New York State Senator David Carlucci http://wamc.org en NYS Lawmakers To Hold Budget Meeting In Rockland http://wamc.org/post/nys-lawmakers-hold-budget-meeting-rockland <p>Some New York state lawmakers are hosting their annual state budget meeting in Rockland County Thursday afternoon.</p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 11:48:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 84206 at http://wamc.org NYS Lawmakers To Hold Budget Meeting In Rockland Westchester Hosts Invest In Education Rally http://wamc.org/post/westchester-hosts-invest-education-rally <p>State legislators, private school administrators and others Tuesday addressed a crowd of some 5,000 elementary through high school students at a rally in Westchester County. The goal was to drum up support for state legislation to provide tax credits for investments in education.</p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 19:02:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 78219 at http://wamc.org Westchester Hosts Invest In Education Rally NYS Senator Presents Concussion-Reducing Helmets At Football Practice http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-presents-concussion-reducing-helmets-football-practice <p>Football players at a New York high school are showing up for their first day of practice and receiving new helmets Monday.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 17:33:28 +0000 Allison Dunne 72013 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Presents Concussion-Reducing Helmets At Football Practice Two NYS Lawmakers Say Payment System Is Broken http://wamc.org/post/two-nys-lawmakers-say-payment-system-broken <p>Two state lawmakers say it is time for New York to fix a broken reimbursement system. They will make their demand&nbsp;Thursday afternoon in Rockland County.</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 11:44:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 71472 at http://wamc.org Two NYS Lawmakers Say Payment System Is Broken Primary Candidate's Petition Matter Goes To Court http://wamc.org/post/primary-candidates-petition-matter-goes-court <p>A Democratic primary candidate for Rockland County executive knocked off the ballot last week is fighting back, and the matter will be decided in court.</p><p>Rockland County Democratic Board of Elections Commissioner Kristen Stavisky says Village of Suffern Mayor Dagan LaCorte was removed last week from the ballot in the race for Rockland County executive.</p><p>She says the 1,926 signatures fell short of the 2,000 required, thus invalidating the petition. She says signatures were ruled invalid for the following reasons.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 23:57:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 70282 at http://wamc.org Primary Candidate's Petition Matter Goes To Court United Water To Respond To PSC Order About Need http://wamc.org/post/united-water-respond-psc-order-about-need <p>A number of legislators along with citizens’ and environmental groups are questioning the need for a proposed water supply project in Rockland County. The company behind the proposed project affirms the need is still there, and growing. The state Public Service Commission will decide.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 17:58:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 69816 at http://wamc.org United Water To Respond To PSC Order About Need NYS Senator Endorses Candidate In Rockland County Exec Race http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-endorses-candidate-rockland-county-exec-race <p></p><p>A New York state senator today endorsed one of the Democratic candidates for Rockland County executive. It’s a primary race recently pared down from an even more crowded field, and now there are petition objections for one of the candidates.&nbsp;</p><p>State Senator David Carlucci, an Independent Democrat from Rockland County, endorsed Village of Suffern Mayor Dagan LaCorte. Here’s Carlucci:</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 02:45:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 69774 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Endorses Candidate In Rockland County Exec Race NYS PSC Looks Into Need For Rockland Water Supply Project http://wamc.org/post/nys-psc-looks-need-rockland-water-supply-project <p>The New York State Public Service Commission is revisiting whether the underlying need for water in Rockland County warrants the construction of a major water supply project.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 18:42:44 +0000 Allison Dunne 69616 at http://wamc.org NYS PSC Looks Into Need For Rockland Water Supply Project Smoking Ban Comes To NY Playgrounds http://wamc.org/post/smoking-ban-comes-ny-playgrounds <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has signed legislation banning smoking at playgrounds.</p> Sun, 14 Jul 2013 17:33:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 69173 at http://wamc.org Smoking Ban Comes To NY Playgrounds Water Company Proposes Two Increases; NYS Senator Opposes Both http://wamc.org/post/water-company-proposes-two-increases-nys-senator-opposes-both <p>A Rockland County-based water company wants to raise its rates and impose a surcharge on customer water bills. &nbsp;A New York state senator opposes both, while water company officials say the increases are needed to cover money already spent.</p> Tue, 09 Jul 2013 18:19:37 +0000 Allison Dunne 68797 at http://wamc.org Water Company Proposes Two Increases; NYS Senator Opposes Both