fracking http://wamc.org en Even On Earth Day: NY Fracking Debate Rages On http://wamc.org/post/even-earth-day-ny-fracking-debate-rages <p>Green group "Elected Officials to Protect New York" today released copies of local resolutions from municipalities around the state, urging Governor Andrew Cuomo to continue the de facto moratorium on hydraulic fracturing.</p><p>The resolutions, released over the last several months, for the most part recommend increasing investment in renewable energy, noting the success of the New York Sun initiative and growth in electric vehicle charging stations.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:37:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 88766 at http://wamc.org Even On Earth Day: NY Fracking Debate Rages On Resolutions To Bar Fracking And Associated Waste Materials Considered http://wamc.org/post/resolutions-bar-fracking-and-associated-waste-materials-considered <p></p><p></p><p>Clinton County legislators and councilors in the city of Plattsburgh are poised to limit hydraulic fracturing, the divisive gas drilling process, and associated materials in the area. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86683 at http://wamc.org Resolutions To Bar Fracking And Associated Waste Materials Considered More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On http://wamc.org/post/more-fracking-pro-and-con-battle-rages <p>The future of hydraulic fracturing has been in limbo since the New York state Department of Environmental Conservation began a review of the practice in 2008. Now, six public hearings are being held across New York to receive public comment on the draft State Energy Plan... one of them in Albany today.&nbsp; Environmental groups are also at the Capitol today calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to put renewable energy ahead of fossil fuels in his effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:08:11 +0000 Dave Lucas 84088 at http://wamc.org More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review http://wamc.org/post/few-details-forthcoming-fracking-health-review <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s health commissioner was questioned by lawmakers at a budget hearing about his ongoing review of the health effects of hydrofracking.&nbsp; But Dr. Nirav Shah provided few details on Monday. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 83148 at http://wamc.org Few Details Forthcoming On Fracking Health Review Cuomo Rep Says Fracking Delay Will Continue http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-rep-says-fracking-delay-will-continue <p></p><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 23:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 82839 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Rep Says Fracking Delay Will Continue 1/23/14 Panel http://wamc.org/post/12314-panel <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Today's panelists are WAMC's Alan Chartock, Albany Journalism Professor and Investigative Reporter, Rosemary Armao, and Daily Freeman Publisher Emeritus, Ira Fusfeld.</p><p>Topics include:<br />Cuomo Pre K<br />NSA Panel<br />Fracking in National Forest<br />Syria<br />Yankees Money</p><p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 82476 at http://wamc.org 1/23/14 Panel Defunct Company Sues NYS Over 'Fracking Delay' http://wamc.org/post/defunct-company-sues-nys-over-fracking-delay <p></p><p></p><p>A bankrupt company that hoped to drill for gas in New&nbsp;York is suing the Cuomo administration over what it calls an unreasonable delay in deciding whether to allow hydraulic fracturing for natural gas.</p><p>A trustee for Norse Energy USA said he filed a lawsuit Tuesday in state Supreme Court in Albany naming Gov. Andrew Cuomo and his commissioners for health and environmental conservation.</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 21:47:12 +0000 Dave Lucas 80265 at http://wamc.org Defunct Company Sues NYS Over 'Fracking Delay' Bankrupt Fracking Company Sues Cuomo Administration Over Delays http://wamc.org/post/bankrupt-fracking-company-sues-cuomo-administration-over-delays <p>A bankrupt energy company is suing the Cuomo Administration over the long delayed decision on whether to allow hydrofracking in New York. &nbsp;&nbsp;Their attorney says the action was prompted by remarks made by Governor Cuomo and his Health Commissioner earlier this week.&nbsp; Wed, 18 Dec 2013 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 80148 at http://wamc.org Bankrupt Fracking Company Sues Cuomo Administration Over Delays Cuomo: Fracking Decision Could Wait Until After Elections http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-fracking-decision-could-wait-until-after-elections <p>New York Governor Cuomo says he may not decide whether the state should go ahead with hydrofracking for natural gas &nbsp;until after the November 2014 elections. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:15:07 +0000 Karen DeWitt 79958 at http://wamc.org Cuomo: Fracking Decision Could Wait Until After Elections Two HV Congressmen Vote The Same On A Fracking Bill http://wamc.org/post/two-hv-congressmen-vote-same-fracking-bill <p>Two New York congressmen from the Hudson Valley voted against legislation that would prohibit federal oversight of fracking.</p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 22:37:07 +0000 Allison Dunne 78329 at http://wamc.org Two HV Congressmen Vote The Same On A Fracking Bill