Vermont Yankee http://wamc.org en Entergy Submits Petition For Expanded Spent Fuel Storage http://wamc.org/post/entergy-submits-petition-expanded-spent-fuel-storage <p></p><p></p><p>The owner of Vermont Yankee has taken a step to fulfill one of the items in an agreement with the state leading to the shut down of the nuclear power plant. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 93803 at http://wamc.org Entergy Submits Petition For Expanded Spent Fuel Storage Meeting Scheduled To Discuss Energy Payment http://wamc.org/post/meeting-scheduled-discuss-energy-payment <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Clean Energy Development Board has scheduled a public meeting on a $5.3 million payment to the state by the owner of the Vermont Yankee nuclear plant for clean energy development. Sat, 10 May 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90057 at http://wamc.org Meeting Scheduled To Discuss Energy Payment Vermont Developing Rules For Post-Nuke Grants http://wamc.org/post/vermont-developing-rules-post-nuke-grants <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development is creating guidelines to distribute grant money that will help Windham County after the Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant shuts down. Tue, 06 May 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89735 at http://wamc.org Vermont Developing Rules For Post-Nuke Grants Conference Assesses Socioeconomic Impact Of Nuclear Plant Closure http://wamc.org/post/conference-assesses-socioeconomic-impact-nuclear-plant-closure <p></p><p></p><p>A conference at Landmark College earlier this month focused on the socioeconomic ramifications of Vermont Yankee’s closure and how lessons learned here — and previous nuclear plant closures — could aid other communities facing future nuclear plant shutdowns. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88272 at http://wamc.org Conference Assesses Socioeconomic Impact Of Nuclear Plant Closure VT Nuclear Plant Signs Agreement With Town of Vernon http://wamc.org/post/vt-nuclear-plant-signs-agreement-town-vernon <p></p><p></p><p>The select board in the Vermont town of Vernon has signed a contract with the owner of the closing Vermont Yankee nuclear plant that will stabilize the town's tax base through March 2015. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 04:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81469 at http://wamc.org VT Nuclear Plant Signs Agreement With Town of Vernon Vermont Yankee Deal Could Be Roadmap For Others http://wamc.org/post/vermont-yankee-deal-could-be-roadmap-others-0 <p></p><p></p><p>The recent deal to end litigation and provide a path to decommissioning the Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant could also provide a roadmap for other states. Sat, 28 Dec 2013 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80755 at http://wamc.org Vermont Yankee Deal Could Be Roadmap For Others Vermont And Entergy Reach Agreement On Future Of Vermont Yankee Operations http://wamc.org/post/vermont-and-entergy-reach-agreement-future-vermont-yankee-operations <p></p><p></p><p>After years of contentious debate and legal battles, the state of Vermont and Entergy, the company that owns the Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Plant announced on Monday afternoon that a settlement has been reached that will end all ongoing litigation and delineate a compressed decommissioning schedule. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80557 at http://wamc.org Vermont And Entergy Reach Agreement On Future Of Vermont Yankee Operations District Court Returns Appeal On Nuclear Plant Tax To State Court http://wamc.org/post/district-court-returns-appeal-nuclear-plant-tax-state-court <p></p><p></p><p>The 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan ruled Tuesday that a generating tax imposed by the state on Vermont's only nuclear plant is legal and sent the appeal back to the state court. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79651 at http://wamc.org District Court Returns Appeal On Nuclear Plant Tax To State Court VT Panel Urges Prompt Nuke Decommissioning http://wamc.org/post/vt-panel-urges-prompt-nuke-decommissioning <p></p><p></p><p>A panel that advises Vermont state policy makers on activities at the Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant wants the plant to be dismantled promptly after it stops operating next year. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76190 at http://wamc.org VT Panel Urges Prompt Nuke Decommissioning VT Panel: No Decision on Nuke Decommissioning http://wamc.org/post/vt-panel-no-decision-nuke-decommissioning <p></p><p></p><p>A Vermont state panel that oversees the Vermont Yankee nuclear plant has put off a decision on whether it wants to urge a quick decommissioning for the plant, which is due to close late next year. Sun, 20 Oct 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 75895 at http://wamc.org VT Panel: No Decision on Nuke Decommissioning