vermont house http://wamc.org en Minimum Wage Increase Moves To Vermont Senate http://wamc.org/post/minimum-wage-increase-moves-vermont-senate <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House on Wednesday gave final approval to an increase in the state’s minimum wage to $10.10 per hour from the current $8.73, to take effect in January. But Governor Peter Shumlin prefers moving to $10.10 in stages by 2017. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87893 at http://wamc.org Minimum Wage Increase Moves To Vermont Senate Vermont House Approves January Minimum Wage Increase http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-approves-january-minimum-wage-increase <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House passed a bill Wednesday afternoon&nbsp; that would make the state the first in the country to cross the $10 mark in its minimum wage. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87836 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Approves January Minimum Wage Increase Vermont House Bucks Shumlin, Speeds Wage Hike http://wamc.org/post/vermont-house-bucks-shumlin-speeds-wage-hike <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House is going against the wishes of Governor Peter Shumlin by calling for an increase in the state's minimum wage to $10.10 per hour starting in January, rather than 2017. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87742 at http://wamc.org Vermont House Bucks Shumlin, Speeds Wage Hike Shumlin Appoints Walz New Vermont House Member http://wamc.org/post/shumlin-appoints-walz-new-vermont-house-member <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Peter Shumlin has appointed Tommy Walz of Barre to fill the Vermont House seat left vacant by the recent resignation of Representative Tess Taylor. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87625 at http://wamc.org Shumlin Appoints Walz New Vermont House Member VT Bill Calls For Study Of Rural Police Coverage http://wamc.org/post/vt-bill-calls-study-rural-police-coverage <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has endorsed a bill calling for a study of police coverage in rural parts of the state, backing away from immediately calling for an end to the practice of Vermont State Police contracting with small towns. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 14:10:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86432 at http://wamc.org VT Bill Calls For Study Of Rural Police Coverage House Panel Presses Administration On School Taxes http://wamc.org/post/house-panel-presses-administration-school-taxes <p></p><p></p><p>Members of the tax-writing committee in the Vermont House are expressing frustration with the administration of Governor Peter Shumlin over school property taxes. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85864 at http://wamc.org House Panel Presses Administration On School Taxes VT House Passes Ban On Cellphones While Driving http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-passes-ban-cellphones-while-driving <p></p><p> &nbsp;</p><p>The Vermont House has passed and sent to the Senate a bill banning the use of hand-held cellphones and other electronic devices while driving. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83933 at http://wamc.org VT House Passes Ban On Cellphones While Driving Campaign Finance Revisions Fail http://wamc.org/post/campaign-finance-revisions-fail <p></p><p></p><p>An attempt to delay implementation of Vermont’s new campaign finance law has been forestalled by the Vermont House. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83930 at http://wamc.org Campaign Finance Revisions Fail VT House Advances Phoning-While-Driving Ban http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-advances-phoning-while-driving-ban <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has advanced a bill that would ban the use of all but hands-free cellphones and other electronic devices while driving. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 03:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83859 at http://wamc.org VT House Advances Phoning-While-Driving Ban VT House Advances 'Net Metering' Bill http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-advances-net-metering-bill <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has advanced legislation expanding a popular program allowing property owners to generate their own electricity and sell some of it back to their utilities. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82861 at http://wamc.org VT House Advances 'Net Metering' Bill