arts and culture http://wamc.org en Pittsfield Cultural Council Awards 45 Grants http://wamc.org/post/pittsfield-cultural-council-awards-45-grants <p><a href="https://www.mass-culture.org/Pittsfield#" target="_blank">Forty-five artists and cultural organizations</a> in Pittsfield, Massachusetts have been awarded funding from the local cultural council.</p><p>More than $19,000 will support concerts, art exhibits, theatre and more in the coming year. Kimberly Rawson is a volunteer member of the Pittsfield Cultural Council.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 17:39:53 +0000 Jim Levulis 84771 at http://wamc.org Pittsfield Cultural Council Awards 45 Grants North Adams Transforming http://wamc.org/post/north-adams-transforming <p>The Berkshires are known as a tourist destination, but until recently North Adams hasn’t fully tapped into the industry.</p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 81172 at http://wamc.org North Adams Transforming MA Representatives Tour Pittsfield Discussing Development http://wamc.org/post/ma-representatives-tour-pittsfield-discussing-development <p>Massachusetts state representatives toured Pittsfield meeting with city officials to discuss area development and challenges.</p> Mon, 21 Oct 2013 21:22:49 +0000 Jim Levulis 76023 at http://wamc.org MA Representatives Tour Pittsfield Discussing Development Sen. Warren Wraps Up Berkshire Visit http://wamc.org/post/sen-warren-wraps-berkshire-visit <p><a href="http://www.warren.senate.gov/" target="_blank">U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren</a> wrapped up her trip across Massachusetts in the western part of the state today. The Democratic Senator’s visit included a tour of defense manufacturer <a href="http://www.generaldynamics.com/" target="_blank">General Dynamics</a>’ site in Pittsfield. Senator Warren says the plant is making innovative gains in military manufacturing and research to save the country money while still keeping it safe. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 20:34:25 +0000 Jim Levulis 70763 at http://wamc.org Sen. Warren Wraps Up Berkshire Visit Williamstown To Apply For Cultural Designation http://wamc.org/post/williamstown-apply-cultural-designation <p>The selectboard of Williamstown recently voted to allow the town to pursue a Cultural District Designation from the state of Massachusetts designed to promote economic development through the arts.</p><p></p><p>On Wednesday evening, the Williamstown selectboard gave the go-ahead for town residents to seek out a Cultural District Designation from the Massachusetts Cultural Council. The designation is not a monetary award but includes signage and serves as a badge of honor in recognition of community efforts to promote the arts and humanities.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 66080 at http://wamc.org Williamstown To Apply For Cultural Designation Mass. Arts and Culture Advocates Unhappy with Budget Recommendation http://wamc.org/post/mass-arts-and-culture-advocates-unhappy-budget-recommendation <p>Out of the cuts included in the House Ways and Means proposal, the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a public agency that promotes investment in the arts and sciences, is facing a 15 percent reduction in state funding. And arts advocates are moving quickly.</p><p></p><p>Matt Wilson is head of MASSCreative, an organization that lobbies in support of cultural organizations and arts and sciences education.</p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:22:01 +0000 Lucas Willard 62042 at http://wamc.org Mass. Arts and Culture Advocates Unhappy with Budget Recommendation