titanic http://wamc.org en Museum Preserves Personal Stories Of The Titanic Disaster http://wamc.org/post/museum-preserves-personal-stories-titanic-disaster <p>Events to mark the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic are scheduled for later this week by the Titanic Historical Society.&nbsp; The oldest and largest organization in the world devoted to preserving the history of the doomed luxury liner is headquartered in Springfield Massachusetts.&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau&nbsp; Chief Paul Tuthill reports.<br /> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 16:10:43 +0000 Paul Tuthill 36897 at http://wamc.org Museum Preserves Personal Stories Of The Titanic Disaster 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Richard Davenport-Hines http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-richard-davenport-hines Richard Davenport-Hines is the acclaimed biographer of W. H. Auden and the Macmillan dynasty. Fri, 13 Apr 2012 16:00:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 36718 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Richard Davenport-Hines 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Nicholas Wade http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-nicholas-wade Nicholas Wade is the grandson of teacher and author Lawrence Beesley, a survivor of the RMS Titanic. Wade has written the afterward for the book, <em>Titanic, First Accounts</em>. Fri, 13 Apr 2012 15:50:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 36717 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Nicholas Wade 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Hugh Brewster http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-hugh-brewster <p>Hugh Brewster has been writing about The RMS Titanic for more than 25 years. His new book is <em>Gilded Lives, Fatal Voyage: The Titanic&#39;s First-Class Passengers and Their World</em>. Here we talk about the fascinating, often frivolous, and frequently frustrating lives of the crème de la crème on board the doomed ship.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 15:30:00 +0000 Sarah LaDuke 36715 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Hugh Brewster 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Barry Denenberg http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-barry-denenberg <p>Children are now taught about the sinking of the Titanic in their textbooks or by James Cameron&#39;s movie. As we&rsquo;ve learned so far, there is so much more information than what is included in a few paragraphs or a Hollywood movie. So enter Barry Denenberg. As a children&rsquo;s book author, he&rsquo;s an expert at creating eye catching lay-outs, and breaking down the information in a concise and interesting way. His newest book is <em>Titanic Sinks!</em> where readers can experience the Titanic&rsquo;s doomed voyage in its unique presentation of fact &amp; fiction.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 14:55:00 +0000 Katie Britton 36716 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Barry Denenberg 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Daniel Allen Butler http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-daniel-allen-butler <p>WAMC&#39;s Ian Pickus speaks with maritime historian Daniel Allen Butler, a Titanic expert whose seminal recounting of the doomed voyage, <em>Unsinkable: The Full Story of the RMS Titanic</em>, is now out in a new edition.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 14:20:00 +0000 Ian Pickus 36683 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Daniel Allen Butler 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Hampton Sides http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-hampton-sides <p>Hampton Sides is an American historian and journalist. He&#39;s written the Titanic cover story of this month&#39;s <a href="http://www.nationalgeographic.com/"><em>National Geographic</em></a>.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 14:05:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 36714 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Hampton Sides 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Bob Ballard http://wamc.org/post/100th-anniversary-rms-titanic-bob-ballard <p>We welcome the man who discovered the wreck of the RMS Titanic in 1985, Bob Ballard.</p> Fri, 13 Apr 2012 13:50:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 36713 at http://wamc.org 100th Anniversary of the RMS Titanic - Bob Ballard