New York Governor Andrew Cuomo http://wamc.org en Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board http://wamc.org/post/deputy-secretary-civil-rights-new-wage-board <p>The people who depend on the generosity of others for something extra in their paycheck may be getting a raise. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:29:58 +0000 Brian Shields 95676 at http://wamc.org Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board Cuomo Rivals Demand Response On Moreland Commission http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-rivals-demand-response-moreland-commission <p>One of New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’ s political opponents is calling on Governor Cuomo to hold an explanatory press conference, and &nbsp;another is demanding that Cuomo to resign after an in depth account in <em>The New York Times</em> reports that the governor’s top staff repeatedly interfered in an ethics commission investigation. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 95562 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Rivals Demand Response On Moreland Commission Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-213 <p>WAMC's Dr. Alan Chartock discusses the Moreland Act Commission and Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino and Zephyr Teachout stand together against incumbent Governor Andrew Cuomo. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:44:56 +0000 Alan Chartock 95503 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary Malloy criticizes GOP Foes For Embracing Christie http://wamc.org/post/malloy-criticizes-gop-foes-embracing-christie <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.governor.ct.gov/malloy/site/default.asp" target="_blank">Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy</a> is taking issue with state Republicans aligning politically with <a href="http://www.state.nj.us/governor/" target="_blank">New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie</a>. Christie was in Greenwich Monday where the Republican promised to return to help defeat Malloy. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 00:52:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 95443 at http://wamc.org Malloy criticizes GOP Foes For Embracing Christie LG Candidate Hochul Explains Past Anti-Immigration Views http://wamc.org/post/lg-candidate-hochul-explains-past-anti-immigration-views <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s running mate, Lieutenant Governor candidate Kathy Hochul is explaining why she now feels differently about undocumented immigrants. Hochul, the former Erie County Clerk once wanted to turn suspected immigrants in the country illegally over to federal authorities. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:19:33 +0000 Karen Dewitt 95160 at http://wamc.org LG Candidate Hochul Explains Past Anti-Immigration Views Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-208 <p>WAMC's Dr. Alan Chartock discusses New Jersey Governor Chris Christie's possible run for president, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo raising money for his campaign, and Bill de Blasio's vacation plans that might upset some railroad workers. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 11:45:20 +0000 Person: Alan Chartock 94964 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary NYS-GE-CNSE Power Electronics Consortium http://wamc.org/post/nys-ge-cnse-power-electronics-consortium <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo was at General Electric in Niskayuna today to announce an energy initiative to commercialize new technology that will have major implications for the electronics market.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 94916 at http://wamc.org NYS-GE-CNSE Power Electronics Consortium Cuomo Says Private Market Will Decide Future of New York's Casino Industry http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-says-private-market-will-decide-future-new-yorks-casino-industry <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo says he’s not concerned about reports that the casino gambling industry may not be all that healthy. The negative news comes as the state is considering authorizing four new gambling centers in the next few months.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:46:10 +0000 Karen DeWitt 94918 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Says Private Market Will Decide Future of New York's Casino Industry Some Westchester Legislators Question County Exec's Outside Earnings http://wamc.org/post/some-westchester-legislators-question-county-execs-outside-earnings <p>Two Democratic Westchester County legislators are calling for a public hearing on what they allege is the county executive’s neglect of responsibilities. The criticism follows a recent article on County Executive Rob Astorino’s outside earnings.</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 17:17:16 +0000 Allison Dunne 94796 at http://wamc.org Some Westchester Legislators Question County Exec's Outside Earnings Advocates, Tipped Workers, Seek Pay Increase from Cuomo Wage Board http://wamc.org/post/advocates-tipped-workers-seek-pay-increase-cuomo-wage-board-0 <p>Advocates for a higher minimum wage are urging for better wages for workers who rely on tips. New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has promised to create a committee to consider raising the minimum rate for the workers, and the groups say they have evidence that an increase is needed. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 16:15:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 94657 at http://wamc.org Advocates, Tipped Workers, Seek Pay Increase from Cuomo Wage Board