New York Farm Bureau http://wamc.org en Report Spells Out Importance of Passing Farm Bill http://wamc.org/post/report-spells-out-importance-passing-farm-bill <p></p><p></p><p>The White House Rural Council has released a report that outlines the need for Congressional passage of the Farm Bill. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 78400 at http://wamc.org Report Spells Out Importance of Passing Farm Bill Farm Bill Expiration Worries New York's Farmers http://wamc.org/post/farm-bill-expiration-worries-new-yorks-farmers <p></p><p>While the focus has been on the partial federal government shut down, another important piece of legislation, the federal Farm Bill, has also expired. &nbsp;New York&rsquo;s lead lobbyist for farmers is in Washington meeting with congressional representatives and their staffs trying to figure out what to do next. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 19:50:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 74680 at http://wamc.org Farm Bill Expiration Worries New York's Farmers Environmental Groups Sue NYS DEC Over Dairy Farm Rule http://wamc.org/post/environmental-groups-sue-nys-dec-over-dairy-farm-rule <p>A coalition of environmental groups is suing the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation over dairy farm regulations intended to boost milk production. The New York Farm Bureau says the groups are going too far.</p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 17:58:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 70340 at http://wamc.org Environmental Groups Sue NYS DEC Over Dairy Farm Rule Farm Bureau Focuses on Next Generation http://wamc.org/post/farm-bureau-focuses-next-generation <p></p><p></p><p>The New York Farm Bureau has released its state priorities for this year. During a conference call,&nbsp; officials outlined their agricultural policy goals.<br><br>Officials with New York’s farm advocacy organization said their focus this year is strengthening the economy and future of farms and growers. Farm Bureau President Dean Norton noted that the average age of a New York farmer is 56. According to a 2007 Ag census, about 19-hundred farm operators are under the age of 35, while over 33-hundred are over age 75. Wed, 30 Jan 2013 23:26:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 56850 at http://wamc.org Farm Bureau Focuses on Next Generation Farm Organization Criticizes Potential EPA Rules Changes http://wamc.org/post/farm-organization-criticizes-potential-epa-rules-changes <p>The federal Environmental Protection Agency has proposed changing how they deal with navigable waters across the country under the Clean Water Act.&nbsp; But the New York Farm Bureau is raising red flags saying the agency is attempting to expand their authority without appropriate public input.<br> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 22:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 46626 at http://wamc.org Advocates Demand Farm Worker Regulations http://wamc.org/post/advocates-demand-farm-worker-regulations <p>Farm workers and Religious Leaders joined with Community and Civil Rights Advocates to urge state lawmakers in Albany to enact the Farm Workers Fair Labor Practices Act - Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports.</p> Mon, 21 May 2012 20:21:29 +0000 Dave Lucas 39453 at http://wamc.org Advocates Demand Farm Worker Regulations