Westchester County Board of Legislators http://wamc.org en Some Westchester Legislators Question County Exec's Outside Earnings http://wamc.org/post/some-westchester-legislators-question-county-execs-outside-earnings <p>Two Democratic Westchester County legislators are calling for a public hearing on what they allege is the county executive’s neglect of responsibilities. The criticism follows a recent article on County Executive Rob Astorino’s outside earnings.</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 17:17:16 +0000 Allison Dunne 94796 at http://wamc.org Some Westchester Legislators Question County Exec's Outside Earnings Westchester Legislator Wants To Ban Two Heating Oils http://wamc.org/post/westchester-legislator-wants-ban-two-heating-oils <p></p><p>A Westchester County legislator is pushing for the use of cleaner heating oil.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 18:41:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 91953 at http://wamc.org Westchester Legislator Wants To Ban Two Heating Oils Some Westchester Dems Allege Astorino Is M.I.A. http://wamc.org/post/some-westchester-dems-allege-astorino-mia <p>Eight Democratic members of the Westchester County Board of Legislators allege Republican County Executive Rob Astorino is missing in action, and are calling for a special election.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 17:20:54 +0000 Allison Dunne 89713 at http://wamc.org Some Westchester Dems Allege Astorino Is M.I.A. Westchester Receives Word Of Bond Ratings http://wamc.org/post/westchester-receives-word-bond-ratings <p>Westchester’s re-elected county executive is touting his county’s bond ratings, which he says are the best of any county in New York State. Yet a county legislator says there is a troubling piece of information.</p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 12:52:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 78251 at http://wamc.org Westchester Receives Word Of Bond Ratings Westchester Legislators Approve Funds For Energy Efficiency Projects http://wamc.org/post/westchester-legislators-approve-funds-energy-efficiency-projects <p>WHITE PLAINS – The Westchester County Board of Legislators Monday night authorized the county to reserve 50 percent of the county’s almost $7.9 million federal funds for use by local municipalities for renewable energy and energy efficiency improvements.</p><p>Legislature Majority Leader Peter Harkham said the measure, when signed by the county executive, would allow eligible municipalities to submit spending proposals that would use Qualified Energy Conservation Bonds to implement Green Community Program projects for properties.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 12:21:56 +0000 Hank Gross 76552 at http://wamc.org Westchester Legislators Approve Funds For Energy Efficiency Projects County Legislator Wants Westchester To Have A Say In Natural Gas Project http://wamc.org/post/county-legislator-wants-westchester-have-say-natural-gas-project <p>A Westchester County legislator says he has strong concerns about a natural gas line project that could run through portions of his county. He also wants Westchester to have a seat at the table.</p><p>Democrat Peter Harckham is the majority leader of the Westchester County Board of Legislators. He has written to the secretary of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, or FERC, requesting a comment period extension for the proposed Algonquin Incremental Market Project and expressing his concerns about how the project will impact public safety and the environment.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 01:10:59 +0000 Allison Dunne 76530 at http://wamc.org County Legislator Wants Westchester To Have A Say In Natural Gas Project First Responders In Westchester Hear From Multi-Casualty Expert http://wamc.org/post/first-responders-westchester-hear-multi-casualty-expert <p>An international multi-casualty expert was in New York Thursday, to share information about emergency preparedness with first responders.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 10:55:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 72530 at http://wamc.org First Responders In Westchester Hear From Multi-Casualty Expert Public Hearing Is Set For Westchester Affordable Housing Legislation http://wamc.org/post/public-hearing-set-westchester-affordable-housing-legislation <p></p><p>Legislators in Westchester County will hold a public hearing next week. It’s part of a process to meet federal demands regarding a 2009 fair and affordable housing settlement. A spokesman for the county executive has said it is the county’s position that it is in compliance with the settlement.</p> Thu, 02 May 2013 12:39:12 +0000 Allison Dunne 63679 at http://wamc.org County Legislators Ask Federal Agency For One Month Extension http://wamc.org/post/county-legislators-ask-federal-agency-one-month-extension <p>In New York, Westchester legislators are asking a federal agency for more time before the agency takes away more than $7 million in funding for the county.</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 11:49:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 62864 at http://wamc.org Federal Housing Agency Says Westchester May Not Administer Sandy Funds http://wamc.org/post/federal-housing-agency-says-westchester-may-not-administer-sandy-funds <p>A federal appeals court has ruled that the Westchester County executive has not complied with a fair housing agreement from 2009. Now, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development says the county may not receive Superstorm Sandy disaster-relief money directly.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 19:38:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 61731 at http://wamc.org