review Shah: No Decision On Hydrofracking Yet http://wamc.org/post/shah-no-decision-hydrofracking-yet <p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/FPa5gm4_9EM" width="560"></iframe></p><p></p><p>New York's health commissioner is still declining to speculate when his agency will finish a review of the health effects of hydraulic fracturing for natural gas, meaning the state appears no closer to allowing the controversial drilling process.</p><p>Dr. Nirav Shah told legislators in Albany on Monday that a conclusion is "not in the near future, where I can predict it."</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:18:16 +0000 Jessica Marshall 83136 at http://wamc.org Bankrupt Fracking Company Sues Cuomo Administration Over Delays http://wamc.org/post/bankrupt-fracking-company-sues-cuomo-administration-over-delays <p>A bankrupt energy company is suing the Cuomo Administration over the long delayed decision on whether to allow hydrofracking in New York. &nbsp;&nbsp;Their attorney says the action was prompted by remarks made by Governor Cuomo and his Health Commissioner earlier this week.&nbsp; Wed, 18 Dec 2013 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 80148 at http://wamc.org Bankrupt Fracking Company Sues Cuomo Administration Over Delays Fracking Debate Goes On http://wamc.org/post/fracking-debate-goes <p></p><p>A recent Quinnipiac Poll shows New Yorkers are opposed to hydraulic fracturing, as arguments for and against the controversial gas drilling practice continue.</p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 23:36:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 78980 at http://wamc.org Fracking Debate Goes On Landowners Will File Lawsuit Against Fracking Delays By End Of The Year http://wamc.org/post/landowners-will-file-lawsuit-against-fracking-delays-end-year <p></p><p>A landowners group says it intends to file a lawsuit against what it says are the Cuomo Administration’s unreasonable delays on hydrofracking before the end of the year. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 23:07:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 77901 at http://wamc.org Landowners Will File Lawsuit Against Fracking Delays By End Of The Year Environmentalists Press For Fracking Ban In Massachusetts http://wamc.org/post/environmentalists-press-fracking-ban-massachusetts <p>Environmental activists in Massachusetts are trying to launch a preemptive strike against hydraulic fracturing. While the controversial gas drilling practice has been the subject of fierce debate in New York for years it has drawn little attention in Massachusetts.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 16:26:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 75066 at http://wamc.org Environmentalists Press For Fracking Ban In Massachusetts Lawsuit Filed As One-Year Anniversary Of Fracking Health Study Nears http://wamc.org/post/lawsuit-filed-one-year-anniversary-fracking-health-study-nears <p>It’s been nearly a year since the administration of New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that the state health commissioner would conduct a review to determine whether hydrofracking could be done safely in New York. Since then, little information has been released on the on going study. Now, an anti-fracking group is suing the state to find out what exactly is being reviewed. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 73722 at http://wamc.org Lawsuit Filed As One-Year Anniversary Of Fracking Health Study Nears Top Ranking U.S. Energy Official Hears Comments In Capital Region http://wamc.org/post/top-ranking-us-energy-official-hears-comments-capital-region <p></p><p><span style="color:black">Wednesday in Schenectady leaders of local companies, educational institutions, and other stakeholders met with government leaders to discuss opportunities through energy efficiency.&nbsp; </span></p><p></p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 22:06:17 +0000 Lucas Willard 71457 at http://wamc.org Top Ranking U.S. Energy Official Hears Comments In Capital Region