Pope Francis http://wamc.org en 2013: Looking Back At The "Pope Francis Effect" And Other Religion News http://wamc.org/post/2013-looking-back-pope-francis-effect-and-other-religion-news <p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 17:39:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 80928 at http://wamc.org 2013: Looking Back At The "Pope Francis Effect" And Other Religion News Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-73 <p>WAMC political observer discusses why President Obama's "selfie" with Danish Prime Minister Helle Thorning Schmidt is causing&nbsp; an uproar and TIME magazine naming Pope Francis Person of the Year for 2013.</p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 12:10:32 +0000 Alan Chartock 79674 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary NY: Vatican Survey & "Francis Effect" http://wamc.org/post/ny-vatican-survey-francis-effect <p></p><p>Pope Francis raised eyebrows when he announced the Vatican would conduct a global survey. The poll has made somewhat of a "soft landing" in North America.</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 79445 at http://wamc.org NY: Vatican Survey & "Francis Effect" Papal Survey Tackles Contemporary Issues http://wamc.org/post/papal-survey-tackles-contemporary-issues <p></p><p>The head of the Roman Catholic Church has called for the faithful to be surveyed on issues facing modern families…&nbsp;</p><p>In an unprecedented move to examine parishioners’ beliefs, Pope Francis is calling on bishops to measure what Catholics think about matters facing modern families, including many issues that go against the norm of the church.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:39:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77616 at http://wamc.org Papal Survey Tackles Contemporary Issues Pope’s Comment’s on World Economy Praised by Regional Low Income Advocates http://wamc.org/post/pope-s-comment-s-world-economy-praised-regional-low-income-advocates <p></p><p></p><p>In a 10-minute speech to four new ambassadors to the Vatican on Thursday, Pope Francis made scathing comments on the state of the world economy, calling for global reform that focuses on human dignity. Fri, 17 May 2013 16:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64936 at http://wamc.org Pope’s Comment’s on World Economy Praised by Regional Low Income Advocates Local Catholics Celebrate New Pope http://wamc.org/post/local-catholics-celebrate-new-pope <p>Special masses were said in Catholic churches in the region today to mark the installation of&nbsp; Pope Francis.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>&nbsp;&nbsp; About 200 people braved a snowstorm to attend a noon mass at St. Michael’s Cathedral in Springfield, where Bishop Timothy McDonnell declared it a day to rejoice.</p><p>&nbsp;&nbsp; The mass in Springfield took place several hours after the installation mass&nbsp; for the new pope was held under bright blue skies in St. Peter’s Square at the Vatican . The crowd there was estimated at between 150,000- 200,000 people.</p> Tue, 19 Mar 2013 21:42:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 60217 at http://wamc.org Local Catholics Celebrate New Pope Stephen Gottlieb: The Choice of a Pope http://wamc.org/post/stephen-gottlieb-choice-pope <p>I have held back from talking about the choice of a pope. After all, a pope is a decision to be made by and for our Catholic brothers and sisters. And it seems improper for non-Catholics to get into that issue. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 19:30:36 +0000 Stephen Gottlieb 60214 at http://wamc.org NYS Catholic Conference Reacts to Newly-Elected Pope http://wamc.org/post/nys-catholic-conference-reacts-newly-elected-pope <p>The new pope elected Wednesday is the first pontiff from the Americas - Argentine Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio, whose papal name will be Pope Francis. Here is reaction from the New York State Catholic Conference.</p><p>The Catholic Conference is the official voice of the Catholic Church in the state, representing New York’s bishops in matters of public policy. Dennis Poust is its spokesman.</p><p>Poust highlights what he thinks the 76-year-old South American’s papacy will mean for New York’s Catholic Community.</p><p>Plus, says Poust:</p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 18:13:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 59877 at http://wamc.org NYS Catholic Conference Reacts to Newly-Elected Pope New Pope Francis Means Reform In Catholic Church http://wamc.org/post/new-pope-francis-means-reform-catholic-church <p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">Rev. Gary Dailey is director of the Office of Vocations for the Springfield Diocese. He travels frequently to the Vatican. He spoke with WAMC"s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill about Pope Francis</span></font></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 16:18:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 59811 at http://wamc.org New Pope Francis Means Reform In Catholic Church NY's Voice of the Catholic Church: "The Americas Can Be Proud" http://wamc.org/post/nys-voice-catholic-church-americas-can-be-proud <p>Argentine Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio, whose papal name is Pope Francis, becomes the 266th pope in the history of the Catholic Church. He is the first pontiff from the Americas, and succeeds Pope Benedict XVI, who announced his resignation last month, amid health concerns.</p><p>The New York State Catholic Conference represents New York’s bishops in matters of public policy. And Dennis Poust is its spokesman.</p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 13:37:38 +0000 Allison Dunne 59835 at http://wamc.org NY's Voice of the Catholic Church: "The Americas Can Be Proud"