CH Energy Group http://wamc.org en PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents http://wamc.org/post/psc-staff-responds-rehearing-request-utility-merger-opponents <p>Staff of the New York State Public Service Commission has weighed in on whether the PSC should reconsider its approval of a utility merger in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 01:14:52 +0000 Allison Dunne 71551 at http://wamc.org PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing http://wamc.org/post/utility-merger-opponents-ask-psc-rehearing <p>Opponents of an approved utility merger in the Hudson Valley are asking the state Public Service Commission to reconsider its decision.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 17:20:15 +0000 Allison Dunne 70248 at http://wamc.org Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing NYS PSC Approves Fortis, CH Energy Merger http://wamc.org/post/nys-psc-approves-fortis-ch-energy-merger <p>The New York State Public Service Commission Thursday approved a utility merger in the Hudson Valley. The $1.5 billion acquisition of the Poughkeepsie-based utility had its share of controversy in recent months.</p><p>And so went the Public Service Commission’s vote in favor of the acquisition by Canadian energy company Fortis Inc. of CH Energy Group, parent company of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation. Supporters, including Barry Perry, vice president, finance and chief financial officer of Fortis, are gratified.</p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 22:30:25 +0000 Allison Dunne 66978 at http://wamc.org NYS PSC Approves Fortis, CH Energy Merger PSC Has Fortis/CH Energy Deal On The Docket http://wamc.org/post/psc-has-fortisch-energy-deal-docket <p>A proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley is on the New York State Public Service Commission agenda for Thursday.</p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 13:10:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 66898 at http://wamc.org PSC Has Fortis/CH Energy Deal On The Docket CH Energy, Fortis Enhance Merger Proposal http://wamc.org/post/ch-energy-fortis-enhance-merger-proposal <p>The companies involved in a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley have offered enhancements to the merger proposal. Opponents say they are too little, too late. The controversial merger proposal has led both sides to pound the pavement to tell their sides of the story.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 01:52:03 +0000 Allison Dunne 65983 at http://wamc.org CH Energy, Fortis Enhance Merger Proposal IBEW And CHEG Negotiate New Deal http://wamc.org/post/ibew-and-cheg-negotiate-new-deal <p>POUGHKEEPSIE – Central Hudson and IBEW Local 320 have negotiated a new contract for utility workers, who would become employees of Fortis, Inc. should the buyout of CH Energy Group be approved by the State Public Service Commission.</p><p>State Assemblyman Kevin Cahill (D- Kingston) said it is a good deal for the workers, but the proposed purchase leaves a lot to be desired.</p><p>Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney (D- 18) is thrilled with the contract agreement.</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 12:13:15 +0000 Hank Gross 65086 at http://wamc.org IBEW And CHEG Negotiate New Deal Part Two With CH Energy, Fortis Executives On Proposed Merger http://wamc.org/post/part-two-ch-energy-fortis-executives-proposed-merger <p>There has been a brighter public spotlight lately on the proposed merger between Canadian energy company Fortis and Poughkeepsie-based CH Energy Group, parent of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation. In response, top executives from both companies have been making the rounds, trying to allay concerns and separate fiction from fact. Here is part two of their interview with WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne.</p> Sat, 18 May 2013 16:55:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 64965 at http://wamc.org Part Two With CH Energy, Fortis Executives On Proposed Merger CH Energy CEO and Fortis CFO Discuss Proposed Merger http://wamc.org/post/ch-energy-ceo-and-fortis-cfo-discuss-proposed-merger <p>The proposed merger between Canadian energy company Fortis and Poughkeepsie-based CH Energy Group, parent of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation has sparked a lot of concern and opposition in the past few months. And now the top executives of each company have embarked on a public relations campaign to try and quell concerns.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 17:03:54 +0000 Allison Dunne 64941 at http://wamc.org CH Energy CEO and Fortis CFO Discuss Proposed Merger Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger http://wamc.org/post/execs-respond-schumer-re-proposed-utility-merger <p></p><p>Several elected officials have raised concerns over the past few months about a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley. Among them is U.S. Senator Charles Schumer.&nbsp; And now top executives of the two companies have responded.</p> Thu, 16 May 2013 23:59:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 64881 at http://wamc.org Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger PSC Staff Thinks Evidentiary Hearing Is Unnecessary http://wamc.org/post/psc-staff-thinks-evidentiary-hearing-unnecessary <p>The New York State Public Service Commission this week responded to a request for an evidentiary hearing regarding a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 10 May 2013 18:23:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 64385 at http://wamc.org PSC Staff Thinks Evidentiary Hearing Is Unnecessary