fracking http://wamc.org en Clinton County Passes Fracking Waste Ban http://wamc.org/post/clinton-county-passes-fracking-waste-ban <p></p><p></p><p>The Clinton County Legislature has approved a law banning the sale, transport, storage and disposal of fracking and other waste. The League of Women Voters had pushed for its passage. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95605 at http://wamc.org Clinton County Passes Fracking Waste Ban Blair Horner: Fracking Decision Can Be Made By Local Governments http://wamc.org/post/blair-horner-fracking-decision-can-be-made-local-governments <p>A top environmental debate over the past six years has been whether New York state should allow a natural gas drilling method known as hydraulic fracturing – or fracking.&nbsp; During those six years, effectively New York State has had a moratorium on fracking.</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:52:00 +0000 Blair Horner 94268 at http://wamc.org NY Court Upholds Communities’ Right To Protect Residents From Fracking http://wamc.org/post/ny-court-upholds-communities-right-protect-residents-fracking <p>New York State continues wait for final word on hydraulic fracturing, the controversial gas drilling method on hold since 2008.&nbsp; Monday's Court of Appeals decision upheld communities’ right to use traditional local zoning laws to keep fracking out of their borders.</p><p>The New York Court of Appeals ruling came in two cases decided jointly:&nbsp; one brought by an oil company and the other a dairy farm that wanted to lease its land, challenging the towns of Dryden and Middlefield’s decisions to ban the industrial activity there.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:39:35 +0000 Dave Lucas 93865 at http://wamc.org NY Court Upholds Communities’ Right To Protect Residents From Fracking Top New York Court Upholds "Home Rule" Fracking Decision http://wamc.org/post/top-new-york-court-upholds-home-rule-fracking-decision <p>New York's top court has ruled that local officials can approve zoning laws to ban hydraulic fracturing within their borders. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 14:40:15 +0000 Ian Pickus 93761 at http://wamc.org Top New York Court Upholds "Home Rule" Fracking Decision NY Awaits High Court Ruling On Local Fracking Bans http://wamc.org/post/ny-awaits-high-court-ruling-local-fracking-bans <p>As New York awaits a decision from the state’s highest court on whether communities have the right to use local zoning laws to ban the use of land for oil and gas activities, several local governments in many states are regulating hydraulic fracturing.&nbsp; Experts from affected states recently briefed reporters on the growing trend of community control over fracking.</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:21:56 +0000 Dave Lucas 93224 at http://wamc.org NY Awaits High Court Ruling On Local Fracking Bans Democrats Introduce Fracking Waste Bills http://wamc.org/post/democrats-introduce-fracking-waste-bills <p></p><p></p><p>A trio of Democrats in the New York State Senate are introducing legislation that would ban the use of hydraulic fracturing waste products. Wed, 14 May 2014 16:59:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90419 at http://wamc.org Democrats Introduce Fracking Waste Bills Bowermaster Turns Fracking Focus From Cuomo To Obama http://wamc.org/post/bowermaster-turns-fracking-focus-cuomo-obama <p>The filmmaker behind the anti-fracking project <em>Dear Governor Cuomo</em> is now working on a follow-up entitled <em>Dear President Obama</em>. Jon Bowermaster has a long and varied career as a filmmaker and author whose latest work includes <em>Antarctica: 3D On The Edge</em>. Bowermaster will provide an update on his projects when he speaks Tuesday at the Adirondack Mountain Club's annual banquet in Guilderland. Mon, 12 May 2014 16:35:00 +0000 Brian Shields 90212 at http://wamc.org Bowermaster Turns Fracking Focus From Cuomo To Obama EPA Seeks Comment On Fracking Chemicals Disclosure http://wamc.org/post/epa-seeks-comment-fracking-chemicals-disclosure <p></p><p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is seeking public comment on ways to disclose information about the chemicals used in the oil and gas drilling process known as fracking.</p><p>The EPA says in a Friday release that it is also seeking input on incentives and programs that could help develop safer fracking chemicals.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 20:25:08 +0000 Dave Lucas 90103 at http://wamc.org EPA Seeks Comment On Fracking Chemicals Disclosure Even On Earth Day: NY Fracking Debate Rages On http://wamc.org/post/even-earth-day-ny-fracking-debate-rages <p>Green group "Elected Officials to Protect New York" today released copies of local resolutions from municipalities around the state, urging Governor Andrew Cuomo to continue the de facto moratorium on hydraulic fracturing.</p><p>The resolutions, released over the last several months, for the most part recommend increasing investment in renewable energy, noting the success of the New York Sun initiative and growth in electric vehicle charging stations.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:37:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 88766 at http://wamc.org Even On Earth Day: NY Fracking Debate Rages On Resolutions To Bar Fracking And Associated Waste Materials Considered http://wamc.org/post/resolutions-bar-fracking-and-associated-waste-materials-considered <p></p><p></p><p>Clinton County legislators and councilors in the city of Plattsburgh are poised to limit hydraulic fracturing, the divisive gas drilling process, and associated materials in the area. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86683 at http://wamc.org Resolutions To Bar Fracking And Associated Waste Materials Considered