Common Core http://wamc.org en GOP Candidate For Governor Will Also Run On Anti-Common Core Ballot Line http://wamc.org/post/gop-candidate-governor-will-also-run-anti-common-core-ballot-line <p>The Republican candidate for Governor is petitioning to run on a new ballot line that capitalizes on public opposition to the new Common Core learning standards. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 94372 at http://wamc.org GOP Candidate For Governor Will Also Run On Anti-Common Core Ballot Line Tentative Deal On Common Core Test Moratorium For Teachers http://wamc.org/post/tentative-deal-common-core-test-moratorium-teachers <p></p><p>A tentative agreement has been reached by New York Governor Cuomo and the legislature to put off the effects of the controversial Common Core tests on teachers for another two years. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:28:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 92995 at http://wamc.org Tentative Deal On Common Core Test Moratorium For Teachers Massachusetts Schools Test New Assessment Exam http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-schools-test-new-assessment-exam <p>Massachusetts is exploring a switch from the age-old paper and pencil tests to an online standardized testing system for the public schools.&nbsp; State education officials today reported results of a test drive of the new system.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 22:26:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 92899 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Schools Test New Assessment Exam Stephen Gottlieb: For A Better Education http://wamc.org/post/stephen-gottlieb-better-education <p>A recent headline read, “Slow Common Core.” For quite a long time there has been a backlash against anything viewed as “too tough” for our kids. That is a tendency of living in a democracy. Anything tough for our kids is bad but at the same time they have to get a fabulous education that will equip them for life’s challenges. So the solution is teachers who can make everyone learn painlessly. And therefore, if anything goes wrong it’s the teacher’s fault, not the student’s.</p><p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 19:50:00 +0000 Stephen Gottlieb 92805 at http://wamc.org SUNY Chancellor Announces Higher Education Coalition To Support Common Core http://wamc.org/post/suny-chancellor-announces-higher-education-coalition-support-common-core <p></p><p></p><p>SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher spearheaded the launch of a coalition of 200 college presidents and state higher education leaders aimed at supporting and implementing Common Core standards. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 92404 at http://wamc.org SUNY Chancellor Announces Higher Education Coalition To Support Common Core Karen Magee: Teaching Is An Art http://wamc.org/post/karen-magee-teaching-art <p>When I taught special education in my hometown of Harrison, one of my students achieved an educational milestone.</p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:36:09 +0000 Karen Magee 92362 at http://wamc.org New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency http://wamc.org/post/new-teachers-union-president-wants-increase-unions-political-potency <p>There is a big change at New York State’s largest teachers union. Members of New York State United Teachers elected new leadership after months of unrest over the state’s flawed roll out of the new Common Core standards. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:50:31 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87640 at http://wamc.org New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency Rob Astorino's Children Will Opt Out Of Common Core http://wamc.org/post/rob-astorinos-children-will-opt-out-common-core <p></p><p></p><p>Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino says his three school-aged children won't be participating in new testing standards as part of the Common Core exams starting this week. The Republican candidate for governor of New York released a video statement on his website Monday explaining he made the decision along with his wife Sheila, a special education teacher.</p><p>Common Core is being implemented in schools across the country, but it has been heavily criticized by many parents and educators.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:29:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 87097 at http://wamc.org Rob Astorino's Children Will Opt Out Of Common Core UUP Calls For Suspension Of edTPA Certification Mandate http://wamc.org/post/uup-calls-suspension-edtpa-certification-mandate <p>edTPA, the new portfolio assessment required for student-teachers in New York, has come under criticism. One of New York's teachers' unions wants it suspended.</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:32:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86748 at http://wamc.org UUP Calls For Suspension Of edTPA Certification Mandate Delay Of Common Core Effects Likely In New York Budget http://wamc.org/post/delay-common-core-effects-likely-new-york-budget <p>New York State lawmakers say it’s likely the state budget will include a moratorium on the effects of school exams administered in connection with the controversial Common Core learning standards. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 19:09:54 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86741 at http://wamc.org