New York Governor Andrew Cuomo http://wamc.org en Poll Shows Cuomo Vulnerable On The Left http://wamc.org/post/poll-shows-cuomo-vulnerable-left <p>A new poll finds New York Governor Andrew Cuomo in a double-digit lead against his republican opponent for the fall elections. But the survey finds that ratio changes, if a progressive third party candidate emerges. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88699 at http://wamc.org Poll Shows Cuomo Vulnerable On The Left Stephanie Miner Steps Down As Democratic Party Co-Chair http://wamc.org/post/stephanie-miner-steps-down-democratic-party-co-chair <p>Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner is resigning from her position as co-chair of New York state's Democratic Party. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:25:40 +0000 Patrick Garrett 88467 at http://wamc.org Harrison Union's Karen Magee Elected NYSUT President http://wamc.org/post/harrison-unions-karen-magee-elected-nysut-president <p></p><p>The Common Core controversy has claimed another victim: New York State United Teachers president Dick Iannuzzi, who lost his seat over the weekend. The vote is remarkable for many reasons.</p><p>Over the weekend, NYSUT convention-goers elected Karen Magee, the 11-year head of the Harrison teachers union in Westchester County,&nbsp;to a three-year term as president of the New York State United Teachers. She unseated Richard Iannuzzi, who served since 2005, and was just the second NYSUT president in the union’s history.</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 18:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 87609 at http://wamc.org Harrison Union's Karen Magee Elected NYSUT President NY Gun-Rights Supporters Rally At The Capitol http://wamc.org/post/ny-gun-rights-supporters-rally-capitol <p>Thousands of gun rights supporters have rallied at the New York state Capitol against gun control measures championed by Governor Andrew Cuomo. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 12:03:04 +0000 Patrick Garrett 87249 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Open Forum on 4/1/14 : New York State Budget http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-open-forum-4114-new-york-state-budget <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The April 1 deadline has come and New York State has an on-time budget. </span><a href="http://www.nypirg.org/" style="line-height: 1.5;">New York Public Interest Research Group</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Legislative Director Blair Horner joins Alan in the studio today to talk about the budget. We want to know what you think of it, too.</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 87163 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Open Forum on 4/1/14 : New York State Budget Reaction To NYS Budget Package http://wamc.org/post/reaction-nys-budget-package <p>Lawmakers are in Albany as the finishing touches are placed on the state's fiscal plan due April 1. There is mixed reaction to the spending package.</p><p>The $140 billion budget deal puts forward the state’s largest education allocations to date, including an increase of about $1.1 billion in school aid, $340 million for universal full-day pre-k, and a bond act to modernize classrooms.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 16:14:34 +0000 Dave Lucas 87079 at http://wamc.org Reaction To NYS Budget Package Proposal In NY State Budget Tests Public Financing http://wamc.org/post/proposal-ny-state-budget-tests-public-financing <p>Good-government advocates are criticizing New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders for a budget agreement to test public campaign financing with the state comptroller race this year. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 12:38:32 +0000 Patrick Garrett 87055 at http://wamc.org New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday http://wamc.org/post/new-york-state-budget-finalized-voting-monday <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders have finalized the details on a $138 billion dollar state budget and say they are on track to meet the April 1 deadline. The budget includes a multi step plan that could &nbsp;lower property taxes, $340 million dollars for schools to start pre-K programs, and a limited test program for public campaign financing.</p> Sun, 30 Mar 2014 12:18:26 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87018 at http://wamc.org New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday Cuomo, Lawmakers Adopt Limited Public Campaign Finance for State Comptroller's Race http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-lawmakers-adopt-limited-public-campaign-finance-state-comptrollers-race <p>Governor Cuomo and state lawmakers have agreed to a very limited form of campaign finance reform in the state budget, it would only apply to the state Comptroller’s race.</p><p>Advocates spent a million dollars on television ads &nbsp;and countless hours lobbying and holding demonstrations in favor of adopting a publicly funded, matching small donor system for statewide races, including the governor and the legislature.</p><p></p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 15:28:41 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86991 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Lawmakers Adopt Limited Public Campaign Finance for State Comptroller's Race Cuomo Optimistic About Tax Freeze http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-optimistic-about-tax-freeze <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo says he’s “cautiously optimistic” that his property tax freeze plan and other programs he favors will be part of the final budget deal.</p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 11:51:38 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86710 at http://wamc.org