Albany Mayor http://wamc.org en Albany Mayor Reviews First 100 Days In Office http://wamc.org/post/albany-mayor-reviews-first-100-days-office <p>Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan highlighted key initiatives launched during her administration’s first hundred days this morning at the Washington Park Lakehouse.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 88025 at http://wamc.org Albany Mayor Reviews First 100 Days In Office Should Police Respond To Non-Injury Fender Benders? http://wamc.org/post/should-police-respond-non-injury-fender-benders <p></p><p>Some U.S. cities have stopped sending police officers to investigate fender-bender car accidents. The novel approach to dealing with crashes may crash and burn before it sees the light of day in New York.</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 84865 at http://wamc.org Should Police Respond To Non-Injury Fender Benders? State Of The City: Un$ettled http://wamc.org/post/state-city-unettled <p></p><p>Municipal operations are about to undergo a major overhaul in Albany.</p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 17:19:45 +0000 Dave Lucas 82500 at http://wamc.org State Of The City: Un$ettled Sheehan Announces Staff Picks http://wamc.org/post/sheehan-announces-staff-picks <p></p><p>Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan nominated Daniel Mirabile as Commissioner of the Department of General Services. Sheehan's campaign manager Matthew Peter has been named Chief of Staff.&nbsp; Jonathan Jones will serve as Commissioner of the Department of Recreation, Youth and Workforce Services. Sheehan has picked former Schenectady finance commissioner Ismat Alam as Budget Director. The mayor expects to make additional appointments in the near future.</p><p><strong>The full Press Release:</strong></p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 19:53:47 +0000 Dave Lucas 81619 at http://wamc.org Sheehan Announces Staff Picks Albany Budget Blues http://wamc.org/post/albany-budget-blues <p></p><p>As citizens of Albany celebrate their new female mayor, the business of running the city could escalate into crisis mode.</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 17:29:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 81085 at http://wamc.org Albany Budget Blues Albany's 'New Era' Begins http://wamc.org/post/albanys-new-era-begins <p>With the inauguration of Kathy Sheehan as its new mayor, Albany is ushering in a new era of city politics.</p><p>Changes are coming to city hall following the swearing-in ceremonies for the Albany Common Council, Common Council President, City Auditor, City Treasurer, and of course Mayor Kathy Sheehan, the Democrat who took over from 20-year incumbent Jerry Jennings.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 23:52:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 81070 at http://wamc.org Albany's 'New Era' Begins Kathy Sheehan: The New Face Of Albany http://wamc.org/post/kathy-sheehan-new-face-albany <p>Albany's new mayor, Kathy Sheehan, has taken the oath of office in downtown Albany.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 20:31:03 +0000 Dave Lucas 81014 at http://wamc.org Kathy Sheehan: The New Face Of Albany Women In Office: Ranks Grow In NYS http://wamc.org/post/women-office-ranks-grow-nys <p></p><p>In upstate New York and beyond, women have been taking more active roles in politics: running in races for elective office and winning them.&nbsp; Currently, 98 women serve in the U.S. Congress; 78 in the House; 20 in the Senate, including one from New York, one from Massachusetts and two from New Hampshire. Numbers provided by the Center for American Women in Politics further show that the number of women in statewide executive posts is 75. And the proportion of women in state legislatures is about a quarter.</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 17:32:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77595 at http://wamc.org Women In Office: Ranks Grow In NYS Albany Voters Choose Kathy Sheehan http://wamc.org/post/albany-voters-choose-kathy-sheehan <p></p><p></p><p>There’s a new leader for New York's capital city. Kathy Sheehan ushers in a new era as Albany's first woman executive.</p><p>Shortly after 10 p.m., 20-year incumbent and outgoing Mayor Jerry Jennings took the podium at the Polish Community Center to thank fellow Democrats. Not considered a close ally of the new mayor-elect, Jennings sent out a call for unity.</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 17:35:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77178 at http://wamc.org Albany Voters Choose Kathy Sheehan Countdown to Nov. 5 : The Albany Six http://wamc.org/post/countdown-nov-5-albany-six <p></p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 18:43:27 +0000 Dave Lucas 76171 at http://wamc.org Countdown to Nov. 5 : The Albany Six